This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest

Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest

Reviews: Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest

Below are independent comments from 10 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 10
Date
Mr & Mrs L.
London

"Amazing experience"

Based at Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel on 5 Nov 2019
"The chimpanzee trek was absolutely amazing and should not be missed. Being able to see our closest relatives up close in their natural habitat felt very special.

The trek itself should not be underestimated as it can be quite steep and slippery at times, so good hiking boots are a must." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr K
New York

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

Based at Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel on 1 Jul 2019
"Chimpanzee trekking was excellent.

Saw about 20 chimps up a tree eating figs. Eventually they call came down very close to us and then disappeared into the undergrowth.

Well worth the early start." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr F & family
Belgium

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

Based at Nyungwe House on 2 Feb 2019
"Nice hike in the rainforest, but be aware that the pathways can be rather slippery and steep. At least you need some basic condition, not for the less agile.

We were lucky to find some chimpanzees rather fast, but when they started moving we had to stop the chase. Sights are not always easy because of the thick vegetation.

No success guaranteed, one should realize this before the start!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr P.
Stanmore

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

Based at Nyungwe House on 25 Jan 2019
"a very tiring trek. the chimpanzees were always one step ahead of us" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs Winnie
Geneva

"Nearly a now show "

Based at Nyungwe House on 12 Jan 2019
"The forest was beautiful with a good guide and trackers, but the chimpanzee were hidden in the trees even though we stead quite a long time we were not able to see them.

Only at the beginning of the track they ran in front of us for half a minute" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Poor
Mr P.
Chilterns

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

Based at Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel on 15 Sep 2018
Overall
Excellent
Dr H
Lancs

"Shy Chimps"

Based at Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel on 27 Aug 2018
"This was the first real trek in the forest in a small group. It had rained and was slippy underfoot. The guides and trackers were very good and helpful in cutting down undergrowth so we could follow where the chimps were. You need good walking boots and the walking pole which you are loaned at no cost [ a little like a shorter version of a shepherd's crook ] is very useful.

There was quite a bit of up & down and the chimps are mostly in the tops of the trees so you end up walking about with your nose in the air whilst trying to watch you don't slip or trip.

I didn't hire a porter but you could have one to help carry heavy bags, cameras and water as well as to help push and pull you if you felt you needed that type of assistance!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
BJ
Minnesota

"Very quick and saw about 4 chimps."

Based at Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel on 12 Aug 2018
"Trek was not very hard and over very quickly. We saw about 4 chimps.

I wish we could have gone to the bottom." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
H family
Seven Oaks

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

Based at Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel on 21 Jul 2018
"The Trek was well organised and we have no complaints at all in that respect.

The Chimps stayed relatively distant and high up in the trees which made the experience slightly disappointing when compared with the other primate experiences later in our trip." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr J & Ms M
Tasmania

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

Based at Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel on 18 Jun 2018
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 10
86%
10 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
6
2
1
1
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team