This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest

Reviews of Eagle's Nest

Wildlife sightings and reviews

83 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Eagle's Nest and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Eagle's Nest.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

82% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Zebra

11% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 83
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A
Mallorca

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2022
"A bit of self catering in the middle of the safari was great fun.

I tried barbecuing oryx kebabs.

The absolutely spectacular views and the drive down to luderitz was also fantastic." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"Eagle's Nest review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2022
"Last time we visited Klein Aus Vista was with our two children in 2009. At that time, we were absolutely stunned by the vast landscape, solitude, silence, and the extraordinary sunsets over the Namib Desert. Especially, by the special next door “Diamond Sperrgebiet”. We always hoped, we once would be able to return again one day and explore the area. What a privilege to be here again!

The next-door Diamond Sperrgebiet is a prohibited diamond-rich area in the most southern part of the Namib Desert. It stretches along the Atlantic coast from Oranjemund & Orange River in the south - all the way north - to about 72 km north of the coastal town Lüderitz. The area is approx. 97 km wide and 322 km long. From 1908 until the early 21st century, all access by unauthorized persons was rigidly prohibited. Even today, you cannot move around freely, but you are allowed to follow the marked trails.

In 2009, we stayed at the nice campsite. However, this time, we upgraded to the Eagle's Nest Chalets which is eight amazing individual rock chalets literally built into large granite boulders with a rugged granite-gneiss mountain as the backdrop.

The view from our terrace is amazing. Above, eagles soar, and in front, the expansive views take our breath away.

At night, we sleep without any curtains for the windows. Its full moon. A lizard plays on one of the windows and captured by the camera from our bed. It´s the most amazing sight (& picture): A lizard on the window in front of the full moon. From the end of our large double bed, which leans against a huge granite boulder, we have an undisturbed clear view of the Namib desert with mountains in the distance.

Just as we are about to sleep, we hear a strange sound?! It gradually gets louder and louder. It sounds like an engine? Is a car coming now? This late? At this remote place!? Or is it a helicopter? We see lights in the far distance. We realize it is the solitary train from moving slowly on its way to Lüderitz 120 km further vest, where it will pick up uranium. We fall back asleep relieved.

At night at two o'clock, my wife suddenly wakes up. She has a strange feeling that someone is watching us. And indeed, just outside our panoramic window, 3 wild desert horses are standing next to our braai pit (grill), which is still warm after we cooked game for dinner in the evening.

At last, we hear no more sounds this night. The lizards and voles don't bother us.

We want to stay here forever. Just relax, read books, and cook on the fire, and eat in our private “desert restaurant” while appreciating the spectacular boundless space.

PRO´s
- Very kind service at the Desert Horse Inn Lodge (reception)
- Amazing architecture and spectacular views from Eagles Nest
- Extraordinary fine cabins with everything you need available
- Fine well marked walking trails

CON´s
- In some places the nearby nature appears a little worn / overused
- Perhaps a bit busy at the lodge with many visitors
- Not a "posh" luxury place (but friendly)" See all these reviews: 35n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Ms B
Hove

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2022
"This was a bit of a mixed bag. We arrived after a tiring drive to be met by the manager waving a dead chameleon at us and asking us drive slowly so as not to run them over. I wasn't sure if he was accusing us of driving over the chameleon or if it happened earlier. Whilst I empathise with his concern for the chameleon, it was a Basil Fawlty style welcome.

We stayed in an Eagles Nest chalet, which is a 15 minute drive away from the main lodge and restaurant, so it involves driving back in for your evening meal. The benefit is great views and exclusion, but we'd have probably been as happy in one of the chalets near the main lodge and skipped the hassle of driving in and out.

There are some lovely looking walking trails around the lodge, but as we'd just had 3 days doing the Tok Tokkie trails we were a bit over trekked and decided instead to drive into Luderitz and Kolmanskop on our rest day whilst at Eagles Nest.

The food was a pretty average and on our second evening meal fell below average meaning we sent a dish back uneaten. We were still asked if we were enjoying our meal and charged for it anyway, which just felt a bit clunky." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr P.
Vienna

"Eagle's Nest review"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2022
"We had the Mountain View chalet, which is the south-eastern-most of the set. The neighbouring chalet was unoccupied, so it really felt remote and lonely.

This really is a place to truly get away from it all. We didn’t see any wildlife other than birds, but the views were superb and the starry night sky without any light pollution whatsoever was very special indeed. Unfortunately the sky was overcast early in the morning when I intended to do some star photography, and we even had rain later that morning. Very unusual.

The chalet was well-appointed for self-catering, and we got ourselves a nice pack of groceries prepared for us at the main lodge to take along. The layout of the chalets interior with the huge boulder behind the beds oozed lots of special character. Lovely site.

Breakfast we had at the main lodge, which was buffet style and very good." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr J.
Makati

"Isolated cottage in a rock. "

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2022
"Long distance from lodge and any facilities makes it very remote.

Lovely cabin but we did not spend much time there due to remoteness." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Greg's group
Regina

"The Rock... wow ! "

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2019
"We stayed away from the main area in unique and quaint chalets.

The dark sky was perfect for night photography, and we took advantage of the location for some terrific milky way photographs. Our chalet was comfortable although quite warm. Dinner and breakfast were buffet but with lots of options, and adequate. We found the reception staff not particularly friendly on checkout, but overall enjoyed the stay.

A tub of ice, and a couple of free waters in the room would have been a great plus, as would a thinner sheet - the heavy comforter was too much given the already warm temp in the room." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
London

"A unique stay at The Rock"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"As soon as I read about Eagles Nest, I wanted to stay there and the reality exceeded expectations!

Our room, The Rock, is built literally around a rock and combines creative design with comfort. It is like being in a Western!

The Desert Inn provides excellent food with generous helpings, choice and friendly service. It is just 15 minutes drive from the famous wild horses and we saw a foal! It is a great location to visit Lüderitz/ Kolmanskop but we were sorry not to have longer at Eagles Nest itself to enjoy the location and do some of the walking trails on the property." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr A.
Hertford

"Eagle's Nest review"

1 night Arrived 14 Apr 2019
"Great location wish we could have stayed another night" See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Twickenham

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2019
"Our view: 7-8/10. Amazing cabin in the middle of nowhere. Our cabin had an amazing view, spacious enough, basic but well appointed. Bathroom is small, lighting a bit dim and...no a/c or hairdryer!! Good food at the main lodge, but don’t need 5 courses. Being 7klm/15 mins away is a bit of a pain, but the price of isolation. Average WiFi but only at reception." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"We wish we had stayed longer!"

1 night Arrived 25 Nov 2018
"Driving from Canyon Lodge, we drove straight to Luderitz and Kolmanskop, and spent the whole afternoon exploring the old mining town.

For this reason we didn't arrive at our accommodation until that evening. We were given a very warm welcome, and had a great night's stay in the chalet. Unfortunately, after a great breakfast, we moved on to our next lodge, so didn't do any activities whilst here.

N.B on wildlife - informed there are no cheetah in this area. On the road from Aus to Luderitz we saw Ostrich,Oryx, a Jackel and wild horses. We also saw a scorpion whilst driving to our chalet in the headlights after dinner!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 83
95%
83 reviews of Eagle's Nest by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
67
13
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

With ocean views from all its rooms, the Nest Hotel is perfectly placed to appreciate the best of Lüderitz.


80% (58 reviews)
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

On the edge of the Namib Desert, the Desert Horse Inn makes a comfortable base for hiking, visiting Lüderitz, or seeking out the area's feral horses.


89% (46 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa