This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Elegant Farmstead
Elegant Farmstead
Elegant Farmstead
Elegant Farmstead
Elegant Farmstead

Reviews of Elegant Farmstead

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Elegant Farmstead and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Elegant Farmstead.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
The CWs
UK

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 13 Apr 2014
"The wonderful scenic detour along the D2102 was worthwhile as the welcome we received could not have been more so!

The triple room was large, well equipped and clean. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious, well presented and served with a smile. Our packed lunch, which we ordered at relatively short notice, was excellent value and again beautifully presented. It was useful to have internet and mobile phone reception as we needed to sort out the problem with the hire car company.

To sum up, we were most impressed with this first overnight stop in this idyllic setting." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Kathryn
UK

"Elegant Elegant Farmstead"

1 night Arrived 4 Feb 2014
"Elegant Farmstead was a lovely place to stay and the service was excellent.

However, I question the need to drive so far off the road to stay at a place just for one night on our way to Mundulea. Is there not a more convenient place that we could have stayed for this stopover?" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Glasgow

"Lovely last night at Elegant Farmstead"

1 night Arrived 20 Jan 2014
"Very friendly staff and because it was quiet they had plenty of time to speak with us. Cooking was lovely.

Room spacious and comfortable. Charming place." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & family
UK

"Friendly"

1 night Arrived 2 Nov 2013
"A little disappointing for our last night in Namibia . Accommodation not as good standard felt our rooms and general decor throughout needed updating . However staff were pleasant friendly and helpful it made up for the accommodation , food was also of good standard and getting to the airport the following morning was easy .

Small gestures from the staff , such as childrens stories were appreciated ." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms V family trip
UK

"Disappointing stay at Elegant Farmstead"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2013
"An inconvenient place to get to - 27km down a dirt road, and disappointing when we arrived. Unattractive decor and we weren't charmed by the staff. We also couldn't eat the food, which was not nice. Breakfast wasn't good either.

The most disappointing place we stayed - although it made it easier for us to leave Namibia, as otherwise we wouldn't have wanted to depart!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Family Adventure
UK

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2013
"Just what we needed, and the road was better than the guidebook suggested as there have been works done to it and they are currently building a series of bridges to keep it open in the wet." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Cheltenham

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2013
"Elegant Guest House Windhoek

Rooms a bit on small side but very good for a one night stay.

We asked about car washing and the guys wanted 200N$! When we declined they weren't too helpful with luggage !" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"An elegant disappointment!"

2 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2013
"This stay was the one big disappointment of our holiday. Our room, whilst adequate in size, looked somewhat tired, and frankly not very clean, and this was reflected in other parts of the property and grounds. The sunbeds by the pool rested on dirt/mud rather than grass etc, and the grounds looked more like an ex- farmyard rather than the gardens of a fairly large guesthouse.

The restaurant was crowded for the one sitting evening meal, and the food, whilst adequate was nowhere near the standard that we had come to love in Namibia.

Halfway through the evening meal a large electrical storm knocked out the mains electricity. Whilst the staff reacted promptly with candles and struck up the generator, it was announced that the latter was too noisy to operate all night and that it would be switched off in half an hour's time (9.00pm!). This lead to a very uncomfortable night as it was extremely hot and humid and one of the features that had attracted us to the place was the provision of air conditioning. The generator was not restarted until 7.00am. A long night!

Whilst we obviously do not criticise the staff for the electricity failure, we do think that accommodation of this size (and cost) should have the facility to cope with such an occurrence, which according to the relief manager was not a rare event, with outages lasting for many hours or days. As on this occasion there was no indication as to when power would be restored, we decided not to spoil our trip by risking the prospect of another miserable night and checked out and went on to spend our final night in Windhoek.

Two positive points. Once we had decided to check out a day early, the staff were very helpful in telephoning etc to assist us to arrange accommodation in Windhoek. The terrible road (26km of it) that you warn of to get to the property, is undergoing major reconstruction and should eventually be much better." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Mr W & Mrs L
Belgium

"Ideal for last or first night"

1 night Arrived 2 Jan 2013
"We stayed here 1 night coming from etosha and going to Windhoek airport the next morning
Nice pool, relaxing" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr R
Chicago, USA

"Tranquil and Romantic"

1 night Arrived 22 Dec 2012
"The only thing that I was not happy about Elegant Farmstead was that we were only there for one night.

The lodge is close enough to Windhoek, yet secluded enough to have a quiet and relaxing time. The main building of the lodge is elegantly decorated and welcoming. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. The wine cellar has a very good selection of wines. The food was excellent!

I wish we could have enjoyed another day or two at the Elegant Farmstead." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 37
90%
37 reviews of Elegant Farmstead by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
9
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (72 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (25 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (13 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa