This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

Reviews: Gorilla Trekking Safari

Below are independent comments from 59 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 11-20 of 59
Date
Liz C
Sussex

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 23 Jul 2022
"Well what can we say other than the most incredible experience. We sat so near to a 40 stone silver back we could have reached out and touched him. He looked at us - we glanced at him. His power and beauty were awesome.

I loved watching them as a family - they each had their own personalities. The babies and juvenile were such fun too - I sat next to one who rolled on her back and sunbathed - so brilliantly human.

I was touched that we could get so close and worried that we do not appreciate how special these animals and our planet are" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs J
North Vancouve

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 2 Jul 2022
"OMG!! It was so exciting!! It only took about an hour to find the Gorillas. Our adrenaline was flying. We watched in amazement. We were so close to them. In fact, one touched me and one stepped on my sons foot.

We viewed moms, babies(3 weeks), and of course the silver back. So intimidating!! Could have watched them for hours!! A must see!!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
T&M
Queensland

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 4 Jul 2022
"Visited Sabinyo (second time) and Muhoza. Sabinyo trekking led by Roger and Muhoza with Odette/Francis. All excellent guides.

First time to gorillas was 2016 and got to say that this time was remarkably different. I can't help but think this coincides with either the increase in interest - thanks to Ellen Degeneres - or the increase in price now attracting a less nature/gorilla loving clientele. People were generally rude and showed little consideration for the guides directions, or others trying to view the same gorillas on difficult terrain. Both of our guides were very young compared to the guides I had in 2016, so perhaps they are on a learning curve right now, but if it is more a function of a different clientele than I think Rwandan parks needs to step in on behalf of the guides to make that short hour more orderly and fair for all trekkers. For example, someone other than the Guides should lay rules out to trekkers when we are still at park center.

Unfortunately peoples behavior was so bad, that our next gorilla trek will be from Uganda." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr/Mrs E
Wisconsin US

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 8 Jun 2022
"This was an excellent experience!

We visited the Agashya family, which had three silverbacks and several younger males and females. Unlike the monkey trekking, the gorillas were in a dense section of the forest, and so it was good that there were only 8 in our group (the maximum) - it was more difficult to always have a good sightline. (That said, over the course of an hour we all did have ample time to observe and photograph the gorillas.)" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Bisate Lodge on 5 Feb 2022
"Our trek began at Volcanoes National Park headquarters where guides assigned groups of trekkers based on how long or difficult a trek each wanted to reach the mountain gorillas. We then drove with our private driver/guide through several villages to the edge of the forest to begin our trek. We were paired with only two other trekkers and accompanied by several guides.

We hired a porter to carry our camera backpack. She also took us across very muddy, wet or slippery parts of the trail, which was very helpful. We highly recommend hiring a porter.

Several trackers met us before we approached the mountain gorilla family. We took our cameras out of our backpack and left it with the porters. We proceeded with the guides and trackers to find the gorilla family.

We spent an hour (the time went by very quickly) with a family of 19 individuals including mothers, infants, juveniles and a big silverback. They were gentle and watched us with as much curiosity as we watched them. Several times we had to step away as curious youngsters got too close. It was a very moving experience.

The trackers helped clear the vegetation so we had a good view of the gorillas. We visited early in February 2022 and were required to wear a medical-grade or better mask before approaching the mountain gorillas. We also had to have a COVID test ahead of time. We were happy to do both the keep these beautiful animals safe.

We were treated to a cold drink by Sula, our driver guide from Primate Safaris at the end of our trek. The Tamarillo Triumph cocktail was prepared by the staff at Wilderness Safaris' Bisate Lodge. It was delicious and most welcome." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D.
New York

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 20 Oct 2021
"Gorilla trekking felt like a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

All groups meet at the Volcanoes National Park headquarters where you're assigned a group and guide in the morning. You then drive to a starting point depending on where the gorilla family you're assigned to is. You receive a walking stick (highly recommended), hire a porter ($10+tip, optional), and are well on your way to find the gorillas. Our group of four got a private guide as no one else joined our group and we were assigned the Hirwa family, which meant lucky since the gorilla family had a set of twins.

It took us about 1.5 hours to reach the area where the gorillas were. Along the way, our guide, Jolie, taught us about the land, plants, and the people as you pass by villages and farms. The trek can get muddy so be prepared for that and gaiters are highly recommended. When we got to the area of the gorillas, our group was caught by surprise as the twin gorillas came rushing out of the bushes, playing with each other. A couple people in our group got pushed by the twins as they were playing so that gives you a sense of how close they can get. We also got to see the silverback male, the females, and a couple babies.

Overall, the trek was well-organized and fun. This was an amazing and unforgettable experience--one that we highly recommend." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
DeGoler Clan
CA, USA

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Bishop's House on 21 Jun 2021
"Our Gorilla Trek was outstanding.

Guides, Trackers, Porters all very kind and helpful and professional.

They did all they could to make the most of the experience for us and it was all that we hoped for." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Jarek
Poland

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 8 Jun 2021
"Unfortgetabble experience !" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Jarek
Poland

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 9 Jun 2021
Overall
Excellent
Dr and Mrs P
Greece

"If you can afford it just DO IT! "

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 10 Feb 2020
"Fantastic!!!
So happy that I had booked 2 days trekking. Its totally worthy if you can afford it.
Be prepared for difficult treks and the elevation effects...but whatever you face you will relish the experience. A must once in a lifetime!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 59
99%
59 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
57
1
0
1
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team