This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge

Reviews of Safarihoek Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

21 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Safarihoek Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 17 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Safarihoek Lodge.
Lion

45% success

Leopard

10% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

94% success

Black Rhino

93% success

Elephant

88% success

Wildebeest

86% success

Eland

80% success

White Rhino

54% success

Sable antelope

42% success

Spotted Hyena

18% success

Brown Hyena

17% success

Roan antelope

17% success

Pangolin

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 21
Duration
Arrival date
Ms S.
Surrey

"A Little Disapointed Until the Lion Sighting"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2019
"Overall had a good stay. Décor wasn't to my personal taste; it felt a bit unfinished and impersonal (lots of space with nothing in it). This was particularly the case in the room which felt a little like an oversized student accommodation / military camp room. However, the view from the room was incredible which made up for the poor inside.

The front gate didn't have our details so there were slight delays getting in when we first arrived. Check-in was quick but there was very little information provided. We were not provided with details of game drive so had to actively enquire about these. Dinner quality was ok but serving size was very small. Restaurant as so big there was no atmosphere.

All the negatives however, were compensated by the game drive. The guide was fantastic and spotted a black rhino and her baby. In the morning there were 4 lions viewed at the watering hole from our room. A little while later a male lion was spotted and a guide took guests on an impromptu drive to get a closer look, this was fantastic and much appreciated.

I think this is possibly usually a very good hotel and we just had a bad timing re: the service (which wasn't bad, just did not meet our expectations, lion drive aside)." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr CB & Dr MB
Tring

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"What a great place to stay. The view from our room was fantastic. A pity that we didn't have the opportunity to visit the water hole that we could see in the distance.

Our room was amazing and we felt very pampered here.

The game drive was fine when our private driver took us but the driver that was provided by the lodge was poor. He appeared to think that he was in a formula 1 race (we had 2 such drives with him). Quite honestly we felt unsafe and certainly uncomfortable with him. We know that other guests in the same vehicle felt the same." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mike
Oxford

"Amazing"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2019
"Having bounced along the D2671 (one of the worst roads we experienced) and opened a few gates on the D2680 we reached the security gates to Etosha Heights and the 5km drive to Safarihoek Lodge. Very impressive!! A warm welcome and a toasted sandwich for a very late lunch. A lovely big room with a terrace overlooking an extensive plain and a water-hole.

Tea and cakes and then off on the 16.30 Afternoon Game Drive with Grevin - huge number of animals: Springbok, Oryx, Waterbuck, Giraffe, Zebra, Kudu, Elephant, Steenbok & Black Rhino. Followed by a sun-downer!

06.30 - Game Drive (wrapped up well) - White Rhino, Lion and a brilliant close-up of the dexterity of elephants.

16.30 - another Afternoon Game Drive with a wealth of birds and other wildlife. Grevin did us proud!

Lovely food and personally looked after by Titus who was very attentive. Felt very special.." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

4 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mrs E & family
UK

"Better than Etosha National Park."

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2019
"The plaudit owes something to our guide who went by the wonderful and unlikely name 'Ethelbert Teek'. Teek, as he wanted to be known, took us on quite the most remarkable safari game drive of our entire trip around the private reserve that is 'Etosha Heights/Safarihoek'. This man is a Namibian Croccodile Dundee.

We were really hoping to see Elepants as we hadn't found any in Etosha. Teek tracked them by following dung and tree damage and surely enough we crept up upon a herd of 10 elephants including 2 calves feeding on acacia. The private reserve seemed to us to contain lots more wildlife than Etosha and we also had incredible close up encounters with Black Rhino (mum and baby) zebra, giraffe, moongoose, honey badgers, African Wildcat, you name it.

The lodge itself is quite modern and overlooks the vast reserve. We shared it with just a group of Italians. It deserves to do well and if wildliife is your thing, this is your place." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr GM
Porthcawl

"Safarihoek stay"

1 night Arrived 13 Jul 2019
"Something not right about this lodge but what? People were great especially Theresa, lots of rhino sightings, great view from the lodge, food good (apart from no veggie option, but even that was expected to a degree). Maybe it's because the lodge is very modern, chrome and glass. I just can't put my finger on the reasons." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

7 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Edinburgh

"Lots of animals at Safarihoek"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"Great location for animals, excellent guide on the game drive, good food and friendly service.

The lodge and chalets were more like an upmarket hotel and less like the safari camp style of the other lodges. We preferred the style of the other lodges since they seemed more in tune with their environment but that's just a personal view. Others may disagree." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Dune lover
London

"Safarhoek the heavenly Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2019
"This was simply outstanding. We felt this was the best Lodge of our holiday. Practically perfect in every way!!

We had a super comfortable room with indoor and outdoor showers. The staff were incredibly attentive. Food was excellent and we loved the décor of the main room. In addition there was a wonderful balcony on the main room where one could eat and look down at the waterhole at all the animals gathering.

There was a hide and we spent considerable time there viewing the animals. We would have been very happy to have spent longer here. We saw a herd of 30 elephants at the waterhole during the evening (the waterhole was floodlit) and on the second night the guide drove us down to the hide and we took amazing photographs - seriously up close and personal. We saw many creatures not listed below such as waterbuck etc.

Definitely a place to add to any travellers' itinerary." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs D
E Sussex

"Top class Lodge / Hotel"

1 night Arrived 23 Jan 2019
"We found ourselves as the only guests at this Lodge / Hotel. It is set in it's own wildlife reserve adjoining Etosha, which is very well stocked with a large variety of game, including oryx, kudu, springbok, wildebeest, waterbuck and giraffe.

The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. A beautiful main building with an excellent swimming pool and far reaching views towards Etosha with a large and busy waterhole in the distance. The room exceptionally well appointed and comfortable. We went for a short walk with the very interesting guide to a viewpoint above the Lodge for a sundowner before an excellent dinner on the terrace.

We were very sorry that we had only booked an overnight stay here en route to Etosha, and would have been happy to have stayed two or more nights." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Mrs J.
Sussex

"Safarihoek Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2018
"Arrived to a warm welcome with cold towels and drink. Lovely large room with indoor and outdoor shower and amazing views over the waterhole. Joined afternoon drive with an exceptionally good guide (Mike) when we saw large numbers of animals and birds. Enjoyed a sundowner out in the bush with giraffes looking on!

Next day an wonderful tour, again with Mike when we saw great variety of animals. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and time spent afterwards with Mike and other staff. Unfortunately dinners were not great - tough pork and eland. Breakfasts were very good." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

10 sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr A & Mrs E
Berks

"A 3 star stalinist lodge with pretensions"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"A grim building complex which is trying to do better. We were so glad we were not here for our wedding anniversary!

There was one good waiter, Lulu, the rest did not seem to have a clue.

Fantastic setting with glorious view.

Our game drive was excellent, as was our guide, Kristoff. In adidtion to sightings recorded later, we saw a black jackal, 3 groups of red hartebeest, a magnificent male kudu, and although we didn't see a leopard, we saw a recently killed springbock up a tree! Also lots of different birds." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 21
95%
21 reviews of Safarihoek Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa