This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoanib Valley Camp
Hoanib Valley Camp
Hoanib Valley Camp
Hoanib Valley Camp
Hoanib Valley Camp
Hoanib Valley Camp
Hoanib Valley Camp
Hoanib Valley Camp

Reviews of Hoanib Valley Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

11 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoanib Valley Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoanib Valley Camp.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Elephant

67% success

Zebra

50% success

Black Rhino

25% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Meerkat

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 11
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Bromley

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2022
"Flying in and out of Hoanib Valley was an excursion in itself.

The scenery is impossible to capture in any photo. A long drive from the airstrip to the camp but worth it once you are there.

The staff are so welcoming with their drinks and singing. always offering drinks / snacks.

Rooms are amazing given the location, it was a really special stay, again withy knowledgeable guides." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
London

"Hoanib Valley Camp "

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2022
"We drove from Camp Kipwe to the pick up point at Sesfontein seeing a herd of around 13 elephants including 3 tiny babies roadside, 4 giraffes roadside, springbok, ostrich and monkeys en route. We were met by our guide Joanas who drove us in a closed vehicle about 1 3/4 hours to the camp. We were greeted by all the such friendly staff singing to us which was lovely and something they continued to do throughout our stay. Our tent was lovely and had everything we needed.

The following day we had an early morning game drive (was in a closed vehicle with drop down windows and pop up roof) in search of what we were hoping a dessert adapted lion. Unfortunately no lions and to be honest not many animals at all. We saw 1 bull elephant, several giraffes, few Oryx, Steenbok & lots of Springbok.

In the afternoon we went on a trip with our guide to visit a nearby Himba Tribe Village. This was fabulous and certainly made up for the disappointment of seeing such few animals earlier. The tribe was lovely and welcomed us to view their huts. We also had great fun playing with their children. It was a very nice experience and would certainly recommend.

The following morning Joanas drove us back to Sesfontein to pick up our car. We assumed this would be in the same closed vehicle we had experienced throughout our stay. It was actually in an open vehicle where we were blown to pieces and very cold on a very fast bumpy 1 3/4 hour drive. My quibble with this is why on earth take us on a game drive in a closed vehicle with limited visibility and then use an open one for the transfer??

Apart from our disappointment with the lack of animals it was still an incredible experience to stay here." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mrs C
Barbados

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2022
"Hoanib valley is a wonderful camp with some fabulous facilities and staff. It is only six tents but they are all very large and luxurious, with hot water and all the mod cons (except hairdryer and kettle) Morning tea is delivered at the required time no matter how early.

The food is exceptional and all my dietary needs were met and exceeded (daily gluten free bread)

The camp is tucked in the mountain so has it’s only little warm micro climate which means it is much warmer than many other camps visited - there is a swimming pool with a fabulous breeze during the day which is a great place to just hang out between morning and evening activities.

Picnic lunch and BBQ by the fire were all added touches that are what makes this camp special and worth the visit.

We came here to see desert-adapted animals and we’re lucky the herd of ten were around for two days - however this is often not the case as they move between Hoanib and skeleton coast - also Note that this camp only has the concession rights for river bed (not skeleton coast) so a two night stay is recommended.

Our guide Raymon was a great ambassador for lodge and also Namibian conservation- wow what an amazingly charming and interesting man." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
P and V
UK

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2022
"This was our favourite lodge of the many high end ones visited on our trip. A stunning location, an enthusiastic and very personable young guide (Ramon), great staff managed by the effervescent Petronella all added to some great experiences on our drive (many elephants) and walks. If just a bit of what we liked can be attributed to the joint venture structure with the local community then this is a formula to be applauded and encouraged." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs ACB
Chicago

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2022
"Great location! The canyon when you drive down to the camp is amazing.

The staff was great, super welcoming, and enthusiastic - they worked well as a team. They went out of their way to make sure everyone is comfortable.

Tents are very close to each other - so you can hear conversations from the tent next door, I would have wished for more distance.

Decor okay - visited the Wilderness Hoanib Camp and that was definitely a notch up." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2022
"This camp did not so much impress with its wildlife: We only had a few encounters with giraffes, one oryx sighting and one zebra sighting. Our guide Mamsy told us that a short time ago they had five black rhinos in the area, and while one died of old age, three others were poached during Covid-19, so they have one black rhino left. Very sad. Other than that, there was no sign of either desert-adapted elephants or lions, although we saw tracks of them both.

We still don’t regret coming here, because the area was all the more astounding for its otherworldly landscapes. More than once we felt like being on a different planet. Mamsy was exceptionally knowledgeable and she made sure a visit to a Himba village nearby was one of the highlights of the entire trip.

The camp was, as expected, very luxurious and provided very nice views of the Hoanib valley. On our first morning we drove to the river, and its waters were raging. In the evening of the same day, the water was nearly gone." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs P
New Jersey

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2021
"Absolutely spectacular setting - this camp is very unique.

Staff were outstanding. Food was good, not great.

Rooms closer together than expected - recommend requesting a room far away from the generator and mess tent.

This is a really special place." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms M
USA

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2020
"The best camp of the trip! Excellent in every way. The best staff on the trip too." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2020
"Just amazing!

The Hoanib valley is clearly one of the best kept secrets in Namibia. Worth spending three nights !

Also possible to drive to the Camp with your own 4x4 vehicle and being escorted over to their sister camp Shipwreck Lodge at the Skeleton Coast." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

6 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs F.
Paris

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 May 2019
"the guide was perfect ...we asked for seeing animals and he found all of them !!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 11
96%
11 reviews of Hoanib Valley Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (61 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


99% (38 reviews)
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (36 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


97% (35 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


99% (29 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


96% (9 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


87% (3 reviews)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa