This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Terrace Bay
Terrace Bay
Terrace Bay
Terrace Bay

Reviews of Terrace Bay

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Terrace Bay and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Terrace Bay.
Brown Hyena

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
Dr L & Family
Denmark

"Location, location, location"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2019
"When we finally reached Terrace Bay Restcamp it was like arriving at another planet. Everything seemed abandoned. The main reception was closed and we couldn't find any people or staff. At least, there were signs of civilization. As we were driving around for a while in this dark and deserted lunar base, we saw light in the distance. We found a way to the light. It turned out to be the restaurant (basic cafeteria), where we were greeted by friendly staff. No one had missed us. We got our huge Beach Chatlet with five bedrooms, three bathrooms, large living room and kitchen. Completely surreal. Everything was simple but functional and clean. You sense it was originally built for the mine staff until the government took over in the 1970s. We slept exceptionally well that night. The roaring sea and the wind did not keep us awake.

This is a excellent place because of the extraordinary location and the friendly staff, not because of the facilities (then you will be dissapointed)" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr D.
Southampton

"Terrace Bay review"

1 night Arrived 28 May 2019
"The accommodation was better than expected. It was very quiet with only a couple of other guests." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
The Rolling Crones
UK

"Terrace Bay review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jan 2018
"For such a out of the way location, Terrace Bay was amazing. The location on the skeleton coast made us realise how remote and inhospitable that part of the country is. In spite of that, we received a warm welcome and the food was excellent, particularly bearing in mind the logistics involved. So pleased we included it in our trip" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
W Lothian

"Terrace bay 10 out of 10"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"This place is BASIC, but we were warned that it would be so No problems.

Staff had a sense of humour, which one needs if one is to live permanently in TB.

It was exactly as we expected. Therefore have to say 10/10." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
raedrian
Canada

"The end of the road at Terrace Bay."

1 night Arrived 12 Apr 2017
"After a long drive, we arrived and had a flat tire as we drove in. The staff immediately changed the tire for the spare and patched up the flat tire. However, the damage was severe and we didn't trust the tire as we would be going into Damaraland on more gravel roads. However Richard arranged for us to see a man named Diamond in Damaraland and miraculously, he had the exact same tire, size and brand, in his shack and mounted it on the rim in place of the damaged tire...we were very relieved.

The facilities are basic but clean, they are oriented to fishermen going after the plentiful fish in the bay.

The rooms were a good size and had a nice view of the Atlantic. It is the only place to stay and one must keep in mind that caters to a different clientele than other resorts. The food was basic but very good with an excellent breakfast." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr H
Michigan

"very dated"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"We knew we were going way out to go here. I'd skip it in retrospect. Very dated and nothing to see here" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms Q & Mr B
USA

"intersting but is it worth the drive?"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"It is debatable if being in such an isolated location is worth the hours of driving. There are interesting aspects form a geological and wildlife point of view but the lodge itself fails completely.

The rooms are left over lodging form decades ago mining operation and they are in desparate need of an update. They are noisy, drafty and very poor standard beds and shower facilities. the main staff is not all that friendly but the dining room staff is very good. The rooms are not all that clean so it does not appear to be very well run. t

This was definitely the worst facilities we experienced in our month in Namibia." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Cambs.

"Basic accomodation in remote location"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2016
"You go to Terrace Bay to experience the remoteness and desolation of the Skeleton Coast and in that respect we weren't disappointed.

The accommodation was right by the beach but it was dated and basic and the wash basin leaked. The food in the restaurant was surprisingly good given the remoteness of the location." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mrs V
UK

"Terrace Bay. You've got to go!"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2015
"Surprisingly the food was superb. The chef was a wonder.

Staff are all trying their utmost in the most out of the way location imaginable.

We loved it - for one night!" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Atmospheric resort at the end of the road."

1 night Arrived 8 May 2015
"Great location at the end of a long day's drive from Swakopmund.

The drive through the Skeleton Coast was fantastic and the road excellent. The different colours of rocks and sand were unlike anything we'd experienced before - an unforgettable journey a real feeling of isolation, although we passed the occasional vehicle which gave some reassurance that we were not completely alone.

The resort is comfortable and clean. Not plush but everything works with good food and wine. The staff are friendly and efficient.

Great views of the sea." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 35
78%
35 reviews of Terrace Bay by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
17
6
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (56 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


99% (33 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


96% (29 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


98% (26 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


100% (3 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


100% (2 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


100% (2 reviews)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa