This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs Winnie from Geneva

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

6

Go to Rwanda

Rwanda between 10 Jan 2019 and 19 Jan 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were very impressed by the country it’s cleaness the smiles of the people, seeing them walking on the road was an experience the way they are so beautifully dressed with all those colors.

One thing was a bit annoying was the tipping, so munch for the ranger so much for the trackers so much for the porters, we would have liked to pay more and to have everything included.

Concerning the porter it would have been compulsory because they are on site and not every body take them, so they go back home without payment, it is not good"

Feedback response

We do understand these travellers’ frustrations with regards to gratuities. There are many people involved throughout a trip in Rwanda, from guides, trackers and porters during any primate treks, to private guides for the duration of the trip, as well as various hotel or lodge staff – and if travellers give tips to all, it does add up to carrying a substantial amount in cash. Though we do offer guidelines prior to the trip, both on our website and in our Notes for Travellers, tipping is always optional and at the discretion of each individual, and usually dependent on the quality of services given. With that in mind, it would be very difficult for us to set an amount for tips to include in a final trip cost, as each traveller has different thoughts on how much to tip. We are sorry though that this was an annoyance for these travellers, but we are glad that it didn’t have a negative impact on their overall trip.

For a small fee, porters are available at the start of each trail. They will help to carry your backpacks and offer a hand during tricky parts of the hike. It isn’t a compulsory requirement for the treks, but we encourage all of our travellers to hire a porter; even if you don’t really need them, hiring a porter is a helpful way to contribute directly to the local economy, and chatting to them en route can enhance your experience both of local life and of your gorilla trek.


Heaven Boutique Hotel

Heaven Boutique Hotel

"Heaven Boutique Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jan 2019
"It was perfect for our fist night, we arrived quite tiered and went straight to bed, the room was simple but ok.

We went for breakfast in the morning and I ate the best pancake ever."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Nyungwe House

Nyungwe House

"Heaven"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2019
"This lodge is incredible we where like king and queen, I encourage everyone to go there, specially for the food who was amazing"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
King’s Palace & Museum Visit

King’s Palace & Museum Visit

"interesting "

11 Jan 2019 • All-day excursion

This two visit where interesting, the guiding was a bit light but it was not a problem it was interesting to have a bit of history
Good
Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest

Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest

"Nearly a now show "

12 Jan 2019 • All-day excursion

The forest was beautiful with a good guide and trackers, but the chimpanzee were hidden in the trees even though we stead quite a long time we were not able to see them.

Only at the beginning of the track they ran in front of us for half a minute
Canopy Walk in Nyungwe Forest

Canopy Walk in Nyungwe Forest

"poor"

12 Jan 2019 • All-day excursion

We walked for 20 Minutes down, than on the fist bridge and my husband on the second and the third he said there was no real view and than we walked up again, a walk in the forest would have been more interesting.
Average
Cormoran Lodge

Cormoran Lodge

"Typical "

1 night Arrived 13 Jan 2019
"We had there the impression to be in a place where local people would also go.

We ha a big room with a view on the water. We spend time on our balcony it was great but you had not a view on the all lake but on a kind of fiord

On the balcony of the restaurant where you were sitting the view was obstruct by a too thick balustrade.

The food was simple and good"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

"Pleasure time "

4 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2019
"It was a bit like in the time of the colonies, the charming director was a white kényan and was very helpful. Every evening we had a drink with all the guests shearing our experiences with the gorillas.

The food was delicious and the staff very pleasant"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Golden Monkey Trekking

Golden Monkey Trekking

"good"

15 Jan 2019 • Morning excursion

It was our first contact with monkeys they were very close to us and easy to film
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"what an expérience "

17 Jan 2019 • Morning excursion

We went twice to see the gorillas both day were totally different, the fist day we walked 30 Minutes and there they were, the guide was interesting and very very funny we had a wonderful time.

The second was more difficult we walked much longer deep in the forest it was slippery and steep, we were helped by the porters, they were very kind, when we reached the gorillas it was still speed so it was sportive.

And when it is difficult to approach them it’s more fun
Excellent
City & Genocide Memorial Tour

City & Genocide Memorial Tour

"Interesting "

18 Jan 2019 • All-day excursion

The museum is very interesting and we learned a lot, the staff was very helpful
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team