This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit

Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit

Reviews: Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit

Below are independent comments from 21 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 21
Date
Mr & Mrs D.
New York

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

Based at Hotel des Mille Collines on 21 Oct 2021
"Having only Hotel Rwanda as a reference point for information about the Rwandan genocide, this was an eye-opening and educational experience that was also a sobering one that should not be missed.

The audio guide and exhibits paint a different picture than what was dramatized in the movie and provides a lot more context and truths about what led to the tragedy and its aftermath. We thought it was very well-presented.

After the memorial, we had buffet lunch at the Serena Hotel in Kigali which was OK." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr W.
Brussels

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

Based at Heaven Boutique Hotel on 7 Aug 2021
"a necessary confrontation with a shocking past, but in a deeply dignified way." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
DeGoler Clan
CA, USA

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

Based at Heaven Boutique Hotel on 22 Jun 2021
"This museum is a not to be missed experience.

It is important for the world to know and never forget the horrible things that the local people have experienced very recently. We must remember this history and safeguard from things happening like this again.

Our teenage children learned a lot from the experience as well." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Jarek
Poland

"City & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

Based at Hotel des Mille Collines on 10 Jun 2021
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L.
London

"Great to learn about the city and its history"

Based at Hotel des Mille Collines on 4 Nov 2019
"It was such a great experience to explore the different areas of Kigali and learn more about its history.

Going to the Genocide Memorial is a must for anyone visiting Kigali.

It is very well made and makes you appreciate how far this amazing country has come since the last 25 years." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs S
Streatha

"City tourCity & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

Based at Hotel des Mille Collines on 19 Aug 2019
"The Genocide memorial is well done and very sobering. It drives home what an amazing recovery has taken place in Rwanda" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Ms. K
Laramie

"Great Trip"

Based at Kigali Serena Hotel on 6 Aug 2019
"The city tour was great. It was neat to see the entire city and the landscape.

The Genocide Memorial Tour is an absolute must if you are in Kigali. We spent almost 3 hours in the Memorial, and could have easily spent 3 more hours. Although it is heart-wrenching, I think it is absolutely important to experience this and honor those who lost their lives." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr K
New York

"City & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

Based at Hotel des Mille Collines on 30 Jun 2019
"Very thought provoking.

Rwanda is a place where you need to pay your respects to the dead." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
ERinSTL
Saint Louis

"City & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

Based at Heaven Boutique Hotel on 30 Jun 2019
"Sula, our excellent driver/guide, started out with a driving tour of some of the important areas of the city, and finished at Kigali Genocide Memorial. We took longer than expected going through the very affecting exhibits, but Sula was perfectly OK waiting as long as we needed. The KGL was a very worthwhile stop. Learning more about the genocide makes the current peaceful condition that much more amazing.

We expected lunch at Hotel Mille Collines (the original “Hotel Rwanda”) and were a bit disappointed to be redirected to a different hotel. Lunch was lunch, but the fame of Mille Collines was an attraction that we were looking forward to. I understand the reason for the change, but Mille Collines should not have been promised in the itinerary." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Ms & Mr P
USA

"City & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

17 May 2019
"The memorial is a poignant reminder of a tragic event; definitely worth a visit!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 21
95%
21 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
17
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team