This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest

Reviews of Eagle's Nest

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Eagle's Nest and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Eagle's Nest.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

78% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Greg's group
Regina

"The Rock... wow ! "

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2019
"We stayed away from the main area in unique and quaint chalets.

The dark sky was perfect for night photography, and we took advantage of the location for some terrific milky way photographs. Our chalet was comfortable although quite warm. Dinner and breakfast were buffet but with lots of options, and adequate. We found the reception staff not particularly friendly on checkout, but overall enjoyed the stay.

A tub of ice, and a couple of free waters in the room would have been a great plus, as would a thinner sheet - the heavy comforter was too much given the already warm temp in the room. " See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"A unique stay at The Rock"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"As soon as I read about Eagles Nest, I wanted to stay there and the reality exceeded expectations!

Our room, The Rock, is built literally around a rock and combines creative design with comfort. It is like being in a Western!

The Desert Inn provides excellent food with generous helpings, choice and friendly service. It is just 15 minutes drive from the famous wild horses and we saw a foal! It is a great location to visit Lüderitz/ Kolmanskop but we were sorry not to have longer at Eagles Nest itself to enjoy the location and do some of the walking trails on the property. " See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr A.
Hertford

"Eagle's Nest review"

1 night Arrived 14 Apr 2019
"Great location wish we could have stayed another night" See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Twickenham

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2019
"Our view: 7-8/10. Amazing cabin in the middle of nowhere. Our cabin had an amazing view, spacious enough, basic but well appointed. Bathroom is small, lighting a bit dim and...no a/c or hairdryer!! Good food at the main lodge, but don’t need 5 courses. Being 7klm/15 mins away is a bit of a pain, but the price of isolation. Average WiFi but only at reception." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"We wish we had stayed longer!"

1 night Arrived 25 Nov 2018
"Driving from Canyon Lodge, we drove straight to Luderitz and Kolmanskop, and spent the whole afternoon exploring the old mining town.

For this reason we didn't arrive at our accommodation until that evening. We were given a very warm welcome, and had a great night's stay in the chalet. Unfortunately, after a great breakfast, we moved on to our next lodge, so didn't do any activities whilst here.

N.B on wildlife - informed there are no cheetah in this area. On the road from Aus to Luderitz we saw Ostrich,Oryx, a Jackel and wild horses. We also saw a scorpion whilst driving to our chalet in the headlights after dinner!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Bijou Bungalows"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2018
"After a lot of badgering in the weeks before we went, Peter the owner of the Desert Horse Inn and Eagle's Nest (the normal accommodation of which was full when we booked) offered (reluctantly) to let us have the two small bungalows at Eagle's Nest normally used by guides etc. And were we glad! Eagle's Nest is a stunning location that truly reflects the wilderness nature of a Namibian Safari.

The bungalows were, to say the least, compact, but wonderfully and innovatively equipped - although with kitchen, bathroom and toilet and sleeping in the same room, many couples may not have liked it!
We were fine however.

We bought the braai packs for evening meals and had the breakfast packs supplied, and just enjoyed the peace and quiet and the stunning views.

The facilities at the Desert Horse Inn were excellent, although we were so happy at Eagle's Nest we didn't use them, and Peter and his team were excellent too.

We will definitely return here - but would like to experience the full-sized accommodation!" See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Pat
Robin Hoods Bay

"A highlight of the trip!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2018
"appreciated the remote location, really enjoyed the barbecue" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Northum

"The owners have thought of everything"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"This was the fourth place we stayed on our trip and we really enjoyed it. We stayed for two nights. Jacomena who was on reception was very helpful and friendly. It took about 15 minutes to drive to our cabin from Desert Horse Inn. We were allocated Eagles View which was the last cabin on the road and built into the rock. This means we had a massive boulder at the back of the cabin which formed the wall behind the bed and in the shower. The nearest cabin to ours was probably a good 15 minutes walk, so it was very private. You also have uninterrupted views of the escarpment and hills with great sunsets. The accommodation was very spacious with a kitchen, diner and lounge area at one side of a low level wall and a double and single bed and bathroom at the other side.

We opted to have the self catering bbq pack (need to pre order) for our first night, which means you self cater your breakfast too! You tick off what food you want and they provide the basket with everything in it. We ordered way too much food as on top of the game steaks with rubs, boerewors and jacket potatoes you get salad, coleslaw, bread, fruit and yogurt.

Then for breakfast you get smoked salmon, bread, butter, eggs, bacon and jam. Great fun though and cooked to perfection! The second night we went to the Desert Horse Inn for dinner, which was a buffet. All the food was freshly cooked and there was plenty of variety for every course. You are allocated your table and we requested one on the balcony outside which was lovely.

Breakfast is buffet style and ideal to eat and go early for your next destination. Piet the owner of Eagles Nest and Desert Horse Inn is a mine of information and very interesting to talk to. He even advised us on using the D707 on our route to Sossusvlei for a more scenic route. This turned out to be one of the best roads we drove on as it had just been graded.

We visited the wild horses from the lodge, which is just down the road and an easy drive on paved roads. We also visited Kolmanskop ghost town, which is well worth the visited, then drove on to Luderitz. Here we explored the town via the walking guide in the Bradt guide book. There are self guided walks from the cabins which we didn't have time to do unfortunately. There are quite a few baboons in the area so you are warned to keep the windows and doors locked. That said we did not have any trouble with them.

This is a great place to stay, Highly recommended.
" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs K
Wilts

"Interesting! 7km drive from reception!"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2018
"It was OK but extremely remote. Probably not their fault that the wind blew so strong that the heat from the braai embers never reached the meat we were trying to cook!

Very quiet and peaceful apart from the barking geckos." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"We loved staying at mountain view,Eagles nest"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2018
"Our stone bungalow aptly called the Mountain View had the mountains at the back and the desert plains at the front. Check in was very helpful and we collected our breakfast and Braii packs. These packs were enormous with enough good food to feed 4 easily.

We decided on the packs as restaurant was a 7 km drive each way in the dark. we enjoyed our barbecue and then sitting outside by the fire. The bungalow was very comfortable with every amenity for self catering.

The reception on check in advised of times and driving instructions for Luderitz, Kolmanskop Ghost Town and the feral horses. which we did the day after arrival. On day of arrival we went on a short hike in the Klein aus Vista reserve using a trail map provided by reception" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 78
96%
78 reviews of Eagle's Nest by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
13
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

With ocean views from all its rooms, the Nest Hotel is perfectly placed to appreciate the best of Lüderitz.


80% (57 reviews)
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

On the edge of the Namib Desert, the Desert Horse Inn makes a comfortable base for hiking, visiting Lüderitz, or seeking out the area's feral horses.


89% (43 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa