This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge

Reviews of Safarihoek Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

25 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Safarihoek Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 20 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Safarihoek Lodge.
Lion

57% success

Leopard

8% success

Cheetah

8% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

95% success

Black Rhino

94% success

Elephant

90% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Eland

83% success

White Rhino

57% success

Sable antelope

47% success

Spotted Hyena

31% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Pangolin

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 25
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs V.
Leiden

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2021
"Safarihoek Lodge was our hidden gem. Originally not part of our trip, it was kind of a last minute improvisation. Usually we're not too fond of big shiny lodges, but for Safarihoek we gladly make an exception. We stayed for just two nights, but from the moment we set foot there we knew that this simply wasn't enough. During our stay we were the only guests and the staff catered to our every need. Fine dining, good wine, brilliant views from the deck and a pool you could only tear yourself away from because the game drives were even nicer.

Mike our guide was without a doubt the highlight of Safarihoek. In all our previous trips across southern Africa we never met anyone like him. His enthusiasm was energizing, knowledge exceptional and his humour ever present. Because Etosha Heights is a private reserve, the possibilities for game drives are greater than in Etosha. I'd like to highlight two:

On the first one we came across two black rhinos in the distance. Mike however wanted us to experience the beautiful animals a little closer. Long story short; we ended up just a few metres from these usually shy and potentially agressive animals (a mother and a calf). Totally at ease they let themselves be observed for at least 15 minutes without ever being disturbed. It might have been something to do with Mike talking to just about every animal and showing them respect in his own unique way.

On the second one we spotted two large male lions and decided to stay with them for a couple of minutes. These lions started roaring, which in itself is pretty impressive, but even more so when a third one answered. These three lions teamed up, started walking and decided to take over the territory of a fourth one. We followed the three brothers for a long time (luckily we already had a night drive with Mike planned) and at one time we lost track of them. Eventually they appeared behind us unexpectedly, which was quite an adrenaline boost. It never came to a confrontation (they scared the one away) and the lions just kept walking and roaring, marking their new territory once in a while. Probably a once in a lifetime experience, even Mike hadn't witnessed this before. It was the longest and most exciting game drive we ever had.

Of course, our Safarihoek experience is coloured by these experiences and the fact that we were the only ones. Still; the staff, the park and the conservation philosophy behind it all are great assets and definitely make us want to go back." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr M.
Haifa

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2021
"A higher level lodge
Stunning rooms and luxurious lobby as well as the pool
Wonderful food and really really professional service
Beautiful view of a cistern (sic meaning waterhole) a bit far away but a lovely view
We went out for evening and morning activities with more professional guidance
We located black rhinos, lions, chitas (sic meaning cheetah) during action and much more
The order included epilene all inclusive of laundry we received with a good smell" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs P
New Jersey

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2021
"Staff were the highlight here. Guiding was by far the best we had in Namibia.

Very convenient location and great view from rooms overlooking watering hole. Good value property though the rooms and main lodge felt quite sterile.

Some outstanding Rhino viewing very close to the lodge.

Etosha heights is not the greatest landscape but allows for excellent game viewing." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Miss K & Mr G
London

"Amazing!!!!"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2020
"Lovely lodge. Very comfortable. Good showers. Excellent food. Great views overlooking the distant waterhole, with a steady stream of animals coming and going.

The photo hide is fabulous – loads of animals (including lions, elephants and sable antelope). Our guide, Michael, was amazing. He was incredibly knowledgeable, had amazing eyes, and was a fountain of interesting information. He was also very personable and it was a joy to be guided by him. He also knew exactly where to position the jeep to get the best light for photography.

Our sightings of elephants and black rhino here were simply incredible." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

5 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Sable antelope

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms S.
Surrey

"A Little Disapointed Until the Lion Sighting"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2019
"Overall had a good stay. Décor wasn't to my personal taste; it felt a bit unfinished and impersonal (lots of space with nothing in it). This was particularly the case in the room which felt a little like an oversized student accommodation / military camp room. However, the view from the room was incredible which made up for the poor inside.

