This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

Reviews: Gorilla Trekking Safari

Below are independent comments from 40 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 11-20 of 40
Date
Mr P.
Stanmore

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Bisate Lodge on 30 Jan 2019
"Visited a family of 20 gorillas. Unlike the previous ones these had us chasing thru the undergrowth to keep up with them but they wanted us to find them. A silverback came within 2 feet of me and stopped to pose" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs Winnie
Geneva

"what an expérience "

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 17 Jan 2019
"We went twice to see the gorillas both day were totally different, the fist day we walked 30 Minutes and there they were, the guide was interesting and very very funny we had a wonderful time.

The second was more difficult we walked much longer deep in the forest it was slippery and steep, we were helped by the porters, they were very kind, when we reached the gorillas it was still speed so it was sportive.

And when it is difficult to approach them it’s more fun" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms A
Wareham

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Bisate Lodge on 2 Dec 2018
"Wonderful experience, especially that we got to be so close to the gorillas.
Excellent guides supported by porters and trackers.
Very knowledgable guides who are clearly dedicated to their work." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms A
Wareham

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Bisate Lodge on 3 Dec 2018
"As before

[Ed: see review below for 2nd December]" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms A
Wareham

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Bisate Lodge on 4 Dec 2018
"As before

[Ed: see review below for 2nd December]" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Wimbledon

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 29 Oct 2018
"Excellent gorilla sightings.

The daily licence fee is now so high that most groups are mainly from the US.

Access to the gorilla families is generally much easier than in Bwindi, Uganda." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Wimbledon

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 30 Oct 2018
"Excellent - see earlier comment

[Ed: This traveller's comments were:

"Excellent gorilla sightings.

The daily licence fee is now so high that most groups are mainly from the US.

Access to the gorilla families is generally much easier than in Bwindi, Uganda."" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr + Mrs M
Vancouver

"Encounter of a lifetime"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 27 Sep 2018
"Encountering the gorillas in the forest was a wonderful experience.

We were able to get much closer to them than we had anticipated, because of the tightness of the undergrowth, and they did not seem at all disturbed. Their play and interactions were very moving." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Jenny
Faversham

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 27 Sep 2018
"It's hard to describe just how wonderful an experience this was. I did two one hour visits and would recommend doing two. The walk to my first group was gentle, the second was rather more strenuous. There are plenty of helping hands though, including your porter, so most people of reasonable fitness will be fine. The guides are very knowledgable and experienced and although there were some 'naughty' adolescent gorillas who got too close, I never felt at risk. The guides also understand the magical moment for us tourists and offer help with photos and suggest the best places to stand. Sabyinyo silverback lodge provided gaiters and gloves, and you are offered a stick to help with the hike - take it. When you see the gorillas, don't spend all the time behind your camera lens! It really is worth concentrating on a few good photos and then simply enjoy the experience. An hour goes quickly, but is enough - for both the gorilla and us." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Jenny
Faversham

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 29 Sep 2018
"See previous entry" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 40
99%
40 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
39
0
0
1
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team