This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr A & Mrs K from Wilts

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

2

A most memorable trip

Namibia between 21 Sep 2018 and 10 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"As well as seeing some wonderful scenery and a plethora of wildlife in their natural habitat the trip also taught us much about the culture of this African country. The knowledge and passion of all of the guides was amazing.

We never once felt unsafe or threatened though we took the usual precautions to protect ourselves and our belongings.

There is clearly a huge diversity of wealth in the country which did make us feel uncomfortable from time to time.

Given the opportunity we would certainly return and we will encourage others to do the same."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Very comfortable"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"Excellent place to stay for a night or two. It was easy to find from the airport.
We could not eat out because we were waiting for the Duster to be delivered. They allowed us to eat a takeaway meal in the dining room."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Great night drive"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"Very welcoming. Good food. Nice chalet overlooking the waterhole. Night drive is well worth doing."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Fantastic view"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"Very welcoming. Food good. Chalet very comfortable. Gecko on ceiling.

The drive into the canyon was well worth doing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nice room with sea view."

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"Very different to the other accommodation we stayed in, being a 73 room hotel and we were just another anonymous pair of guests. That said it was fine for what we wanted.

If we did the trip again we would probably not bother with Lüderitz. A long way to drive (there and back) for not a lot of benefit."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Interesting! 7km drive from reception!"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2018
"It was OK but extremely remote. Probably not their fault that the wind blew so strong that the heat from the braai embers never reached the meat we were trying to cook!

Very quiet and peaceful apart from the barking geckos."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Fabulous place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"Very comfortable chalet. Good food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Fabulous day out"

28 Sep 2018 • All-day excursion

The trip to Sossusvlei was breathtaking. Well worth doing and one of the highlights of our trip. The guide was excellent as was the lunch they provided.
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Comfortable place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2018
"Very comfortable. Breakfast was good and plenty of restaurants in walking distance."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Very enjoyable excursion"

30 Sep 2018 • All-day excursion

A good day out including some exhilarating dune drives.

A bit disappointed that more time was not given to identifying and watching the birds but it was still worth doing. A very different excursion to most of the others we did.
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Fantastic drive to see the desert elephants"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"Comfortable chalet with a unique construction incorporating the rocks and boulders just as they lay. Our first experience of an outside shower and toilet. Food very good.

Took the morning drive to find the elephants and were not disappointed. Spent nearly two hours with them as they walked to water, bathed and dusted themselves. Many bird species around the camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Great sundowner drive"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"Comfortable chalet. Good food.

Did the sundowner drive and were treated to close up views of lion, elephant and white rhino, amongst others."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Somewhat disappointing"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2018
"Accommodation very tired. In need of repair and decoration. This is a large camp and very impersonal. If we did the trip again we would stay on private reserves outside Etosha and then drive in during the day. Meals are all buffet and resembled school dinners!

Only saving grace was the floodlit waterhole giving good sightings of elephant, giraffe and black rhino.

Of all the places we stayed this was the only one that really disappointed."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Another amazing place"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2018
"Very small and intimate (camp caters for just 8 guests). Very welcoming and comfortable. Rooms have just three walls with the bed facing the floodlit waterhole.

Did and early morning drive into Etosha and a sundowner drive on the private reserve. Both were excellent and the latter gave a wonderful view of a cheetah with four young cubs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Good experience"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2018
"A little more impersonal than some of the other places we stayed at, but comfortable and welcoming nonetheless.

Went leopard tracking in a vehicle with great success. Also went cheetah tracking on foot with equal success. The trip to the AfriCat Foundation is worth doing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team