This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Rob from Watford

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

Unforgettable Rwanda - June 2016

Rwanda between 5 Jun 2016 and 19 Jun 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip far exceeded my expectations for all the reasons mentioned previously.

It was designed specifically for my requirements by Ellie Walkingshaw who I owe a debt of gratitude to. It is a pleasure dealing with knowledgable people who have got the T-shirts ! Thank you.


As usual in Rwanda, Expert Africa arranged a private guide for this traveller. He commented:

I have been fortunate in my travels to have experienced some of the best guides in the world - underwater as well as on the land !! NAYEBARE SAM is without doubt in that elite band. He recognised early on that I had a real passion for the natural world and the desire to record that with my cameras. Sam worked tirelessly to make sure that I obtained everything that I wanted as far as is humanly possible.

He is clearly well known and respected by others and that is used to the benefit of his clients in many ways.

He is passionate about his country and that was an inspiration to me.

In summary I am so pleased to call him friend. Thank you Sam - you will never be forgotten.


Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

This is the second time I have used Expert Africa - keep doing what you are doing !"

Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"A great location for central Kigali."

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2016
"I arrived late on Sunday and left fairly early the following day. It is therefore not really possible to give a comprehensive account. However for the time I was there the staff were extremely attentive, the rooms comfortable and the food good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ruzizi Tented Lodge

Ruzizi Tented Lodge

"Outstanding location."

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2016
"A delightful tented lodge. Having breakfast by the Lake in the early morning and at the same location for dinner by the light of an open fire is wonderful.

All the staff are friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Good wildlife and you will never forget the number of hippos close by. Easy access to other parts of Akagera National Park. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.

It was not a problem for me but I think that mosquito nets over the bedding arrangements should be considered in the future particularly as the camp is so close to water."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"My sort of place !"

4 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2016
"Difficult to know where to start ! I enjoyed my time here from the very first greeting on arrival.

My cabin / lodge had an outstanding view of one of the volcanoes. Beautiful gardens which I used in my "downtime" to photograph the exquisite birdlife.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner was presented on a buffet style basis and the quality and quantity of the food was excellent. There was always a member of the staff available to help. Really attentive people.

Great location to get to the golden monkeys / mountain gorillas etc.

Small details like taking your muddy boots / gaiters from you at the entrance after returning from the mountains and returning them thoroughly cleaned in the evening ready for the next day and wrapping some wooden carvings I had purchased locally without being asked was just the cream on the top.

I stayed her longer than most people usually do as I had arranged additional gorilla tracks. Even so I was sorry to leave. I have really good memories of all the staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cormoran Lodge

Cormoran Lodge

"Beautiful Lakeside location."

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2016
"Idyllic location and the views from my cabin were outstanding.

The idea in some ways I guess was to have some R & R after the Verungas and it is certainly well placed to do that. However I got my guide Sam to arrange for a local fisherman to take me to an island on Lake Kivu to see a huge colony of fruit bats which included climbing to the top to see views all the way to the Congo !

Whilst the food was good and the staff friendly they were perhaps more "reserved" than those at all the other places I stayed at in Rwanda."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Nyungwe House

Nyungwe House

"Would not be out of placed in Knightsbridge !"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2016
"This is a top drawer lodge although the architecture has been designed to fit in very well with the environment.

Everything is quality. The furniture and fittings, the decor, highly trained and attentive staff. Individual lodges are lovely. The food is outstanding. A gym, swimming pool and spa is available but I never had enough time to use them ! Wonderful views of the Nyungwe Forest from the lounge and restaurant.

For the chimpanzee trek a member of the staff was up to greet me at 4 am to provide coffee and a takeaway breakfast before I left early.

A very enjoyable stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team