This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge

Reviews of Ongava Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

144 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Lodge.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

10% success

Cheetah

10% success

Giraffe

96% success

Zebra

96% success

White Rhino

96% success

Oryx

93% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Elephant

85% success

Black Rhino

73% success

Eland

46% success

Roan antelope

29% success

Sable antelope

14% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Spotted Hyena

10% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 144
Duration
Arrival date
Ms S.
Surrey

"Fabulous"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2019
"Incredible! Loved everything about Ongava.

Received a warm friendly welcome. Informative yet quick check-in. Amazing room with fantastic views close to the watering hole. Incredible sightings at the watering hole - including elephants and black rhino - and the hide is an excellent facility. Great food. Amazing service. Staff couldn't do more for us and even changed a flat tyre. Game drives were fantastic with a friendly knowledgeable guide.

Didn't want to leave, Would highly recommend." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

8 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

J&J
Plockton

"Good Lodge with superb staff"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2019
"The best thing about this lodge was the manager we met - Adriano. He advised us not to do their own morning tour into Etosha but to drive ourselves. He was right, and it was refreshing to meet someone who wanted us to enjoy our stay and not ensure that we spent more. For that reason alone I would recommend Ongava. It is a very upmarket lodge, directly outside Andersson gate, which makes access very easy. As recommended we drove ourselves into Etosha and had a fabulous morning.

In the evening we did the local Ongava game drive. They obviously know where the game is and we saw the local lion pride and several white rhinos.

The food was excellent. At dinner they were good at handling my lactose free needs.

The rooms were very comfortable and the wildlife walks past your balcony.

They insist on walking you to your room at night, but our guide said he’d never used the gun he carried.

The only downside was the light illuminating the waterhole. This stayed on all night, and shone into our room which made sleeping difficult. It is a shame that they can't turn it off after guests have gone to bed." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Lion

3 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs T
Sawbo

"Luxury at Ongava Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2019
"Excellent safaris with plenty of wildlife.

The adjacent waterhole attracted plenty of animals and it was a pleasure to dine whilst watching them drink. Food was excellent and, as with everywhere we went, the staff were very helpful and courteous.

Franz was our excellent guide and our Safaris included a visit to Etosha National Park.

Maybe visitors should be warned that the number of steps can be quite trying, especially as, some days, it was over 100 F." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

8 sightings

White Rhino

4 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Louise & David
UK

"Ongava Lodge for best rhino sightings"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2019
"A lovely first wildlife sighting as on our first night at midnight I woke to hear rustling noises and saw the shape of a giraffe just the other side of our balcony, 5m from our bed - I watched it browse on the leaves of a tree for some while, magical! I had to wake my partner as he would never have believed me the next morning!

We loved this lodge for the amount of wildlife sightings and the stunning, beautifully laid-out communal area with perfectly positioned seating areas overlooking a well-frequented waterhole. The large and comfy Hide was a bonus and we were lucky enough to have it to ourself on each occasion we spent time there photographing the animals, particularly various antelopes and oryx, zebra and giraffe coming down to drink. Whilst we couldn’t fault the service, the food and game drives we found the staff were efficient and polite but more formal and not as friendly or as engaged as other places we stayed, possibly because it is larger, although not full when we were there. Having said that we had a really great stay here and thoroughly enjoyed the game drives with the very well-informed Guides." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Giraffe

6 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

3 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs OC
Sheffield

"Fantastic location for access into Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"Another terrific place to stay, the existence of the watering hole alone means this has an Excellent rating! Watching a rhino having a bath was one of the highlights of our trip.

We loved the views from the main lounge/dining area and also from the swimming pool, which we enjoyed lots as it was one of the more generous sized pools we encountered.

The setting of the room was fantastic and we had a close encounter with a giraffe who came right up to our balcony late one night, which was brilliant. They were great at providing cold drinking water, but it would be even better if they could provide a fridge in the room.

We didn't do any of the activities here but used it as a base to drive ourselves into Etosha (concentrating on the quieter western section which was fantastic), which worked really well due to the easy access into the Park.

This felt a bit more traditional than Onguma and service was a little more reserved, although still incredibly polite and helpful.

Onguma was the setting of our only (very small) health hiccup during the holiday, when I was stung by an unknown insect on the foot whilst watching animals down at the hide at dinner time, when it was dark. This was my fault as I was wearing flip flops and not closed shoes as recommended, and in the end it was not serious at all, but the fact we didn't know what had stung me was a bit of a cause for concern. Bradley from Onguma was absolutely brilliant, took charge straight away and administered some first aid to sort me out. I was much more careful to wear closed shoes in the evenings for the rest of the trip!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Dr P.
Austin

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"Excellent vehicle and guide, great waterhole and game hide with bench and stabilizer for camera.

Pascal is best guide by far of our 3 different safari locations during our trip!" See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs C.
Blauzac

"Just amazing"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"This lodge was just wonderful: the site, the pool, the main lodge, the rooms, the staff... We would have been very happy here even without Etosha at the door.

The water hole brought lots of night-time rhino sightings and we loved the hide besides the water hole. We enjoyed the game drive/sundowner with the guide going all out to find us lions.

The staff did everything to make us happy." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

6 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Eve& Reuben
Bozeman

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"We loved Ongava lodge for the setting, the exceptional service, the great food and the animal activity at the waterhole below the open air dining room.

We liked seeing the lion pride with cubs eating a giraffe the the interplay. And the chance, albeit briefly, to see “wild” cheetah.

Guide was a bit disappointing however. Also our guide was not entirely credible, especially when he tried to tell us the stone tower at Okaukuejo was an ancient San prison!!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Pangolin

2 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr L & Family
Denmark

"Ongava Lodge was expensive but lovely"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2019
"Before entering Etosha through the Andersson Gate, we stayed at Ongava Lodge in Ongava Game Reserve. It is a lovely luxury lodge, located on a small cliff top overlooking the bush. The thatched cottages have unobstructed views of the game reserve and a local water hole. From our cabin we could see the animals coming and going from the watering hole. Just when we arrived there was a large giraffe, shortly after an elephant.

It is crazy to be able to watch the animals directly from our own private terrace - or the outdoor shower. There is no fence around the lodge and at night an armed guard follows one back to the cabin from to the living area / restaurant.

Ongava Lodge was an expensive and lovely place, though not a very personal lodge. The food and service did not quite live up to the high price. But with a location just outside Etosha's gate, that's probably the price you have to pay. We had a good time at this lodge" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C.
Crewkerne

"Our favourite place in Namibia!"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2019
"This was our favourite camp in Namibia.
Beautiful, hugely spacious reception/eating area with several separate sitting areas with stunning views over the plains and watering hole.
Bedrooms were luxuriously enormous with an outdoor shower on the veranda - and fabulous indoor bathroom.
The food and service absolutely excellent and swimming pool was great - but the best bit was the hide overlooking the watering hole where you could go at dusk (with your glass of wine!) and quietly watch the animals come to drink.
We saw a rhino with her baby and giraffe with her baby - plus lots of plains game.
We had a brilliant game drive and saw an elephant, 2 lionesses with a kill, lots of rhino and plenty of plains game.
Wish we could have stayed longer." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 144
92%
144 reviews of Ongava Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
99
34
8
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa