This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge

Reviews of Safarihoek Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

29 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Safarihoek Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Safarihoek Lodge.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

8% success

Cheetah

7% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

96% success

Black Rhino

95% success

Wildebeest

90% success

Elephant

88% success

Eland

86% success

White Rhino

65% success

Sable antelope

53% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Pangolin

14% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 29
Duration
Arrival date
Alice
Dusseldorf

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2022
"It was the best safari experience of the trip. The park is private and during the safari it is possible to go anywhere in the park without restrictions.

Spotted great wildlife. The lodge itself is rather modern very different from the classics lodges. Our room was super with view to the Pond and shower outside. The common areas could be improved in terms of decorations.

Service is very good but I think there is room for improvement for the food." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr M & Mr D
Yorkshire

"Fabulous!"

3 nights Arrived 20 May 2022
"Everything about this place is stunning and, if you stayed long enough there would be no need to go elsewhere due to the number and variety of animals in the reserve (buffalo and hippo aside). We had incredible sightings, thanks in large part to Mike our guide who went to (literally) great lengths (distances) to ensure we saw an amazing array of wildlife. Nothing was too much trouble for him and we had great sightings of rhino (some dehorned), lion, hyena, eland, red hartebeast, zebra, giraffe, elephant, as well as the more commonly seen springbok, gemsbok, etc. We went to the photography hide twice, it was a wonderful space, though there was unfortunately little wildlife at the waterhole while we were there - the first day this was due to the windy conditions, the second it was due to the three lions that were coming for a drink! Had a wonderful time photographing them and Mike ensured that we got the best possible angles.

The drive to the lodge was interesting as you drive through (?alongside) several other private areas, at least one of which designated for hunting. As we drove along the road we saw giraffe, kudu and mongeese as well as the most beautiful cattle we have ever seen (seriously, they were gorgeous! - no idea what breed but, certainly, not one we had seen before). We were warmly greeted on arrival by the manager (TJ), Mike and others who, between them, efficiently checked us in, talked us through everything we needed to know and took our bags to our beautiful room. The main area has really good wifi, is spacious and airy with comfortable seating and is beautifully decorated - and absolutely spotlessly clean. There is always a member of staff on hand to help out or serve a drink and they could not have been more friendly.

As I said, our room was beautiful with a lovely view which included the waterhole (though that is a little distance away and binoculars would be helpful if you want to see the animals in better detail). All fittings and furnishings were of a very high standard. The bathroom was fantastic and included an outdoor shower.

The food was exceptional for every meal and all members of staff (chefs included) seemed genuinely concerned to ensure that you enjoyed the meal. In addition to the main meals, absolutely delicious snacks were laid out in great quantity every afternoon. Hot drinks were permanently available.

We will definitely return here and would recommend it to anyone." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

I and C
Worcester, UK

"Safarihoek, Etosha Heights"

3 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2022
"Whilst originally booked for Mountain Lodge, we were transferred to Safarihoek to consolidate bookings. Initially we were little wary of this prospect given some slightly lukewarm comments in respect of the decor and decoration at Safarihoek - however our stay was fantastic! Marvellous siting overlooking a vast plain with its own private waterhole, very comfortable, really good food and great staff. Our room was super comfortable with its own veranda with a slightly different view of the same water hole.

The area of the private reserve is vast with a common border with the Etosha National Park. The game fence is breached in several places and the there is free flow of animals in both directions. Our guide - Romon - was tremendously enthusiastic and knowledgable and went to amazing lengths to get us good sightings.

It is often said that March towards the end of the rainy season is not great for game - maybe its not so easy as the game disperses to use widely accessible seasonal water - but there is plenty to see and we were delighted." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2022
"This lodge was our first proper safari destination. Originally we had planned to go to the Ongava Reserve, but their camps were either fully booked or closed for renovation. Therefore, with the help of expertafrica we chose this one as an alternative. It is one of several private nature reserves adjacent to Etosha National Park, which we visited in 2016. That was our first game reserve on our first trip to Southern Africa, and we were enthusiastic about it at the time. However, in hindsight it was very much a mixed experience, largely due to the enormous number of self-driving tourists that, quite frequently, misbehaved at some of the waterholes.

This reserve, with a landscape that does not really resembles Etosha NP proper, was a pleasant surprise. Although the camp is easily accessible by self-drivers they do not drive through the reserve themselves but participate in the guided activities.

We came here for one major reason, namely that this park features white and black rhinos. And indeed, we saw both of these species several times, thanks largely to the perseverance of our guide Ramon. Besides seeing all the usual suspects, such as springbok, blue wildebeest, zebras and giraffes, we also had several nice encounters with a coalition of three male lions, and on our second day here, we had an experience that we never had before. On a drive to the western boundary of the reserve we encountered a pride of lions consisting of several adult females, 2 grown-up males, several subadults and 2 cubs, altogether there were like 8 or 9 lions. The males stayed pretty much in the background, but they roared ferociously. The animal closest to us was an adult female next to an adolescent male. Even we could sense that the female was not too happy to see us. She just stood there and gave us a scrutinizing look. After 3 or 4 minutes, she and then the whole rest of the pride decided to turn the tables and they started to chase us! Ramon, our guide, immediately started the engine and got us the hell out of there: First, he drove in reverse (luckily those Toyota Landcruisers appear to be much faster than regular sedans) and then did a 180 degree turn. We and the other two guests in the vehicle were quite eager to hear what he had to say about this.

Well, since he never saw this pride of lions before, he guessed that they probably just moved in from Etosha, and he assumed that they most likely had a bad experience with cars recently. To me that made sense, because according to him, there were rangers operating in the area to protect the resident rhino population. These rangers might not have shown the lions the proper respect, who knows. And now, this was their act of retribution, and Ramon was not convinced that this was just a mock charge. As scary as that might have been it did not prevent us from seeking out lions during the rest of our trip.

I would like to mention another commendable fact: Our guide Ramon consistently managed to position the vehicle in such a way that I could photograph the animals at eye level (rather than from above).

The rooms, the amenities, the service and the food in this camp were all very good if not excellent. But this is not our priority when traveling to Africa. We don’t come here for good food or luxury accommodation, but for encounters with animals and people." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

5 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs V.
Leiden

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2021
"Safarihoek Lodge was our hidden gem. Originally not part of our trip, it was kind of a last minute improvisation. Usually we're not too fond of big shiny lodges, but for Safarihoek we gladly make an exception. We stayed for just two nights, but from the moment we set foot there we knew that this simply wasn't enough. During our stay we were the only guests and the staff catered to our every need. Fine dining, good wine, brilliant views from the deck and a pool you could only tear yourself away from because the game drives were even nicer.

Mike our guide was without a doubt the highlight of Safarihoek. In all our previous trips across southern Africa we never met anyone like him. His enthusiasm was energizing, knowledge exceptional and his humour ever present. Because Etosha Heights is a private reserve, the possibilities for game drives are greater than in Etosha. I'd like to highlight two:

On the first one we came across two black rhinos in the distance. Mike however wanted us to experience the beautiful animals a little closer. Long story short; we ended up just a few metres from these usually shy and potentially agressive animals (a mother and a calf). Totally at ease they let themselves be observed for at least 15 minutes without ever being disturbed. It might have been something to do with Mike talking to just about every animal and showing them respect in his own unique way.

On the second one we spotted two large male lions and decided to stay with them for a couple of minutes. These lions started roaring, which in itself is pretty impressive, but even more so when a third one answered. These three lions teamed up, started walking and decided to take over the territory of a fourth one. We followed the three brothers for a long time (luckily we already had a night drive with Mike planned) and at one time we lost track of them. Eventually they appeared behind us unexpectedly, which was quite an adrenaline boost. It never came to a confrontation (they scared the one away) and the lions just kept walking and roaring, marking their new territory once in a while. Probably a once in a lifetime experience, even Mike hadn't witnessed this before. It was the longest and most exciting game drive we ever had.

Of course, our Safarihoek experience is coloured by these experiences and the fact that we were the only ones. Still; the staff, the park and the conservation philosophy behind it all are great assets and definitely make us want to go back." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr M.
Haifa

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2021
"A higher level lodge
Stunning rooms and luxurious lobby as well as the pool
Wonderful food and really really professional service
Beautiful view of a cistern (sic meaning waterhole) a bit far away but a lovely view
We went out for evening and morning activities with more professional guidance
We located black rhinos, lions, chitas (sic meaning cheetah) during action and much more
The order included epilene all inclusive of laundry we received with a good smell" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs P
New Jersey

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2021
"Staff were the highlight here. Guiding was by far the best we had in Namibia.

Very convenient location and great view from rooms overlooking watering hole. Good value property though the rooms and main lodge felt quite sterile.

Some outstanding Rhino viewing very close to the lodge.

Etosha heights is not the greatest landscape but allows for excellent game viewing." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Miss K & Mr G
London

"Amazing!!!!"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2020
"Lovely lodge. Very comfortable. Good showers. Excellent food. Great views overlooking the distant waterhole, with a steady stream of animals coming and going.

The photo hide is fabulous – loads of animals (including lions, elephants and sable antelope). Our guide, Michael, was amazing. He was incredibly knowledgeable, had amazing eyes, and was a fountain of interesting information. He was also very personable and it was a joy to be guided by him. He also knew exactly where to position the jeep to get the best light for photography.

Our sightings of elephants and black rhino here were simply incredible." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

5 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Sable antelope

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms S.
Surrey

"A Little Disapointed Until the Lion Sighting"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2019
"Overall had a good stay. Décor wasn't to my personal taste; it felt a bit unfinished and impersonal (lots of space with nothing in it). This was particularly the case in the room which felt a little like an oversized student accommodation / military camp room. However, the view from the room was incredible which made up for the poor inside.

The front gate didn't have our details so there were slight delays getting in when we first arrived. Check-in was quick but there was very little information provided. We were not provided with details of game drive so had to actively enquire about these. Dinner quality was ok but serving size was very small. Restaurant as so big there was no atmosphere.

All the negatives however, were compensated by the game drive. The guide was fantastic and spotted a black rhino and her baby. In the morning there were 4 lions viewed at the watering hole from our room. A little while later a male lion was spotted and a guide took guests on an impromptu drive to get a closer look, this was fantastic and much appreciated.

I think this is possibly usually a very good hotel and we just had a bad timing re: the service (which wasn't bad, just did not meet our expectations, lion drive aside)." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr CB & Dr MB
Tring

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"What a great place to stay. The view from our room was fantastic. A pity that we didn't have the opportunity to visit the water hole that we could see in the distance.

Our room was amazing and we felt very pampered here.

The game drive was fine when our private driver took us but the driver that was provided by the lodge was poor. He appeared to think that he was in a formula 1 race (we had 2 such drives with him). Quite honestly we felt unsafe and certainly uncomfortable with him. We know that other guests in the same vehicle felt the same." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 29
96%
29 reviews of Safarihoek Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (655 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (323 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (247 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (148 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (147 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (95 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (86 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (83 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (80 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (70 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

The most luxurious property on the reserve, Mushara Outpost is well-placed to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (56 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (38 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


90% (33 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


94% (7 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful and isolated private reserve, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


100% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa