This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge
Safarihoek Lodge

Reviews of Safarihoek Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Safarihoek Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Safarihoek Lodge.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

9% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

94% success

Black Rhino

93% success

Elephant

89% success

Wildebeest

87% success

Eland

81% success

White Rhino

57% success

Sable antelope

46% success

Spotted Hyena

25% success

Brown Hyena

15% success

Roan antelope

15% success

Pangolin

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
Dr A & Mrs E
Berks

"A 3 star stalinist lodge with pretensions"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"A grim building complex which is trying to do better. We were so glad we were not here for our wedding anniversary!

There was one good waiter, Lulu, the rest did not seem to have a clue.

Fantastic setting with glorious view.

Our game drive was excellent, as was our guide, Kristoff. In adidtion to sightings recorded later, we saw a black jackal, 3 groups of red hartebeest, a magnificent male kudu, and although we didn't see a leopard, we saw a recently killed springbock up a tree! Also lots of different birds." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

M B &C
S Cheshire

"Safarihoek was fabulous"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"Safarihoek was outstanding in our view not only because of the quality of the accommodation but also the assured and confident approach of the staff.

Our room was well equipped and maintained, a very comfortable haven at the end of the day with high quality soft furnishings and a fabulous view over the plains and waterhole which saw lots of animal activity. The reception / restaurant / bar / pool area was spacious airy and cool. We enjoyed excellent game drives in the private reserve with Graven our guide and were able to see rhinos as well less elusive animals and finish evening drives with a sundowner in the bush, something we had not experienced on previous trips. Engagement with staff at the resort was a highlight: service was efficient and friendly without being too formal or unprofessional. It seemed management had worked to create an environment where staff had respect for themselves and also for guests.

The pool was fun but in late September a little chilly. We didn't use the hide but other guests were very positive.

Access is a long gravel road from the main , tarred C38 to Etosha NP. The lodge describe it as a good road but it took some getting used to however we arrived and left without drama.

Overall, very comfortable, amazing wildlife and the best customer care we experienced on this trip (and others) - but that is not a criticism of the other lodges" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

5 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr M & Ms E
France

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"This lodge was definitely our favorite - it was the newest, most luxury, and the staff were so kind and friendly.

The facilities were incredibly beautiful and the surrounding landscape was stunning. We also loved the night ride we went on with Mike (the guide) who was so knowledgeable and really went off road for us to see all of the animals - rhinos, giraffes, zebras, and elephants.

The last night we were there, the Safarihoek staff prepared us a special private room for us to enjoy our dinner, which was so thoughtful of them." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mrs J
Somerset

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"Safarihoek Lodge was another highlight. Our excellent guide was Michael who has an interesting life story. The lodge itself is situated in a fantastic elevated position overlooking the plain below which stretches to the horizon. There is a waterhole below the camp (best viewed through binoculars or a scope) which attracts a variety of animals including elephants and giraffe. There is a very superior viewing hide right next to the hole with a photography 'room' at ground level and a viewing platform above.

The lodge is very modern with lovely well-appointed rooms and communal areas. If I am completely honest, the dining area is a bit soulless but this shouldn't detract from the overall experience.

The guiding by Michael was excellent and brought us into contact with more animals than any other lodge. Black rhino was a particular highlight. We experienced 8 sightings (some were repeats), an uncomfortable stand off between two mature males which had been fighting and a more peaceful family group comprising a cow and two offspring of different ages.

Another highlight was lunch near a waterhole which was visited by a boisterous group of bachelor elephants." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr G
Somerset

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"A modern and comfortable lodge/hotel
stunning views over vast area of bush/savana
Michael our guide was excellent, very cheery and good wildlife/birdlife astronomy skills
The dining area was somewhat soulless but we were so knackered each night we simply eat then went to bed!
Probably the best wildlife experiences of our visit to Namibia - Fantastic sundowners fantastic rhinos, elephants, and birds galore!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"Five stars"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"This was very well worth the detour. A new lodge on the escarpment overlooking the Etosha plain. The buildings were beautiful and to a very high standard, with spacious bedrooms with very comfortable beds and a view to the waterhole.

The purpose-built hide by the waterhole (complete with toilets and day-beds!) gave great viewing in a cool and shaded position. The game drives over the vast reserve with Teek found many animals and birds, and we also learned a lot about the geology and history of the area.

As this lodge is new to Expert Africa, we would highly recommend it." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs F
California

"Beautiful"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs T
Reading

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2018
"Again utterly fabulous. Everyone was delightful and the rooms heavenly, food super.

The one comment I would make in terms of planning a trip was that for us it was more of the same in terms of getting in truck and going out looking for and seeing zebra, elephant, giraffe etc which sounds a trifle complacent.
However in hindsight I would have not bothered staying here and had 3 nights at Okonjima instead which offered the cats at close range which is totally unique and we didn't have nearly enough time to do properly." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Winchester

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2018
"Extremely luxurious – especially when contrasted with Etendeka.
Superb accommodation – two showers – large bed
Nice to dine in comfort in the evening on the external terrace, overlooking floodlit waterhole
Good excursions, Michael a good guide – saw early morning lions and our first rhinos in the wild.
Very friendly and helpful staff – nothing too much trouble.
Great to have wood fire cooked breakfast out in the bush.
Large game reserve and saw many large herds of antelopes, plus lots of other fauna.
Probably "The Tops” of all our accommodation" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

The Rolling Crones
UK

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2018
"Once again, we were the only people there,so benefitted from special service. Being nearly new the main house and chalets were excellent. However there does seem to be a problem with a lack of hot water to the rooms. It was never possible to have anything but a cool shower. When mentioned to the staff, they just said that they rely on solar heating for the water. Other lodges do the same and we didn't have trouble anywhere else. They need to sort that out.

Apart from that it was really good. The drives with the guide were excellent and the guide was determined to find us a rhino, which eventually he did,and then we had the bonus of finding a magnificent male lion." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 22
95%
22 reviews of Safarihoek Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (641 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (320 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (238 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa