This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest
Eagle's Nest

Reviews of Eagle's Nest

Wildlife sightings and reviews

85 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Eagle's Nest and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Eagle's Nest.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

75% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Zebra

10% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 85
Duration
Arrival date
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Great location - excellent self catering pack"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"Our room was called "Rock" and which provided one of the walls. It was large and comfortable.

We were very pleased that we spent two nights here - the original plan had been to stay only one night. The extra day gave us the opportunity to do the two hour (6km) signed walk round the back of the rocks behind the room and then down through the boulders back to the start. Great views and easy to follow, although as advised care had to be taken. The park fee you pay if you want to do the walk includes a book which gives details of a number of walks in the area.

We opted for the self catering dinner in order to avoid the 7km drive back to the main lodge in the dark and were amazed by the Braai Pack which included Camel Thorn wood which burned with very little smoke and excellent instructions for those not used to barbecuing. First self-cooked Braais but very good results." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Napier

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"We had desert vista chalet, wonderful. We could easily have stayed longer. Doing our own breakfast and dinner added to our enjoyment, and the view from our chalet was superb.
Luderitz a bit of a let down.
, r." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ian & Vivienne
UK

"Remote accommodations available"

2 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2017
"We were in the Eagles Nest and the position of these remote cabins is spectacular. There are rooms in the main lodge area where you can walk to and from your cabin to meals. You drive your own vehicle to the cabins which are 5 Kms from reception.the location is blissfully quiet and the sunrise and sunsets are breathtaking from your own covered verandah. The cabins are deliberately rustic in style to blend with the environment but very well appointed and equipped and kept spotlessly clean. We lit the log fire one night and just enjoyed the silence and the view of the wonderful night sky which was a privilege and quite romantic.

We ate breakfast in the main lodge but did not eat there in the evening as we chose to eat during the day on our travels.

You can drive to Luderitz from here if you wish though it is a rather strange town with no real features of its own apart from the derelict diamond mining town on its outskirts which was fascinating to see and photograph.

The drive north from here is spectacular but again needs a 4WD vehicle and very careful negotiation and full concentration. Although the roads are challenging , we shared the driving and both found it exciting and would not have missed the ever changing and spectacular scenery for all the world." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Dr N
King's Lynn

"Eagle's Nest review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2016
"The Eagles Nest Chalet was quite superb, a wonderful setting in the granite cliffs. The walks were very good and extremely well sign-posted." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A & Mr J T
Essex

"Eagles Nest - Desert View"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2016
"Wonderful views across the desert from your position below the cliffs.

Excellent accommodation with lots of space, although the 7km on the sand track back to the lodge/to get to the main road was a bit of a drag. The wildlife makes up for that though - oryx and springbok everywhere. Possibly the furthest two chalets were not really suitable for access in a Corolla, very tricky final approach.

There are some nice walking trails around the lodge and Eagles Nest too. We did the mountain walk behind the chalets; steep in places but worth the effort. We went on their mountain and desert (all day drive) to see mountains, bushman rock art, desert and wildlife. Our guide and driver was Nakame who was very friendly and knowledgable and helped to make it a really good day out.

This is a good base to day trip to Luderitz and to the ghost town Kolmanskop. More welding on the boot lock catch at a local car repair shop. Princely sum of N$50 (about £3).

Our only comment would be that the chalets should have one mouseproof cupboard for storing food products.

The meals at the lodge were all good; on two nights we had a braai kit and did DIY dinner to save the 7km drive. They are a complete 3 course dinner and were great value." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"Wow - you must go here"

2 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2016
"We arrived late afternoon having ambled along from Canon Lodge - we loved the railway and were fortunate actually to see a train running so that took some photography time up. We also stopped at the Naute dam for a spot of lunch and bird-watching - an interesting change of vista from the arid landscape.

Eagles Nest is a gem. We ate at the lodge one evening as we had arrived too late to organise ourselves into Braai mode - but we did braai the second evening which seems to be the pattern of most.

We used this as a base for Kolmanskop, like most people which is just over an hour away. We timed our visit for gate open at 8am for the photographic opportunities and also to be there when it is even more deserted (i.e. before the coach tours pul in). We spent a happy morning there and then onto Luderitz for our picnic breakfast taken with us but eaten late.

We spent two nights at Eagle Nest and could easily have spent 4. There is self guided hiking and mountain bike riding available which we would have partaken. You could easily just sit on the veranda and watch the world go by - in this remotest of spots, it was amazing what did wander by...." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Nick and Jane
Woolpit

"Eagle's Nest - 7k away from the reception/bar"

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2016
"Stayed in the rondavaals 7k from main lodge along sand roads. Roomy accommodation built around a huge rock.

Very comfortable but shared with one or two mice!

A long way to go to the main lodge for anything so one night had their brai pack - very good! - and made sure we were ready to leave from the lodge after breakfast there.

Went for a great walk in the hills on the estate - too chicken to mountain bike though it looked amazing." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Mrs G
Malaga

"Incredible setting"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2016
"Fantastic views from our chalet, especially at sunrise and sunset.

The BBQ kit and breakfast kit are very good and it was fun cooking our own dinner, although we needed to find some kindling to help start the BBQ. Very well equipped and a good selection of wines and beers available in the chalet.

Highly recommended 2 nights." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Unique Nature stay"

1 night Arrived 31 Dec 2015
"We enjoyed our stay in the remote Eagle Nest cottages. You have a true sense of solitude and are surrounded by vast landscapes, dotted with herds of oryx and wild horses. Cook your own dinner on the braai is a really nice addition" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs B
Hampshire

"The Wall, Perched on a rocky outcrop"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2015
"The wall was a great location, nice cabin,and well equipped, were able to take our dinner back there to cook it on a braai, which was a great novelty, whilst enjoying an amazing sunset and steenbok at the bird bath. Great trails were set up and well mapped, with accurate times for the walks.

The main building served a good breakfast, and there is a newly built swimming pool, which was nicely designed in a horse shoe shape. Owner was around and offered helpful information." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 85
96%
85 reviews of Eagle's Nest by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
69
13
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

With ocean views from all its rooms, the Nest Hotel is perfectly placed to appreciate the best of Lüderitz.


79% (62 reviews)
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

On the edge of the Namib Desert, the Desert Horse Inn makes a comfortable base for hiking, visiting Lüderitz, or seeking out the area's feral horses.


89% (49 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa