This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoanib Valley Camp
Hoanib Valley Camp
Hoanib Valley Camp
Hoanib Valley Camp
Hoanib Valley Camp
Hoanib Valley Camp
Hoanib Valley Camp
Hoanib Valley Camp

Reviews of Hoanib Valley Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoanib Valley Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoanib Valley Camp.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

67% success

Elephant

50% success

Black Rhino

33% success

Brown Hyena

17% success

Meerkat

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs ACB
Chicago

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2022
"Great location! The canyon when you drive down to the camp is amazing.

The staff was great, super welcoming, and enthusiastic - they worked well as a team. They went out of their way to make sure everyone is comfortable.

Tents are very close to each other - so you can hear conversations from the tent next door, I would have wished for more distance.

Decor okay - visited the Wilderness Hoanib Camp and that was definitely a notch up." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2022
"This camp did not so much impress with its wildlife: We only had a few encounters with giraffes, one oryx sighting and one zebra sighting. Our guide Mamsy told us that a short time ago they had five black rhinos in the area, and while one died of old age, three others were poached during Covid-19, so they have one black rhino left. Very sad. Other than that, there was no sign of either desert-adapted elephants or lions, although we saw tracks of them both.

We still don’t regret coming here, because the area was all the more astounding for its otherworldly landscapes. More than once we felt like being on a different planet. Mamsy was exceptionally knowledgeable and she made sure a visit to a Himba village nearby was one of the highlights of the entire trip.

The camp was, as expected, very luxurious and provided very nice views of the Hoanib valley. On our first morning we drove to the river, and its waters were raging. In the evening of the same day, the water was nearly gone." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs P
New Jersey

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2021
"Absolutely spectacular setting - this camp is very unique.

Staff were outstanding. Food was good, not great.

Rooms closer together than expected - recommend requesting a room far away from the generator and mess tent.

This is a really special place." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms M
USA

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2020
"The best camp of the trip! Excellent in every way. The best staff on the trip too." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2020
"Just amazing!

The Hoanib valley is clearly one of the best kept secrets in Namibia. Worth spending three nights !

Also possible to drive to the Camp with your own 4x4 vehicle and being escorted over to their sister camp Shipwreck Lodge at the Skeleton Coast." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

6 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs F.
Paris

"Hoanib Valley Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 May 2019
"the guide was perfect ...we asked for seeing animals and he found all of them !!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr N.
London

"Hoanib Valley"

3 nights Arrived 19 May 2019
"Our favourite lodge - tent are fantastic / staff were amazing / setting magical

My biggest complaint was the 2 hour drive from the airstrip. I was not aware that the drive was so long - it may have been mentioned, but it really needs to be made 100% clear that the airstrip os 60km bad road (almost not a road in parts!)

Also you should have made clear to me that the drive from HVC to Shipwreck takes the same time and the flight do the the 2 hour transfers each end. Please make sure any future clients are told that the drive from HVC to SL is one of the most amazing drives you can ever do. We learned tis from other guests and felt that we had seriously missed out. The flight is only 25 mins but you spend 4 hours transferring to and from airstrips each end. Although I was offered the drive option by Sabina - it was not made clear to me that we were only saving about 1 hour in the car by flying." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

8 sightings

Showing 1-7 of 7
97%
7 reviews of Hoanib Valley Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (59 reviews)
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (35 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


99% (35 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


96% (30 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


98% (26 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


97% (6 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


87% (3 reviews)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa