This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge

Reviews of Mountain Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mountain Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mountain Lodge.
Lion

60% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

80% success

White Rhino

40% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Aardvark

20% success

Brown Hyena

20% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Mountain Lodge Review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2019
"Very large comfortable chalets with spectacular views. The public part of the lodge was also a very large open area and felt quiet and remote after coming from Etosha. All the staff were very friendly and attentive, particularly the smiley Belinda, Maggie the Manager, and our excellent guide Ali.

After coming from Etosha the wildlife seemed more sparse, but we weren't disappointed and our sightings included some of the more rare species such as caracal, cape fox, brown hyena and aardvark. Thank you so much Ali for all your efforts." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

7 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr LeenP
Lewes

"great safaris"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"One of the best places to stay, with excellent excursions, animals and views.

Really professionally run but combined with personal service our favourite place to stay in Namibia. Great guide Rio. (Could improve food though)" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Richard
Truro

"Mountain Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2019
"Wonderful camp with great service and views.

The guiding was knowledgeable and excellent - Ramon's knowledge and ability to take us to the right locations to see game (black rhino, elephants, lion, etc) was amazing.

The rooms were amazing and the food great - we would love to return." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Sussex

"Lion adventures at Mountain Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2019
"Mountain Lodge at Etosha Heights was in a stunning situation with an off-the-beaten track kind of feel, even though the local roads were actually a lot easier to traverse than the corrugated cattle-grid bumping of the desert D-roads around Swakopmund and Damaraland.

After a lengthy drive (Top Tip: watch out for knee-high elephant dung when you get out to open gates) we'd planned a lazy evening, but lovely Maggie the manager came to let us know that lions had been sighted by the waterhole, and would we like a special evening half-safari to look for them? Well, yes we would!

Guide Ali was brilliant. As we arrived at the site, a single vehicle from sister lodge Safarihoek was leaving, so we had the unbelievable privilege of sitting quietly in our open-sided jeep just metres from a fully-grown male lion guarding his zebra kill from the jackals and crows. As the sun went down another male and three females arrived - so there were five lions with us five humans and acres of bush around us. Amazing.

Ali also took us on a morning safari drive the following day and again the sightings were awe-inspiring, including a black rhino with its baby, elephants, zebra, antelope of all kinds, giraffe, wildebeest, ground squirrels and a vast array of birds.

In the afternoon we had our own watering hole - the swimming pool - to ourselves. Mountain Lodge was quieter than the others, with perhaps three other couples arriving and leaving during our 2-night stay. We loved the genuinely personal welcome from Maggie and the other staff, the outstanding food cooked by chef Lorenzo (who came out of the kitchen for a long chat with us) and the thoughtful guiding by Ali that made the game trips so memorable." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs B
Amersham

"Mountain Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"We felt that a better route to here was via Outjo rather than the gravelled road to Kamanjab even though this was further.

Again an excellent lodge but our chalet was very, very hot. Our laundry was done efficiently and at no extra charge.

Both the game drives we went on were fine. We could have gone on an additional drive on the afternoon we arrived but we decided to relax after our journey." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B.
Richmond

"Great location at Mountain Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"Mountain Lodge is located in the Etosha Heights private reserve which is ajoins the south boundary of Etosh National Park. The lodge has large duplex style lodge units situated on a hillside, which have amazing over the lowlands where scores of animals migrate to from Etosha park. The units are extremely comfortable, well equipped, and with large decks overlooking the plains.
The main lodge has a very nice lounge and dining area, aswell as a small pool and Boma area. We weren't able to experience outside dining during our stay due to the prevailing high winds in the area. Food and service was of high standard. Unfortunately the internet service was unavailable due to some technical equipment problems, but a relatively minor inconvenience.
All the staff were very welcoming and accommodating, and treated us very well. Our guide and driver, "Rio" was amazing, finding lots of animals and spotting some rare ones on our night drive. Mountain Lodge was a great introduction to the Etosha area." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Norwich

"Mountain Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"great place but reserve has v limited wildlife" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-7 of 7
97%
7 reviews of Mountain Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa