This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge

Reviews of Ongava Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

158 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 43 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Lodge.
Lion

90% success

Leopard

9% success

Cheetah

12% success

White Rhino

97% success

Giraffe

95% success

Oryx

90% success

Zebra

90% success

Elephant

88% success

Black Rhino

80% success

Wildebeest

79% success

Eland

38% success

Roan antelope

26% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Spotted Hyena

12% success

Pangolin

3% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 158
Duration
Arrival date
John
Western Canada

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2023
"Loved this place! Had read some reports of it being a little run down but we never saw this at all.

Very comfortable feeling and one of the best rooms of our trip!

Great hide for viewing of the waterhole. Super friendly staff! Good sundowners after seeing lions, rhinos, elephants, mongoose and honey badger. Also the hyraxes playing around the rocks by the pool were cute.

We were told to arrive by two in the afternoon for possible afternoon activities but this was not necessary, just be there by around four-four-thirty." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs A
Kent

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2023
"We had a fabulous time at Ongava. The accommodation is extremely comfortable and the food is excellent and plentiful.

We enjoyed our jeep trips out with our excellent guide, Teacher. We saw two large male lions, one of them striding along purposefully and the other flaked out on the side of the track, as well as a whole pride of other lions.

The setting of the lodge is beautiful and looks over a waterhole. We were privileged to see rhinos both evenings we were there, including a baby and other young ones. We also enjoyed seeing elephants at the waterhole one lunchtime and viewing them from the hide." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

The S Family
Plymouth

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2023
"We had a great stay at Ongava. The staff were very friendly and the guides knowledgeable. The lodge has the advantage of Etosha on its doorstep and an impressive range of animals on their land.

Highlights included walking with rhinos and a separate bush walk with our guide the next day. The hide by the watering hole allows a very close up view of animals - including rhinos and elephant. Staying for three nights gave more flexibility in what we did with our guide.

Accommodation was luxurious and the food good." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr and Mrs W
london

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2023
"Ongava Lodge is in a great setting with views over the water hole and beyond. They are set within their own reserve so you can do game drives locally with the guide or drive a short drive to etosha with either a guide or as a self drive.

Compared to other hotels, the service wasn't quite so good - we weren't given an option to have a guide take us to Etosha, perhaps a lack of staff that day.

The rooms are also quite tired and in need of a refresh and cleanliness could have been better (a little dusty and a stained towel).

Overall a good experience but some updates to the rooms would be a good idea." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"Ongava Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 14 May 2023
"The only lodge that we had visited before and we wanted to return because of the hide. The only discernible change since our last visit in 2016 is that management no longer come around one by one at dinner each evening.

The rooms and facilities were exactly as we remembered.

The food was fine but not memorable (again no change from 2016). The view of the water hole from the restaurant is terrific. Watching the rhinos each evening during dinner never palls.

Teacher was a great guide, very professional. Although the lodge was pretty full we were lucky to be the only people with him on most of the drives morning and evening. So he could and did tailor to our preferences.

We did a couple of rhino approaches, leaving the car and walking with him up to the white rhinos which are a lot less skittish than the black.

It was a great contrast to Desert Rhino camp." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

5 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

White Rhino

10 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Birmingham

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2022
"The lodge has an amazing view from their restaurant over a water hole which meant we ate our lunch on arrival watching a bull elephant before going down to the hide for a closer look. The chalet was very roomy with a nice decking area. On our afternoon drive on the Ongava reserve we were really lucky and saw 2 lionesses with 4 cubs between them which I would have been happy to watch for the rest of the afternoon & when we got back there were 2 black rhinos at the water hole. Watching what was going on there was far better than a TV!

We had been to Ongava before and loved it in the tented camp. The biggest advantage of the Lodge is the view of the watering hole, whilst the tented camp feels more exciting but would be happy to stay in either again." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Kartik
Patel

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2022
"The view of the reserve from Ongava Lodge is epic. I could hear Disney’s Lion King music start playing in my head when I first arrived!

Meals were great, in particular they cooked the brown rice we brought with us to cater for a diabetic in our group. In all honestly though, you almost forget about the food, because you’re glued to the activity at the waterhole out front whether at breakfast or dinner: rhinos, elephants, giraffe, even a leopard sighting at night.

You can get even better views from the hide, something I have never experienced - why go out and look for animals when they come right to you. Note that you can go to the hide in the evenings as well which we would have done had we known beforehand (this is something the staff might want to highlight when guests check in).

As for the game drives, the rhino tracking was thrilling as you are able to exit the vehicle, and we got to see a pride of lions including cubs which has to be one of my most memorable moments of the trip." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Mrs B
North Yorkshire

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2022
"Lovely location and great to watch the rhino's at the watering hole in the evening." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mrs H.
Whitchurch

"Ongava Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2022
"Excellent lodge, food, staff and guide.

Loved the water hole visible from the main lodge and (at an angle) from our veranda. We saw 11 rhino there one evening, the average being about 3.

We spent two mornings at the hide by the water hole and saw a great variety of wildlife; an elephant herd spent 55 minutes there one morning as well as giraffe, oryx, kudu, black backed jackel, warthog, impala and hundreds of comical Guinea fowl.

We found three rhino whilst on foot as well as others from the vehicle." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

White Rhino

10 sightings

Dr and Mrs P
Greece

"Its jewel is the hideout by the water hole."

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2022
"Comfortable lodge with very friendly staff in a beaytiful and very scenic setting. Its hideout by the water hole is a great experience.

It will be a very memorable place for us as after 6 safaris in Africa we saw so many rhinos ( mostly white ) in the Ongava reserve. Also the western part of Etosha seemed to have more animals than the eastern part.

It is difficult to settle from the Fort to the Ongava Lodge and thus we may be biased in our review of it. Yet, undoubtedly we would recommend it. Don’t bother visiting the nearby ‘research centre’ unless you are totally bored with everything else and keep in mind that the air-strip is very near the lodge should you decide to fly in or out from there." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 158
92%
158 reviews of Ongava Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
111
36
8
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (702 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (330 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (261 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (154 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (103 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (97 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (84 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (74 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (37 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


88% (36 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


94% (18 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa