This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit

Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit

Reviews: Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit

Below are independent comments from 30 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 30
Date
Mrs A.
S. Carolina

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

Based at Kigali Serena Hotel on 20 Sep 2022
"Well done exhibits. Obviously disturbing, but glad we went." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

Based at Kigali Serena Hotel on 18 Sep 2022
"The memorial was well set out and maintained, and very moving.

We felt that it gave us a background to what had occurred that was a useful start to our trip in understanding what had happened and why." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
N&J
West Sussex

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

Based at Heaven Boutique Hotel on 4 Sep 2022
"The tour gave us a good grounding on the history and make up of life in, not just Kigali, but also Rwanda. We would recommend this to anyone.

The genocide Memorial visit itself is a difficult, but rewarding experience.

It is certainly something which enables you to put into context a lot of how Rwanda is today as you travel around the country" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms
Redondo Beach

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

Based at Hotel des Mille Collines on 20 Aug 2022
"I highly recommend a visit to the Genocide museum. This was so well done and educational." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Honeymooners
Malta

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

Based at Heaven Boutique Hotel on 18 Aug 2022
"The Genocide Memorial was a very informative and well organised experience. Its layout is well structured and designed in a way to easily explain the history of the horrors that occured in 1994.

It pays its respects to the victims without being exploitative and, in terms of length, is well laid out. We did not feel as though the experience was overly long or too short.

We highly recommend this experience early in one's visit to Rwanda, so that they may understand the foundations of the country as it is today." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

Based at Kigali Serena Hotel on 18 Jul 2022
"Moving to see the country facing up to its past." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Liz C
Sussex

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

Based at Kigali Serena Hotel on 16 Jul 2022
"A must.

Very powerful experience but required to understand the history of this beautiful country and also how incredible the Rwandan people are - to be able to forgive and move on side by side." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr/Mrs E
Wisconsin US

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

Based at Heaven Boutique Hotel on 4 Jun 2022
"The museum was excellent; well presented and moving. A must-see if visitors have enough time in Kigali.

The city tour was underwhelming for two of us with lots of experience with African and Asian urban environments, but it was enjoyed by the young adults in our group." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

Based at Heaven Retreat on 28 Jan 2022
"During the three full days we spent in Kigali we toured the city with our driver/guide, Sula, from Primate Safaris. We enjoyed partial-day tours, giving us time to relax in our hotel and time to walk around the city on our own. Our tour was tailored to our interests and timing. The Genocide Memorial and museum is a very moving exhibition that also includes a large burial ground. The exhibits inside are well organized and thought out. In addition, they are very personal and include many photographs of the victims of the genocide. It is very much a memorial and as well as a museum with a warning for the future.

Another highlight was a walking tour of Nyamirambo, Kigali’s Muslim quarter. Our tour started at the Nyamirambo Women’s Center, an organization that teaches women to read and write as well as to sew as a livelihood. The shop sells items made by the ladies. We proceeded on a walk around the neighborhood that ended in a lunch cooked in the home of a local woman. The food was delicious and the fellowship was outstanding. This is a vibrant neighborhood well worth seeing.

Over several days we drove around various parts of the city through the city center, commercial parts of the city and up to Mount Kigali.

During the three full days we spent in Kigali we had the services of a private driver/guide named Sula from Primate Safaris. Sula was so knowledgeable about Rwanda’s history and its current place in the world. He tailored our tours of the city to suit our interests, including a delicious lunch restaurant with outdoor dining. We also drove around various parts of the city through the city center, commercial parts of the city and up to Mount Kigali.

In addition, Sula drove us from Kigali to Akagera National Park where we were met by our guides from Wilderness Safaris’ Magashi Camp. During our drive to Akagera, Sula explained the various crops being grown in the countryside and how Rwandan people live. Sula then met us at Akagera again at the end of our stay there and drove us back to Kigali for an overnight stay at The Retreat.

The next morning he drove us to Wilderness Safaris’ Bisate Lodge near Volcanoes National Park. Knowing we were interested in local coffee growing, he arranged a tour of a small coffee processing place along the way. Once at Bisate, Sula drove us to and from Volcanoes National Park headquarters prior to our golden monkey and mountain gorilla treks. In addition he suggested we visit the newly opened Ellen DeGeneres Campus of the Dian Fossey Gorilla Fund nearby ahead of our mountain gorilla trek to learn about the gorillas before we saw them. It was an excellent suggestion. After our stay at Bisate he drove us to Kigali International Airport.

Sula is extremely knowledgeable about Rwanda’s flora and fauna as well. He was an excellent guide and we loved the time we spent with him. He helped us get the multiple COVID tests required throughout our stay in Rwanda and he kept the safari vehicle immaculate." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D.
New York

"Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit review"

Based at Hotel des Mille Collines on 21 Oct 2021
"Having only Hotel Rwanda as a reference point for information about the Rwandan genocide, this was an eye-opening and educational experience that was also a sobering one that should not be missed.

The audio guide and exhibits paint a different picture than what was dramatized in the movie and provides a lot more context and truths about what led to the tragedy and its aftermath. We thought it was very well-presented.

After the memorial, we had buffet lunch at the Serena Hotel in Kigali which was OK." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 30
94%
30 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
22
7
1
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team