This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Kathryn from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Namibia in the rainy season

Namibia between 31 Jan 2014 and 22 Feb 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Namibia - what an amazing country and what friendly people we met almost everywhere."

Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Elegant Elegant Farmstead"

1 night Arrived 4 Feb 2014
"Elegant Farmstead was a lovely place to stay and the service was excellent.

However, I question the need to drive so far off the road to stay at a place just for one night on our way to Mundulea. Is there not a more convenient place that we could have stayed for this stopover?"
Excellent
Location
Poor
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Marvellous Mundulea"

3 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2014
"This was a very special place: a bush camp, not luxurious (it doesn't set out to be luxurious) but comfortable.

Bruno is an outstanding guide and what he is doing on the reserve is fascinating. It was lovely eating food cooked by Tommy over an open fire."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Exciting Etendeka"

2 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2014
"The walk and the rides with Boni were absolutely wonderful: he knows about all manner of things. In the evening Dennis joined us for meals and we were able to look at the stars through his telescope.

A wild and beautiful camp - loved the bucket shower!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Excellent Erongo"

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2014
"We loved Erongo and I think we were particularly lucky with Tent 6: a long walk but worth it for the wonderful views. The tents are really roomy and comfortable.

The guides there (we had Kulis - spelling?) are knowledgeable and fun but even the waiters are bird experts.

The evening it rained and rained, a member of staff came up to offer us an umbrella so we could get to dinner. It is a great place for bird-watchers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Comfortable Cornerstone"

1 night Arrived 12 Feb 2014
"This was a very pleasant B&B, centrally located and very friendly. The room was good and the breakfast lovely"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Büllsport Disaster"

3 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2014
"This was a very bad experience for us. It was the only place in Namibia where we did not receive a warm welcome when we arrived. In fact, only after some time did someone (a temporary volunteer we heard later) show us our room and the facilities.

I sat next to a man at dinner on the first night who did not direct one question to me: the next day I accosted him and discovered he was indeed Mr. Sauber, the owner, so we had to do our own introductions. We asked for a guide but were told that they had to be 'ordered' a day in advance: we had not been informed of this. When Mrs. Sauber returned 24 hours later, the atmosphere changed, but this was too late for us.

The low walks we were able to do were not all that interesting (very few animals) and we were plagued by flies: the two most interesting walks (for which we needed a guide!) are not suitable for someone with vertigo, like me. It is the low season for Büllsport and we certainly felt as if we were not important.
Our room was one of the new ones and it was good: the older rooms did not look very appealing.

Büllsport is not a place I would send anyone: however IF you are interested in horses or IF you have a head for heights it could be interesting but for a maximum of two days, never three."
Terrible
Location
Poor
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Terrific Tok Tokkie"

2 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2014
"Sebastian was an outstanding guide and Agnes and Willy, at the camps, could not have been more helpful. The bush food was excellent, my only issue being that the light lunch we ordered on Day One was just one slice of quiche - a bit too light!

Lovely as Tok Tokkie is, I wouldn't recommend anyone to do this in the rainy season. You are much less likely to see the stars and sleep out under them and, if it is not raining, it is incredibly hot. I feel Expert Africa could have given more guidance here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Great walking at Eagle's Nest"

3 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2014
"This was the best walking that we did in Namibia: Piet's advice on where to go was very helpful. The Eagle's Nest chalets are delightful.

The food in the restaurant was perhaps the best we had anywhere - our problem was the chalet packs. The BBQ pack to cook at the chalet was adequate but the utensils provided at the chalet were only just adequate. Moreover, the breakfast pack was truly dreadful! Such a contrast to all the other food provided so, until they improve these, I recommend eating breakfast and dinner in the restaurant.

You can horse-ride and mountain-bike here if you wish and a pool is being built at the moment.

To anyone else going there: make sure you stock up on lunch food before you get to Aus if you wish to eat independently in the middle of the day, as there is precious little to buy in Aus itself."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"All too brief visit to Bagatelle"

1 night Arrived 21 Feb 2014
"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch was very pleasant, with good food, but again I question the need to drive so far off the road for just a one night stay. It was late afternoon by the time we arrived so we were a bit late to join in any of the activities and we had to leave quite early the next day to get back on the main road to drive to the airport.

Our Dune Chalet was very pleasant with a lovely view over the dunes: however,we had to trudge through quite a lot of dune to get to it, even from the car parking area. I think walkways should be provided - and umbrellas! The bed was also the least comfortable bed we had in Namibia - too soft.

None of the windows are netted so we could not open any windows at night to allow the breeze through, due to the number of kamikaze moths trying to get in. In fact, there were quite a lot of bugs altogether!

The ranch was in the middle of renovations, so the pool area should be more inviting soon - when we were there it was rather bleak."
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Service
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team