This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by H family from Seven Oaks

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

8

My Jul 2018 trip

Rwanda between 19 Jul 2018 and 29 Jul 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Exceeded expectations.

Fascinating country and whist it sounds a little misplaced to say it the opportunity to confront the Genocide added a thought provoking additional dimension to a brilliant wildlife experience. Compared to our other Africa experiences the two stand out features were the opportunity to be more active (moving about on foot etc.) and the feeling of safety and a warm welcome from a people who still have next to nothing in spite of the relative success of rebuilding the country.

All of our accommodations were up to standard even if they are way below the better lodges in other parts of Africa in terms of pure lodge experience.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

At the planning stage perhaps make suggestions for alternatives and give advice to make choices.

For example, in Nyungwe it would have been good to have been offered tjhe forest treks and also a visit to the tea plantation (our guide tried to get us in but it was closed on a Sunday). As related in this form, our guide was quite resourceful in adapting our itinerary when the first day's sites were unavailable and in fact we are glad to have seen a couple of the alternatives that we may have missed otherwise. These could have been suggested in planning maybe.

These remarks really are intended as pointers to improve what is already an outstanding service that we have now used three times (Namibia, Tanzania and Rwanda) and will use again."

Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Stop over at Mille Collines"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2018
"Pleasant and functional.

Comfortable night after a long flight."
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Service
Good
Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel

Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel

"Excellent first stop in Rwanda"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2018
"Very comfortable and no real complaints although the hotel is not particularly characterful.

The food was actually pretty good but it was disappointing that the buffet style was let down by the warming devices which were just not good enough leaving the food tepid."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
City & Genocide Memorial Tour

City & Genocide Memorial Tour

"Not to be mssed"

20 Jul 2018 • All-day excursion

The Genocide Memorial was unexpectedly closed on our fist morning in Kigali and our guide rescheduled the visit for the last day at our request. For anyone with the slightest interest this Memorial is an absolute must see during any trip to Rwanda.

We wanted to go at the start of our trip to be better informed for the rest of the trip but as the guide compensated this hiccup in the schedule by taking us to the Murambi Technical School site as well as the on Day 1 and then the Bisesero site later on things worked out perfectly.

The Memorial is very moving and the material is thoughtfully presented in my opinion although it would be presumptuous to make a judgment about such a catastrophic event about which my knowledge is limited.
Excellent
Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest

Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

21 Jul 2018 • All-day excursion

The Trek was well organised and we have no complaints at all in that respect.

The Chimps stayed relatively distant and high up in the trees which made the experience slightly disappointing when compared with the other primate experiences later in our trip.
Canopy Walk in Nyungwe Forest

Canopy Walk in Nyungwe Forest

"Fun and worth doing"

21 Jul 2018 • All-day excursion

Filled up the day nicely after the Chimp trek.

That said, for visitors who are genuinely active the various longer forest treks (which we did not have time to do) might be better options.

I understand there is a waterfall trek which is quite a classic.
Good
Cormoran Lodge

Cormoran Lodge

"Cormoran Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2018
"Exceeded expectations.

Idyllic location with a reasonable range of activities including the Bisesero Genocide site which we visited from here (there are other closer sites in Kibuye too).

We had planned a full day Kayak trip which turned out to be disappointing but our guide sorted out a boat trip to the island we had been aiming for with the kayaks which made up for it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Colobus Trekking in Nyungwe

Colobus Trekking in Nyungwe

"Excellent complementary actiivity"

22 Jul 2018 • All-day excursion

The Colobus Monkeys were easy to reach and this short activity was much appreciated.
Excellent
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Functional and comfortable stay"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2018
"Perfectly acceptable lodge but a little anonymous and tired looking.

The activities more than made up for the lack of a "lodge experience"."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Canoeing in Rwanda

Canoeing in Rwanda

"Enjoyable afternoon in a canoe"

25 Jul 2018 • All-day excursion

Very sedate actiivity and a pleasant outing.

The grade 1 rapids were easily manageable by non experienced canoers.

The guide was interesting and fun although he never sent us the photos he took as requested (we left our email address).
Good
Mount Bisoke Trek

Mount Bisoke Trek

"Tough and stimulating day trek"

26 Jul 2018 • All-day excursion

This was a great day if you like a stiff trek.

The experience was a little bit marred by the overcast weather and the views from the summit were compromised as a result but that is no one's fault.

The guide was disciplined and competent for what was a big and diverse group.
Excellent
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Once in a life time wildlife exeprience"

27 Jul 2018 • Morning excursion

There is quite a lot of hanging around in the morning before you leave the Park Centre but this was not a big issue.

Our group walked about 2.5 hours to find the PAblo family group and this forest experience was interesting in itself.

The experience with the Gorillas cannot easily be described and photos do not do it justice either. You have to go !
Excellent
Golden Monkey Trekking

Golden Monkey Trekking

"Excellent experience"

28 Jul 2018 • Morning excursion

It would be a real shame not to do this as well as the Gorilla Trek.

The monkeys are more easily accessible and interesting to observe. We almost cancelled this trek in order to save time for Kigali on our last day but we are very glad we did not miss it (and we did all we wanted later on anyway).
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team