This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr K from New York

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

18

Excursions taken

8

My Aug 2021 trip

Namibia between 21 Aug 2021 and 7 Sep 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"The whole trip was amazing.

Sabina was very patient as we kept organizing and then reorganizing, including delaying a year because of Covid. Very knowledgeable and a lot of good advice.

I was a bit hesitant about driving alone (particularly after the rental car company's mandatory video), but the driving was easy and fun, and no problems.

Overall every lodge was great, the staff amazing and the country is stunning."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2021
"The lodge was very good and I'm glad I decided against spending the first night in Windhoek.

Saw some nice wildlife and enjoyed the rock art on the sundowner drive. Went on the trail by camp the following morning; scenery was impressive though the rock art wasn't as good as the night before.

Food was ok - everything was covered in a lot of sauce."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Onguma The Fort review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2021
"I was upgraded and the Moroccan theme was a little ostentatious for my liking, but everyone was very nice.

Although activities were not included, I went on a sundowner drive on the reserve with Victor the first night and was impressed, so I also went on morning and afternoon game drives in Etosha the following day.

All the meals were excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2021
"Another great lodge.

Games drives were very good and were lucky enough to see African Wild Cat. The floodlit water hole was spectacular, particularly the first evening when there was a constant procession of rhinos.

Best sighting of the trip, for me, was a Caracal, which was initially chased off by the rhinos, but then came back to drink. I had to be fetched back from the hide for dinner!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2021
"Beautiful location.

I was scheduled to be picked up by the camp at the road end, but arrived early and decided to drive. Road was fine. It was very cold when I was in camp, but I was well taken care of (arrived back from dinner to find 2 hot water bottles in bed).

I was originally booked to go to the Desert Rhino Camp and was a bit skeptical about the substitution. The guide, Bons, was exceptional. We found two rhinos on both days and each sighting was better than the last. Amazing to be standing there with a rhino walking towards you completely unaware of your presence and then have to retreat because she was getting too close."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2021
"This was my favorite camp of the trip.

Beautiful rooms, superb location, great meals. Staff was wonderful.

Really enjoyed the day trip to the coast, lunch at the beach and then the flight back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2021
"Loved the location of the camp amongst the boulders.

Perfect sundowners spot.

Drove myself to Twyfelfontein and the White Lady of Brandberg (on the way to Swakopmund) and didn't participate in any camp activities - I don't find a "non-applicable" option for activities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Strand Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2021
"Very good, international standard hotel.

Had a nice view of the parking lot. Didn't participate in any hotel activities.

Had a nice walk around town."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2021
"Another beautifully located lodge.

The rooms were a little odd - there was a spectacular view which you couldn't really see when inside and the outdoor space looked over the parking spaces and other huts - could be better designed.

Sundowners were great - taken to a location with a great view, food, drinks and a fire, and then picked up once the sun had set."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

4 Sep 2021 • All-day excursion

The excursion to Sossusvlei was good - wasn't expecting a pond in the desert with flamingos and avocets.

In retrospect, I would probably have chosen to drive myself rather than going on the group drive.
Good
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

"Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2021
"Great hotel and room (other than it was under the sky lounge and a bit noisy the first afternoon).

Both the fish and the steak restaurants were great. I stayed for 2 nights to get a Covid test.

Had a very interesting half day wandering around Windhoek, including visiting the Independence and Trans-Namib railroad museums. -"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Ballooning in the Namib Desert review"

5 Sep 2021 • Morning excursion

Amazing views.

Great breakfast.
Excellent

Short trip to Rwanda

Rwanda between 29 Jun 2019 and 3 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"I was on a 3 week trip to Uganda and Expert Africa planned a short extension primarily to visit the Nyungwe Forest.

Amanda Bond was the agent and she did a great job of creating a trip that met my expectations. The tour guide and vehicle were excellent. The accommodation and food were great. There could have been a bit better co-ordination of the activities at Nyungwe, but in the end I had a great time.

Only wish I had had longer to spend in Rwanda."

Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Hotel des Mille Collines"

1 night Arrived 29 Jun 2019
"Brief stay - late arrival and early departure. Hotel was excellent. Great breakfast and good internet."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel

Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel

"Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"The hotel was excellent.

I read the reviews for the hotel and was a little worried. But the staff were amazing, the food and rooms were very good.

I had a fire in the room every evening. I don't see how the more up-market lodge can be worth the substantial additional cost."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit

Kigali Tour and Genocide Memorial Visit

"City & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

30 Jun 2019 • All-day excursion

Very thought provoking.

