This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nyungwe House
Nyungwe House
Nyungwe House

Reviews of Nyungwe House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

20 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nyungwe House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nyungwe House.
Chimpanzee

100% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 20
Duration
Arrival date
Mr F & family
Belgium

"This reopened lodge is top quality!"

2 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2019
"Beautiful lodge in a stunning environment. The view of the misty forest on the edge of the property is exciting and mysterious, the surrounding tea plantage lovely and relaxing. They upgraded us to a villa, which was very luxurious. In the afternoon, a troop of Colobus and Grey Mangabey monkeys past by our balcony! Excellent facilities and very well managed by Jacques and his team.

The food is more than excellent, we especially loved the light lunches. Service is excellent and still with the typical natural and very friendly Rwandan feel, keep it that way!

Highly recommended!" See all these reviews: 7n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Chimpanzee

1 sighting

Mr P.
Stanmore

"lovely lodge which makes you feel very welcome"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2019
"a perfect place to relax and be pampered

food was superb and beautifully presented" See all these reviews: 7n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs Winnie
Geneva

"Heaven"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2019
"This lodge is incredible we where like king and queen, I encourage everyone to go there, specially for the food who was amazing" See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Chimpanzee

1 sighting

Dr E
Pennsylvania

"Excellent "

2 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2018
"Excellent lodge. Terrific accommodations. Long drive to get there from Kigali.

Good location in the forest. Beautiful grounds. Staff and lodge director were excellent and willing to accommodate any needs that we had. Very interested in assuring that our experience there was excellent. They organized lodge activities outside of regular hours that they were scheduled. Food was exceptionally well presented and prepared.
Enjoyed the family style dinner seating with very interesting other guests.

Muddy boot cleaning service in the laundry were very helpful." See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2017
"Set in a beautiful area amongst the tea plants next to the Nyungwe Forest.

We saw a number of primates from our chalet and around the grounds of the lodge.

Architecturally very interesting and beautiful, with fixtures and fittings to a very high standard." See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Washington

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2016
"A really beautiful lodge, set amid a tea plantation just beyond the western edge of Nyungwe Forest National Park. Beautiful views of the plantation and the mountains of the Park to the immediate east. Luxurious, modern facilities.

Extremely comfortable rooms with decks looking out on forest through which monkeys traveled routinely. Excellent food at all meals. Wonderful service by a staff continually committed to providing a top-class experience. In a distracting oddity, muzak plays at all hours of the day in the main lodge building.

The Park itself is very attractive and gives some idea of the flavor and beauty of Rwanda before deforestation. Excellent primate tracking and hiking in and around the Park. Tracking of the colobus monkeys occurred not more than 500 meters from the Lodge, and the monkeys were abundant and highly accessible. The canopy walk in the Park was beautiful and exhilarating (in a terrifying way)." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda; 7n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rob
Watford

"Would not be out of placed in Knightsbridge !"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2016
"This is a top drawer lodge although the architecture has been designed to fit in very well with the environment.

Everything is quality. The furniture and fittings, the decor, highly trained and attentive staff. Individual lodges are lovely. The food is outstanding. A gym, swimming pool and spa is available but I never had enough time to use them ! Wonderful views of the Nyungwe Forest from the lounge and restaurant.

For the chimpanzee trek a member of the staff was up to greet me at 4 am to provide coffee and a takeaway breakfast before I left early.

A very enjoyable stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
M & L
Vancouver, BC

"A beautiful lodge in a tea plantation"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2016
"A beautifully designed lodge set in a tea plantation. The rooms are large & luxurious with a private balcony looking into the forest. Other guests had seen colobus monkeys from their balcony but unfortunately we didn't. We did see them later in a nearby forest.

The food & service were excellent. We wish we could have stayed another couple of days.

A trip to the nearby tea factory was worthwhile. Too bad they didn't sell any tea!" See all these reviews: 15n in Rwanda; 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J
Dublin

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2015
"Lovely location. In need of better lighting in the bedrooms as it was hard to see when unpacking and packing. They have an ambience of rest and minimalism.

Practically it would have been good to have a rack for suitcases (instead of the floor) as one does not want to unpack for a one or two night stay. We loved it. they had really thought of almost everything." See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Oxon

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2014
"Beautiful public spaces at this hotel and very friendly, attentive staff.

The bedrooms are very comfortable if a bit dark as they are positioned so close to the forest. Chimp tracking was very exciting!" See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 20
98%
20 reviews of Nyungwe House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nyungwe Forest National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel

Nyungwe Top View Hill

This quirky hotel is a convenient base for exploring Nyungwe Forest and while it isn't luxurious, it has good views.


77% (15 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa