This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Elegant Farmstead
Elegant Farmstead
Elegant Farmstead
Elegant Farmstead
Elegant Farmstead

Reviews of Elegant Farmstead

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Elegant Farmstead and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Elegant Farmstead.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
CT USA

"A nice place near the airport"

1 night Arrived 5 Apr 2019
"Our visit to Elegant Farmstead was as a final "shipping off" point, so we were only here for a minimal time. The room was adequate. The staff was friendly and the grounds were lovely. We did take a dip in the pool. There was wifi in the main area but it was a fairly weak signal." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms H
Canada

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2018
"No porter service.

Staff not particularly well-trained, though generally friendly. " See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs F.
Aylesbury

"Good stop-off before Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2018
"A slightly disjointed lay-out and poor wifi.

Service also slightly erratic but done with smiles.

Lacked staff training." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
J and M
Ightham

"Good stopover place"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"Rooms were simple and food was nice. A good start, although it seemed a long drive from the airport on pretty uneven roads. " See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs J
Scotland

"Relaxing, great place near Windhoek"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2016
"A great place to stay an easy drive from Windhoek. Lovely gardens and lots of places to sit and relax. Friendly service. From our point of view, a much better place than the city to finish our trip. Lots of nice treats such as home-made cake with afternoon tea, hot water bottles, and a chocolate on the pillow. A larger swimming pool than most places.

There are some good well-marked self-guided walking trails, though there seemed to be an expectation that guests would only follow the shortest trail. A better map or leaflet showing the trails and indicating the length of the different routes would be very helpful. We saw quite a lot of wildlife along the trails - kudu, ostrich, warthogs, blesbok, baboons etc." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms FJ
SW London

"Great place to stay"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2015
"We only stayed one night but would have preferred to have two nights here to take advantage of relaxing in this lovely place. Self-guided walks, swimming pool etc. Perfect service.

The manager went out of her way to help me check in at the airport by lending me her laptop. Great service." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs S
NOT.

"Great walking"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2014
"WE enjoyed it here very much some good walking and birding food very good made to feel very welcome" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms W & Mr C
Dorset

"Great stopover on way to Etosha"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"Pleasant facility with helpful staff. Some very tasteful decoration and touches. Food was really good and excellent choice of wine.

We did the walking trail which was a good way of stretching our legs after the long flight. The sundowner was worthwhile with a good location to see our first sunset of our trip.

Afternoon tea and cake a nice touch." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr J & Ms G
UK

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2014
"A wonderful introduction to Namibian accommodation - and we were sorry to have spent such a short time there.

Lovely gardens, a great restaurant, friendly and welcoming staff." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Mrs E
Bucks

"Elegant Farmstead"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2014
"An excellent stopover on the way back to Windhoek.

Our room was decorated in honour of our 35th wedding anniversary and we had a private dinner in the wine cellar! A delightful surprise." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 37
90%
37 reviews of Elegant Farmstead by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
9
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa