This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge

Reviews of Ongava Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

153 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 38 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Lodge.
Lion

92% success

Leopard

10% success

Cheetah

13% success

White Rhino

97% success

Giraffe

95% success

Zebra

89% success

Oryx

89% success

Elephant

86% success

Wildebeest

79% success

Black Rhino

78% success

Eland

39% success

Roan antelope

27% success

Sable antelope

17% success

Spotted Hyena

14% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Pangolin

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 153
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Birmingham

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2022
"The lodge has an amazing view from their restaurant over a water hole which meant we ate our lunch on arrival watching a bull elephant before going down to the hide for a closer look. The chalet was very roomy with a nice decking area. On our afternoon drive on the Ongava reserve we were really lucky and saw 2 lionesses with 4 cubs between them which I would have been happy to watch for the rest of the afternoon & when we got back there were 2 black rhinos at the water hole. Watching what was going on there was far better than a TV!

We had been to Ongava before and loved it in the tented camp. The biggest advantage of the Lodge is the view of the watering hole, whilst the tented camp feels more exciting but would be happy to stay in either again." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Kartik
Patel

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2022
"The view of the reserve from Ongava Lodge is epic. I could hear Disney’s Lion King music start playing in my head when I first arrived!

Meals were great, in particular they cooked the brown rice we brought with us to cater for a diabetic in our group. In all honestly though, you almost forget about the food, because you’re glued to the activity at the waterhole out front whether at breakfast or dinner: rhinos, elephants, giraffe, even a leopard sighting at night.

You can get even better views from the hide, something I have never experienced - why go out and look for animals when they come right to you. Note that you can go to the hide in the evenings as well which we would have done had we known beforehand (this is something the staff might want to highlight when guests check in).

As for the game drives, the rhino tracking was thrilling as you are able to exit the vehicle, and we got to see a pride of lions including cubs which has to be one of my most memorable moments of the trip." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Mrs B
North Yorkshire

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2022
"Lovely location and great to watch the rhino's at the watering hole in the evening." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mrs H.
Whitchurch

"Ongava Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2022
"Excellent lodge, food, staff and guide.

Loved the water hole visible from the main lodge and (at an angle) from our veranda. We saw 11 rhino there one evening, the average being about 3.

We spent two mornings at the hide by the water hole and saw a great variety of wildlife; an elephant herd spent 55 minutes there one morning as well as giraffe, oryx, kudu, black backed jackel, warthog, impala and hundreds of comical Guinea fowl.

We found three rhino whilst on foot as well as others from the vehicle." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

White Rhino

10 sightings

Dr and Mrs P
Greece

"Its jewel is the hideout by the water hole."

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2022
"Comfortable lodge with very friendly staff in a beaytiful and very scenic setting. Its hideout by the water hole is a great experience.

It will be a very memorable place for us as after 6 safaris in Africa we saw so many rhinos ( mostly white ) in the Ongava reserve. Also the western part of Etosha seemed to have more animals than the eastern part.

It is difficult to settle from the Fort to the Ongava Lodge and thus we may be biased in our review of it. Yet, undoubtedly we would recommend it. Don’t bother visiting the nearby ‘research centre’ unless you are totally bored with everything else and keep in mind that the air-strip is very near the lodge should you decide to fly in or out from there." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms M
Switzerland

"Ongava Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Apr 2022
"A very beautiful and secluded place. A beautiful room, very spacious and private, very clean.

A place to spend more time than just one night.

Very good food, very service oriented staff." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

HM
New Hampshire

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2022
"Great location -- watching rhinos at the watering hole while we ate dinner was an amazing experience. The staff are incredible -- same was true for the food. Although we enjoyed our game drive within the private game reserve (it was particularly exciting to see a group of 4 rhinos and some elephants), we actually saw more game driving on our own through Etosha." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr K
New York

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2021
"Another great lodge.

Games drives were very good and were lucky enough to see African Wild Cat. The floodlit water hole was spectacular, particularly the first evening when there was a constant procession of rhinos.

Best sighting of the trip, for me, was a Caracal, which was initially chased off by the rhinos, but then came back to drink. I had to be fetched back from the hide for dinner!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr M.
Haifa

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2021
"High level lodge
Very nice rooms and luxurious lobby as well as the pool
Wonderful food and service
Beautiful view of a cistern (sic meaning waterhole) just a few meters
A stunning hideout for watching animals around the clock
The greatest wealth in animals on a trip
No need to waste time on Etosha
Already on the access road we met our friends the rhinos lions elephants .....
The staff tries to be polite but a bit oppressive in an attempt to show interest
Need to explain to them to give a little space....One by one we go to the table to chat and it's pretty transparent" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

10 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms S.
Surrey

"Fabulous"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2019
"Incredible! Loved everything about Ongava.

Received a warm friendly welcome. Informative yet quick check-in. Amazing room with fantastic views close to the watering hole. Incredible sightings at the watering hole - including elephants and black rhino - and the hide is an excellent facility. Great food. Amazing service. Staff couldn't do more for us and even changed a flat tyre. Game drives were fantastic with a friendly knowledgeable guide.

Didn't want to leave, Would highly recommend." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

8 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 153
92%
153 reviews of Ongava Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
107
35
8
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (669 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (325 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (250 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (150 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (96 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (97 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (91 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (85 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (80 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (71 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


93% (61 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (39 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (34 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (34 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (25 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


92% (12 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


96% (9 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


92% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (1 review)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa