This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

Reviews: Gorilla Trekking Safari

Below are independent comments from 78 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 21-30 of 78
Date
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 26 Sep 2022
"A fantastic experience.

We went on two treks and interacted with two different groups of gorillas. The trackers, guides and porters were excellent.

A lot of information was shared on the lifestyle of the gorillas." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 27 Sep 2022
"See previous comments [Ed: See below]" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
N&J
West Sussex

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 11 Sep 2022
"This is a wonderful experience, which is difficult to describe. Our trek was long - about 3 and half hours - after a 1 and a half hour drive - we were aware this was to do with the relative youth of our group. The arduousness of the trek possibly enhanced the enjoyment of actually finding and spending time with the Gorillas.

The porters were excellent and helpful over such a long and steep climb. Our guide - Emmanuel - was another gem among a number in Rwanda. He kept us upbeat, was good at explaining the terrain and honest about the stinging nettles and the need to go off trail! He was also very informative about the Igashi group and Gorilla etiquette, as well as being good fun.

The hour we spent in hushed awe with the Igashi group in an open clearing on the mountain-side was an amazing time.

(we do wish we had taken more snacks for the trekking there and back - we left the lodge at 6:30 am and arrived back at 6:45pm!)" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
N&J
West Sussex

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 13 Sep 2022
"This was our second Gorilla Trek and after our wonderful experience the first time we were uncertain if this could live up to that. Because of our long drive and hike on the first trek were given a shorter journey on this occasion.

A big bonus for us was that we had the same guide - Emmanuel - the trek this time was remarkably different.

We saw the Amahoro group who were in a more-forested region and were far more active in the trees and so the trek provided quite a contrasting experience for us, which worked so well.

We were really happy with our decision to set up a second trek." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Laura
Vienna

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 7 Sep 2022
"Not even the pouring down rain could dampen the excitement of being so close to the gorillas!! It's an amazing experience that simply should not be missed. The guides/trackers were excellent, making sure that we had all of our full hour with the gorilla family. Definitely hire a sherpa - the walk can be quite slippery and they know what they are doing!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms
Redondo Beach

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 22 Aug 2022
"Absolutely amazing! I had no idea we would get so close to the family. No zoom lens required. iPhone took my best photos. The guide's and porters are excellent." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms
Redondo Beach

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 23 Aug 2022
"The guides provide a lot of information during the trek. I was fortunate enough to do 2 treks (most only do one). Two different families, two different types of treks and two different activity levels." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Honeymooners
Malta

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 20 Aug 2022
"Where to start?! This was absolutely incredible.

We were fortunate enough to visit the Dian Fossey Campus with our Primates Guide a day prior to trekking volcanos national park to visit these impressive creatures. The museum was a great introduction to the history behind the country's conservation of Gorillas and the way the primates communicate.

We visited the Ntambara group which was around 1.5 hours trek up into the Volcanos National Park. The group was very docile and eating. A very surprising scenario as they group had just welcomed a new baby gorilla of just 2 weeks old.

We had a very watchful eye on us by the Silverback of the group who refrained from eating while we were there. This did not feel threatening at all as our trackers and guides new exactly how to communicate with them all.

Again, we had to wear protective masks to view the primates, this time we went prepared but our guide also had a few masks for those who forgot to bring. The group size was perfect with just 8 of us. We felt that we could manoeuvre the nest well and not get in the way of each other.

We were allowed to take as many photos as we wanted although the hour with the gorillas passed very quickly." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 28 Jul 2022
"Extremely well organised and professionally run.

We had relatively easy walks to the two families that we visited. Not difficult terrain or vegetation. Others were not so fortunate. Our extremely experienced driver was instrumental in ensuring that we had good experiences.

Amazing close encounters with all members of both families." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Liz C
Sussex

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 23 Jul 2022
"Well what can we say other than the most incredible experience. We sat so near to a 40 stone silver back we could have reached out and touched him. He looked at us - we glanced at him. His power and beauty were awesome.

I loved watching them as a family - they each had their own personalities. The babies and juvenile were such fun too - I sat next to one who rolled on her back and sunbathed - so brilliantly human.

I was touched that we could get so close and worried that we do not appreciate how special these animals and our planet are" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 78
99%
78 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
76
1
0
1
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team