The front gate didn't have our details so there were slight delays getting in when we first arrived. Check-in was quick but there was very little information provided. We were not provided with details of game drive so had to actively enquire about these. Dinner quality was ok but serving size was very small. Restaurant as so big there was no atmosphere.

All the negatives however, were compensated by the game drive. The guide was fantastic and spotted a black rhino and her baby. In the morning there were 4 lions viewed at the watering hole from our room. A little while later a male lion was spotted and a guide took guests on an impromptu drive to get a closer look, this was fantastic and much appreciated.

I think this is possibly usually a very good hotel and we just had a bad timing re: the service (which wasn't bad, just did not meet our expectations, lion drive aside)." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr CB & Dr MB
Tring

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"What a great place to stay. The view from our room was fantastic. A pity that we didn't have the opportunity to visit the water hole that we could see in the distance.

Our room was amazing and we felt very pampered here.

The game drive was fine when our private driver took us but the driver that was provided by the lodge was poor. He appeared to think that he was in a formula 1 race (we had 2 such drives with him). Quite honestly we felt unsafe and certainly uncomfortable with him. We know that other guests in the same vehicle felt the same." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mike
Oxford

"Amazing"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2019
"Having bounced along the D2671 (one of the worst roads we experienced) and opened a few gates on the D2680 we reached the security gates to Etosha Heights and the 5km drive to Safarihoek Lodge. Very impressive!! A warm welcome and a toasted sandwich for a very late lunch. A lovely big room with a terrace overlooking an extensive plain and a water-hole.

Tea and cakes and then off on the 16.30 Afternoon Game Drive with Grevin - huge number of animals: Springbok, Oryx, Waterbuck, Giraffe, Zebra, Kudu, Elephant, Steenbok & Black Rhino. Followed by a sun-downer!

06.30 - Game Drive (wrapped up well) - White Rhino, Lion and a brilliant close-up of the dexterity of elephants.

16.30 - another Afternoon Game Drive with a wealth of birds and other wildlife. Grevin did us proud!

Lovely food and personally looked after by Titus who was very attentive. Felt very special.." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

4 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mrs E & family
UK

"Better than Etosha National Park."

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2019
"The plaudit owes something to our guide who went by the wonderful and unlikely name 'Ethelbert Teek'. Teek, as he wanted to be known, took us on quite the most remarkable safari game drive of our entire trip around the private reserve that is 'Etosha Heights/Safarihoek'. This man is a Namibian Croccodile Dundee.

We were really hoping to see Elepants as we hadn't found any in Etosha. Teek tracked them by following dung and tree damage and surely enough we crept up upon a herd of 10 elephants including 2 calves feeding on acacia. The private reserve seemed to us to contain lots more wildlife than Etosha and we also had incredible close up encounters with Black Rhino (mum and baby) zebra, giraffe, moongoose, honey badgers, African Wildcat, you name it.

The lodge itself is quite modern and overlooks the vast reserve. We shared it with just a group of Italians. It deserves to do well and if wildliife is your thing, this is your place." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr GM
Porthcawl

"Safarihoek stay"

1 night Arrived 13 Jul 2019
"Something not right about this lodge but what? People were great especially Theresa, lots of rhino sightings, great view from the lodge, food good (apart from no veggie option, but even that was expected to a degree). Maybe it's because the lodge is very modern, chrome and glass. I just can't put my finger on the reasons." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

7 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Edinburgh

"Lots of animals at Safarihoek"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"Great location for animals, excellent guide on the game drive, good food and friendly service.

The lodge and chalets were more like an upmarket hotel and less like the safari camp style of the other lodges. We preferred the style of the other lodges since they seemed more in tune with their environment but that's just a personal view. Others may disagree." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 25
96%
25 reviews of Safarihoek Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (647 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (321 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (242 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (146 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (82 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (79 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (37 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa