This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M from W Lothian

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

24

Excursions taken

0

Namibia 2017 Visit by McNaught

Namibia between 23 Sep 2017 and 2 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"As ever Sabina prepared everything in detail.

I had wanted to drive the Skeleton coast, which we achieved. I must say the experience is not one I would really want to repeat, but I'm glad I did it just to discover what real desolation looks like.

People every where so friendly. Swakopmund is an interesting spot, but damned cold when we were there in Sept.

I preferred our trips to the Etosha, and the Fish river, but one can't fairly compare with this trip. Experiences were totally different"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

"Immanuel Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"Yup , it was OK but there was a bit of a stooshie with the locals at about three in the morning, which was a bit disturbing.

Otherwise fine."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"This is a big modern hotel, which was everything I would expect from such a place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Terrace bay 10 out of 10"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"This place is BASIC, but we were warned that it would be so No problems.

Staff had a sense of humour, which one needs if one is to live permanently in TB.

It was exactly as we expected. Therefore have to say 10/10."
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Service
Good
Facilities
Poor
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2017
"Loved it just lovely people. Go again tomorrow.

What a lovely bush braai we had."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

"Vinger klip Ugh"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"I have given you a blow by blow account of this place.

Filthy dirty, disinterested staff, insecure rooms. facilities in the rooms did not work.

Poor water supply, no plugs in the basins, fan did not work. Dining room disgusting. table mats had last week's inground food in them, table cloth stained and smelly.

NEVER AGAIN !!!!!! food was nothing to write home about. UGH !!!!!"
Terrible
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Terrible
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Poor
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

"sptzkoppen"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2017
"A very interesting place to visit. Quite extraordinary arrangement.

I enjoyed it very much, and a good place to be for the penultimate day, only 3 hours from Windhoek."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
River Crossing

River Crossing

"river crossing"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2017
"Perfectly satisfactory.

At last met up with Sabina and her husband Nessa. A delightful couple."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

My Sep 2014 trip

Namibia between 15 Sep 2014 and 6 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Good trip.

Everyone to whom I spoke thinks Expert Africa does a great job Tom at Hoodia and Frau Hoffman were particularly effusive. Well done you lot, paricularly Sabina. Ask Chris for a pay rise !!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Chris's book is excellent. No suggestions."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"Such a peaceful place. Run by a lovely lady called Bettina. Just an hour from the airport.

Could not be more convenient and just the right distance to acclimatise to the Nam roads, which are actually very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2014
"Run by Ernst Sauber. Not sure that he is enamoured of the Brits, but he was very pleasant and talked knowledgeably about the trials of farming.

His staff, particularly the equine support staff, were pretty hopeless, and too young to handle what was being asked of them. Not sure I liked the communal dining. Lots of German speakers who preferred not to speak English, however I speak German , but my wife does not.

Great trip through the Gorge."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2014
"Thomas and Henrietta run this extraordinary place. Can't do enough for one. What a nice couple 9 out of 10. (nothing is perfect!!)

The sunset Honeymoon (???) sundowners was fun. The sand dune trip , coffee break, and lunch in the sticks was just such fun. Well done Tom et al."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Sinclair Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2014
"Run by Frau Hoffman, who is a very nice lady of mature years. Great cook, and very interesting to talk to.

Just one night there but I remember it well because of the interesting conversations with Frau Hoffman.

No pool, which was disappointing. I wouldn't stay here other than as an overnight staging post. Perfectly adequate. There is a sadness about the place, a fading aura of what was once a thriving farm. I do hope things turn out well for Frau Hoffman and her husband."
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Service
Good
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"OK but not wild about the place. surrounding desert is quite interesting, and this is a useful jumping off place for visiting Luderitz. No pool yet, but they are building one and are in the process of a major upgrade..

I found the commonwealth war graves interesting , and the nearby POW camp. I was not particularly sad to leave here . 6 out of ten"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"what a place !!!!!!!!!!! words fail me, you MUST do this. The trip to to the canyon floor, and swimming in the pools. What is the point of going all the way to this place and not visiting the canyon floor. This is NOT a one night stay place.

Owned by Rockerfeller, I understand. Airstrip available if you want to fly in. The Toyota Landcruiser trip to the canyon floor is one hell of an experience. Must be done. Nine and a half out of ten. (Nothing is perfect)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"Butlins in the Bush. Avoid if possible. Ugh Never again, unless as a punishment posting.

Staff there could not give a tuppeny damn about guests. Only reason we stayed there was to cut driving time to the airport. Should have driven on."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2014
"I've done this one

[ Ed: See this traveller's comments on their stay below - when they stayed here at the start of their trip. ]"
Excellent
Image alt

own arrangements in CPT

"own arrangements in CPT review"

7 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2014
"Stayed with relatives in CT"
Excellent

My Sep 2012 trip

Namibia between 17 Sep 2012 and 18 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Well done expert Africa. You made life very easy.

So much to tell, not enough room."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2012
"Good. comfortable clean good pool. Very friendly."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2012
"Fascinating, clean, comfortable,friendly, loved the singing. Excellent guide. Otti."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2012
"What a privilege to stay here. Lion Ele etc what a place. Very professional staff, however the surrounding water holes were a bit sparse. Loved it though, and had close encounters with Lion!!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2012
"The only reason to visit this Butlins of the bush, is to see the waterhole"
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2012
"Very relaxing. Annoying that they don't sell cigarettes !!!!! very comfortable, jolly nice staff"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2012
"This was all and more than I expected. VERY experienced and knowledgable guides. Leopard,and Cheetah all over the place. We were lucky, but this was almost the highlight of a fascinating trip"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2012
"Average B&B nothing special. Disappointed that there was no Bacon for breakfast on two consecutive days."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Image alt

under own arrangements

"under own arrangements review"

17 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2012
"OK NTR"
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team