This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

Reviews: Gorilla Trekking Safari

Below are independent comments from 40 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 40
Date
Dr P
Netherlands

"If you can afford it just DO IT! "

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 10 Feb 2020
"Fantastic!!!
So happy that I had booked 2 days trekking. Its totally worthy if you can afford it.
Be prepared for difficult treks and the elevation effects...but whatever you face you will relish the experience. A must once in a lifetime!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L.
London

"Absolutely beautiful"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 9 Nov 2019
"It is impossible to put into words just how amazing it was to watch mountain gorillas in their natural habitat.

We had the privilege to see gorillas of all ages up close, including silverbacks, young babies and their mothers.

I would urge anyone to go on this trek if they get the opportunity." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs S
Streatha

"Gorilla Trekking"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 21 Aug 2019
"This a once in a lifetime experience - we did it three times and each time i have never known an hour pass so quickly. Extremely well organised and the guides/trackers really inspire confidence while making sure you get the best out of your hour." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms. K
Laramie

"WONDERFUL Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 8 Aug 2019
"TRIP OF A LIFETIME! This was such an amazing experience! My family visited the Igisha group and it was ABSOLUTELY wonderful! The family just became the largest group the week we were there, with 34 members. During the hour we were able to spend with the mountain gorillas we saw around 20 of them. The drive was one of the longer drives, but the views were stunning and gave us a great opportunity to see the countryside and the villages far out of the cities.

Once the trek started, the adventure continued. Our guides were extremely knowledgeable, the trackers were excellent and skilled, and the porters were incredibly helpful. Although I did not hire a porter, one stayed very close to me on the way down as the path was extremely slippery, and any time anyone needed an extra boost through the tight bamboo forest, a porter was right there to help!

The anticipation during the hike was an experience all on its own, and once we got close to the gorillas and heard them, the trip was 100% worth it, even without yet seeing the gorillas. The hour with these beautiful creatures flew by, and we could have spent the entire day with them! We watched the mountain gorillas eat, and were lucky enough for them to move into a clearing where we could watch the juveniles play and the adults nap the afternoon away. I don't think words can even begin to describe how amazing this experience was, and was worth every. single. penny.

SUCH A GREAT EXPERIENCE!!!!!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Rusty Hudak
Stow

"Gorilla Trekking with Jolie"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 23 Jul 2019
"We had to hike extra long because the gorillas were moving uphill and away from us. But in a way that made the experience that much better. But people should be aware the hike may not be all that easy. There was no real path in some areas and it took close to 2 1/2 hours.

But Jolie, the Porters, Rangers -> all good!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
ERinSTL
Saint Louis

"Our gorilla trek"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 3 Jul 2019
"Nothing short of wonderful. For a second day in a row (previously with golden monkeys), we hit the jackpot for short trek. The troop of gorillas was literally on the National Park boundary. There was plentiful mud, though. Be aware of that likelihood, even if you plan your visit for the dry season, as we did.

The gorilla encounters were nothing short of amazing. Mothers and babies in poses that couldn’t be more human. Juveniles playing, swinging on vines, engaging in dominance practice, could be a school playground with a bit of extra foliage. The silverback keeping an eye on things with a stern, watchful glare – that was my fifth-grade teacher during recess. The 7-meter offset was only marginally enforced. Juvenile gorillas, unaware of that rule, approach closely, and grabbed the pants leg of a fellow trekker.

Having read reviews on various travel boards, we decided to book two gorilla treks back to back (on Day 3 and Day 4 of our stay at Volcanoes National Park). But after the first trek, as rewarding as it was, the idea of getting up at 4:30 again and trekking through the mud again caused us to reluctantly skip the second trek. Financially, it was a significant mistake in our planning. (We’re both in our 70s, though fit; maybe younger trekkers would not be deterred from a second go.)" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms & Mr P
USA

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Bisate Lodge on 19 May 2019
"Truly a bucket list experience!

Our gorilla trekking experience was simply magical!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms & Mr P
USA

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Bisate Lodge on 20 May 2019
"See prior comment

[ Ed: "Truly a bucket list experience!

Our gorilla trekking experience was simply magical!" ]" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr F & family
Belgium

"Magical encounters"

Based at Bisate Lodge on 6 Feb 2019
"This wildlife experience is completely worth it. Meeting 'our cousins' is a magical moment.

The hike through the forest can be challenging and tough-going (your guides will often have to machete a path through the ferns and nettles), but it’s within reach for anyone with a reasonable level of fitness.One should definitely hire a local porter, if only it were to support the local community.

Guides and rangers prepare you for what to expect, and you get very close to the animals (the gorillas don't respect the 7m distance...)

It's a cliché, but you'll never forget this experience..." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr P.
Stanmore

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Bisate Lodge on 29 Jan 2019
"It was way beyond description. The gorillas were so friendly and willing to share their life style with adults. Visited a pack of 24 gorillas including two silverbacks and one bad boy aged 12 years." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 40
99%
40 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
39
0
0
1
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team