This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel
Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel
Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel
Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel
Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel

Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel


2°25’55.4"S 29°5’23.4"E

Reviews of Nyungwe Top View Hill

Wildlife sightings and reviews

15 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nyungwe Top View Hill and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nyungwe Top View Hill.
Chimpanzee

100% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 15
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L.
London

"Great place for exploring Nyungwe"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2019
"Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel, although not as luxurious as some of the other places we stayed at, was a great base for exploring the area.

The views from the hotel (especially the roof terrace) were excellent. The room was nice, but could do with a bit of updating.

Staff were very friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 9n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Chimpanzee

1 sighting

Mr K
New York

"Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"The hotel was excellent.

I read the reviews for the hotel and was a little worried. But the staff were amazing, the food and rooms were very good.

I had a fire in the room every evening. I don't see how the more up-market lodge can be worth the substantial additional cost." See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Chimpanzee

Multiple sightings

Dr H
Lancs

"Needs an upgrade to bring it up to scratch"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2018
"The staff were helpful and the food and service were satisfactory. The rooms are tired and in need of money spending on them. The rooms looked bare and in the bathroom the shower curtain around the bath had been removed, inverted and converted into a curtain for the window which was adjacent to the shower.

This curtain was grubby/mouldy because it was repeatedly wet.When I first arrived there was no water from the taps but the staff rapidly sorted this out.
There was a long printed list of do's and don'ts in the room including advice that you weren't allowed to wash any clothes and if you did you may be charged!

It was cool in the evenings. The staff would light a fire in the sitting area of the room if required and each night I had two hot water bottles placed in the bed, I think that was standard practice.

However the view from the restaurant terrace over Lake Kivu is stunning." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Chimpanzee

1 sighting

BJ
Minnesota

"Nice hotel in forest but limited electricity."

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2018
"Nice hotel in forest but limited electricity." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Chimpanzee

6 sightings

H family
Seven Oaks

"Excellent first stop in Rwanda"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2018
"Very comfortable and no real complaints although the hotel is not particularly characterful.

The food was actually pretty good but it was disappointing that the buffet style was let down by the warming devices which were just not good enough leaving the food tepid." See all these reviews: 9n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Chimpanzee

1 sighting

Mr J & Ms M
Tasmania

"Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Chimpanzee

8 sightings

Mrs M
London

"Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2017
"Weather was cool and largely overcast at Nyungwe, and one minor niggle was having to walk up to the central lodge to ask for a fire to be laid and lit. Whilst appreciating the need to conserve fuel, the combination of altitude and cooler weather, meant that some heat was needed in our lodge to take the chill off in the late afternoon. We were not bothered by the fairly basic standard of the facilities available – the beds were fine, the water was hot, the food good enough, with a decent variety of vegetable soups – but did also notice the lack of heating in the main central lodge. Not helped by the design and keeping the doors open at all times: the poor staff at reception must have been freezing!" See all these reviews: 10n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs G
Fareham

"Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2017
"The staff were very welcoming and the waiting staff at mealtimes were very friendly and accommodating.

The room was fine. It was clean and tidy, but a bit tired looking. The bath was cracked and the lounge windows let in water when it rained, but neither things bothered us. We liked the fact that there was a separate seating area in the room. We didn't use the balcony as the view was just of overgrown bushes and there were only 2 dining room chairs there, so not too comfy. Loungers would have been useful here as they would have been on the terrace of the main hotel building. Lots of beautiful views but nowhere comfortable to sit to enjoy them.

The food was buffet style and there was always plenty of choice and plenty of it.

Wifi was available in the lobby and main building and was fairly reliable.

This wasn't the hotel that we originally booked, but as they were renovating the other one, this was the best available." See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr V
Texas

"Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2017
"Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel is a place I would love to hate. The main lodge is a rather pretentious hulk of stone with second story balconies spanning a turret, most of which are completely useless. We did have lunch on on the western balcony, but only because management had obtained some large Heineken Beer umbrellas to provide a bit of shade from the heat that radiated all around us. The formal layout of the grounds was contrived and unnatural, and completely at odds with the beauty of the surrounding mountains and forest.

The cabins are arranged on a strict linear grid, two rows facing what was intended to be a formal garden, which is elevated by a stone retaining wall as tall as a human being and basically inaccessible. Inside each cabin is a useless large entry way and a sitting room with a single lamp and a large fireplace surrounded by shelves filled with West African (not Rwandan) wooden figurines. There is a wood-burning fireplace, which we did not use, not in small part due to the fire screen that was framed in.....wood.

The beds are okay, and we were grateful for hot-running water and a flush toilet. Each room has a safe, but they are not wired and so you can't use them as intended (combination code). You have to have a key from the front office. How many keys do they have? One. So only one cabin out of 12 can utilize the safe -- hope you are the lucky one when you stay there. We demurred and just left our valuables at the front desk whenever we left the premises.

Food was just okay. The staff is skeletal. I honestly don't know how this place manages to stay afloat. Well, yes, actually I do. It's because of Tito the manager and David the head waiter/bartender/whatever else is required. Those two worked their fingers to the bones. Tito worked such long hours that he sometimes had to sleep on a mattress on the floor of the office instead of being able to go home for the night. Without the two of them, I think the whole operation would have just fallen apart.

Part of my disappointment may be due to the fact that originally we were supposed to stay at the very well-reputed Nyungwe Forest Lodge. Unfortunately, it was closed for renovations at the time of our trip, and so we had to be rebooked at Top View (and the view from the western balacony is nice).

In spite of all of my seeming negativity, we never really went without. There aren't many accommodations at Nyungwe, so I think this lodge has to be measured, at least in part, on that basis. That said, if you have flexibility in the timing of your trip, I might consider waiting until Forest Lodge is (hopefully) back up and running. Without that benefit, we nevertheless had a serviceable enough time at Top View (4 nights) and we're glad to have the opportunity to visit Nyungwe National Park." See all these reviews: 13n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Carter Caravan
USA

"Nyungwe Top View Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2016
"Very nice staff. The rooms are very private with a sitting area and fireplace. They are very willing to start a fire in the fireplace. The bathrooms need remodeling. They are old, black mold in some areas and the towels are shredding. There is a large outdoor balcony and the views from the room and property in general are gorgeous. The food is very average. The main lodge needs a thorough cleaning as there are spider webs, etc. Some of the furniture is falling apart. We were shocked at the price they command considering the condition of the property. We would not stay here again and would have spent more money to stay at the more expensive exclusive lodge in the area. We stayed here trying to cut the budget and were disappointed in the poor quality and food." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 9n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Showing 1-10 of 15
77%
15 reviews of Nyungwe Top View Hill by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
4
3
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nyungwe Forest National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nyungwe House

Nyungwe House

Nyungwe House is the most upmarket place to stay in Nyungwe Forest National Park, and one of Rwanda's very best lodges.


98% (20 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa