This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest

Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest

Reviews: Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest

Below are independent comments from 15 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 15
Date
N&J
West Sussex

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

Based at Nyungwe House on 6 Sep 2022
"This was an early start, but very much worth it.

We did have quite a drive initially to get to the trail head (about an hour), but the visit itself was well organised - although a challenge hiking at pace in the steep and muddy terrain.

We would definitely recommend a porter - it is hard to balance to take photos on steep slopes with a day-pack on and the Chimpanzees don't stay still for long and were mainly in the trees!

We were lucky enough to spend forty minutes or so with the group." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Laura
Vienna

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

Based at Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel on 4 Sep 2022
"The chimps are a bit difficult to access, as they spend a lot of time in the trees - but we did actually get close to them as they travelled through the forest. Fascinating!!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

Based at Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel on 23 Jul 2022
"The terrain was very difficult and I was exceptionally pleased to have a porter to help. The views of the chimps when we finally caught up with them were distant so binoculars were necessary for any details.

Photographic opportunities were extremely limited and difficult." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Liz C
Sussex

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

Based at Nyungwe House on 17 Jul 2022
"Incredible - second trek was unbelievable as chimps were moving on the forest floor.

They came so close and were so relaxed around us.

We saw mothers, fathers, babies and even mating!!!! didn't expect that !!!! :)" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs J
North Vancouve

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

Based at Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel on 29 Jun 2022
"Of all the Treks we experience, this was the most difficult.

We trekked 20kms and 5 hours to see the Chimps. Worth every step! In Vancouver BC, Canada were we are from, we are at sea level. The 8000 elevation above sea level was factor. Would do it over and over again.

Our guide and Trackers did an amazing job." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L.
London

"Amazing experience"

Based at Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel on 5 Nov 2019
"The chimpanzee trek was absolutely amazing and should not be missed. Being able to see our closest relatives up close in their natural habitat felt very special.

The trek itself should not be underestimated as it can be quite steep and slippery at times, so good hiking boots are a must." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr K
New York

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

Based at Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel on 1 Jul 2019
"Chimpanzee trekking was excellent.

Saw about 20 chimps up a tree eating figs. Eventually they call came down very close to us and then disappeared into the undergrowth.

Well worth the early start." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr F & family
Belgium

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

Based at Nyungwe House on 2 Feb 2019
"Nice hike in the rainforest, but be aware that the pathways can be rather slippery and steep. At least you need some basic condition, not for the less agile.

We were lucky to find some chimpanzees rather fast, but when they started moving we had to stop the chase. Sights are not always easy because of the thick vegetation.

No success guaranteed, one should realize this before the start!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr P.
Stanmore

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

Based at Nyungwe House on 25 Jan 2019
"a very tiring trek. the chimpanzees were always one step ahead of us" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs Winnie
Geneva

"Nearly a now show "

Based at Nyungwe House on 12 Jan 2019
"The forest was beautiful with a good guide and trackers, but the chimpanzee were hidden in the trees even though we stead quite a long time we were not able to see them.

Only at the beginning of the track they ran in front of us for half a minute" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Poor
Showing 1-10 of 15
88%
15 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
10
2
2
1
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team