Rwanda is a place where you need to pay your respects to the dead.
King’s Palace & Museum Visit

King’s Palace & Museum Visit

"King’s Palace & Museum Visit review"

30 Jun 2019 • All-day excursion

Excellent. Was busy when I was there and went around with a group of Rwandans, which made for a more interesting cultural experience.

Also recommend the National Museum in Butare (Huye) which was also visited. Very interesting and well laid out.
Excellent
Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest

Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

1 Jul 2019 • All-day excursion

Chimpanzee trekking was excellent.

Saw about 20 chimps up a tree eating figs. Eventually they call came down very close to us and then disappeared into the undergrowth.

Well worth the early start.
Excellent
Canopy Walk in Nyungwe Forest

Canopy Walk in Nyungwe Forest

"Canopy Walk in Nyungwe Forest review"

1 Jul 2019 • All-day excursion

The canopy walk was closed for repairs. We went on a nice walk around the forest.

Would have been better to know in advance and then could maybe have planned something different.
Average
Bird Walk in Nyungwe Forest

Bird Walk in Nyungwe Forest

"Bird Walk in Nyungwe Forest review"

2 Jul 2019 • All-day excursion

Had two birds walks.

For the first, I had an excellent guide (I had a forest walk the previous day and the guide had called to ask for an experienced bird guide). We saw a lot of the Albertine Rift Endemics. I particularly wanted to find the red collared mountain babbler. The guide was a little reluctant, we had to negotiate with the army for access and it was a pretty steep climb, but all worth it to see a very special bird.

The guide on the second walk was very nice, but had limited bird knowledge.
Excellent
Colobus Trekking in Nyungwe

Colobus Trekking in Nyungwe

"Colobus Trekking in Nyungwe review"

2 Jul 2019 • All-day excursion

I had seen colobus previously on the trip and so did not have high expectations for this activity. However, I really enjoyed it.

We were surrounded by the monkeys who were very relaxed and close.
Excellent

My Oct 2015 trip

Zimbabwe between 3 Oct 2015 and 19 Oct 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great trip to Zimbabwe. Everyone raves about safari guides in Zimbabwe and they really are excellent."

Bulawayo Club

Bulawayo Club

"Bulawayo Club review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2015
"I did not actually stay at the Bulawayo Club. I had a room booked but it became apparent very shortly before I left, that the booking had been "mislaid". They had a big function that evening and presumably needed the room. I was warned that the Club was unreliable. I did visit during the day - it seemed nice. Bit disappointed.

I did stay instead at the Banff Lodge, which was good. It was a little noisy (Rugby World Cup Scotland vs. South Africa) and the rooms are close to the bar.

Kudos to Nick at Expert Africa - he arranged a change of accommodation at short notice and a driver for the day.

Bulawayo is very interesting. Railway museum is excellent."
Poor
Amalinda Lodge

Amalinda Lodge

"Amalinda review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2015
"Amalinda was excellent. Rooms built into hillside incorporating rocks. Very hospitable. Great meals.

Visited Khami ruins on way from Bulawayo, which were excellent. Only visitors at site. Recommend the longer walk to get full appreciation of the site.

Day trip to Great Zimbabwe was long - very early start. The site is really worthwhile. Very few visitors.

Matopos is a beautiful National Park. Wildlife somewhat limited, though we did (briefly) see rhino."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Hide

The Hide

"The Hide review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2015
"Very nice camp. The coffee delivered with the morning wake-up call was a great touch. Rooms excellent. A lot of elephant activity at waterhole each night. Definite advantages of a family-run camp.

The camp is adjacent to the Vic. Falls - Bulawayo railway line. Heard trains early each morning.

Disappointing lack of predators at time of visit."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Camp Hwange review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2015
"Excellent guides. I was never very enthusiastic about walking safaris, but the walking here was excellent. Food was great.

Only negative was that I was lumped into a large photography group on the last day and felt a little rushed out of the National Park because of their flight schedule."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2015
"Great location, only a short walk from the Falls.

Everyone at the hotel was very friendly. Food was good, but recommend at least one meal at the Victoria Falls Hotel, which is a short walk away. Spent a morning birding in Zambezi NP with Charles Brightman, which was excellent.

Helicopter flight was great, though do not think the longer flight is worth the extra money."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

"Vundu Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2015
"Great camp and amazing guide.

3 day canoe safari was excellent, though low water prevented access to many of the smaller channels, which were the most interesting part. C

anoeing may be better earlier in the season, though the concentration of wildlife close to the river was incredible."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mana Pools Canoe Trail

Mana Pools Canoe Trail

"Mana Pools Canoe Trail review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2015
"Canoe safari was excellent. Was expecting to "rough-it", but the camps were incredibly luxurious.

Being on the water gave a whole new perspective.

Water level was low, so some smaller channels were blocked, which was disappointing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team