This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge

Reviews of Fish River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

69 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Fish River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Fish River Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Zebra

47% success

Oryx

35% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 69
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A
Mallorca

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Dec 2022
"The views are spectacular and the day trip down to the bottom of the canyon was superb.

Swimming between the cliffs in the clear waters was very special." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"Good trekking opportunities"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2022
"We are staying in Fish River Lodge. Literally, as they write on their homepage “on the edge of eternity”. We are in the last of their chalets with undisturbed views to the canyon and southwest. The tall windows and terrace outside allow views of the canyon to take priority everywhere.

Our chalet is in a very modern style and in fantastic condition when we arrive. Everything is perfectly cleaned, a standard that is maintained over the next 3 days (perfect housekeeping). We have both outdoor and indoor showers, a large bedroom with a view, and a platform outside where we can lie and enjoy the undisturbed view. In addition, we find all the small necessities that you expect in a hotel.

The main lodge itself is also incredibly beautifully built on the edge of the Fish River Canyon, with spectacular views everywhere. A spectacular rim pool provides cool comfort in the hot summer months also overlooking the canyon and nature park.

The 45,000-hectare Canyon Nature Park is a sanctuary for the nature, including the rare Hartman’s zebra, oryx antelope and ostriches, which appear and disappear in the rocky side canyons.

We love to hike! And the Fish River Canyon is a top hiking destination. And Fish River Lodge has access down to the Fish River and meandering paths on the rim of the canyon.

First day, we take the short rim walk for 1,5 hours. Second day, we take the full day canyon drive, Followed by the longer rim walk for 3 hours (!)

The Fish River Lodge has some opportunities for improvements: One of the minor opportunities for improvement was the restaurant, where we found the service to be of very variable nature. Fortunately, always friendly, but not always very professional. Orders and requests were forgotten more than once, and guests (including us) sometimes placed very close to the hot fireplace. However, when the problems were pointed out, the staff immediately reacted (but sometimes forgot again). The restaurant did not provide the same "luxury sensation" as the rest of the lodge.

Another thing to be aware of is that the lodge is extremely exposed to wind. Two out of three nights, we had very loud wind noise all night, partly due to the construction of the roof. For the same reason, there are earplugs in the chalets, which you can choose to use. Also, there is no air conditioning in the chalets, but a fan and high ceilings. It can probably be a challenge on very hot days!

However, all in all we loved the place and would be happy to return." See all these reviews: 35n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Ms B
Hove

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2022
"Location, location, location.

The views are truly amazing, but I suspect the sheer remoteness creates issues with staffing and supplies. The place felt under-managed and a disorganised compared to other lodges we visited. I liked the design of the individual lodges, but I can see how some people might view them as a little bit hard and industrial.

The food offering was poor in choice and execution relative to the general aspiration and pricing of the lodge, but I repeat that this may be a factor of the extreme remoteness of the place.

The 'activity' on offer is a 4WD drive to the river bed of the canyon which takes about 3 hours each way with an hour to picnic and swim in stagnant water in the middle. It's the only 'game' in town and probably worth doing whilst you're there, but not one I'd think of repeating." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs N
Portsmouth

"Fish River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2022
"3 days is the optimum stay. Only downside of the Lodge is the regular night wind generates sufficient noise for ear plugs to be provided - not conducive to a good night's rest! Canyon day trip well worth while. Food top notch. View from the room was stunning - ours had two trees in front of the veranda and small birds regularly sat on the branches and sang. The room was very large and the bathroom had 2 sinks and there was an indoor and outdoor shower.

Note: there is a canyon rim walk from the lodge which you can go on without a guide. It is not clearly signposted at which point you should turn back. It is too easy to continue walking, thinking that it is a circular tour. In the heat of the day this can be a trifle gruelling!" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms L.
Monmouth

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2022
"Fabulous location, not overly helpful at reception, furthest cabin from lodge, no torches provided as promised." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs J.
Newton Abbot

"Fish River Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2022
"Amazing location on edge of canyon." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Barbados

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2022
"If you wish to see Fish river Canyon this is the only place to see it !! The views are just unbeatable!!

The staff are all superb and work extremely hard to make your stay enjoyable - I have a wheat allergy and chef prepared gluten free bread and desserts for me daily !

Unfortunately only lodge where management presence amongst guests was non existent which is a missed opportunity! In fact female manager when seen looked sullen to point of being rude!

Rooms are sadly concrete boxes that never get warm - we had glorious sunny days and it was colder in the rooms than outside. Concrete floors with not sufficient rugs! At night the rooms and sheets felt damp …. We subsequently stayed in many different equally remote lodges (eg: shipwreck lodge) and they have all found ways to make rooms warm and comfortable for the winter.

All that said the staff gave us a fabulous stay and would we return …… of course !! For the view !!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
P and V
UK

"Fish River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2022
"A wonderful experience including two nights out in the field at the luxurious camps that form part of the lodge offer. Obviously the grading of the 2 and a half days trekking down around and out of the canyon is subjective and relative to habits and experience. For serous and keen trekkers it was a nice challenge and just right at about 6 hours activity per day. Our guide Willem was first class and very knowledgeable without ever overdoing it. He and his assistant who staffed the camps did so discretely and made sure we ate extremely well and enjoyed considerable comfort.

The options from the lodge include half day and day hikes to the rock pools or two full nights out at the camps. As the camps are quite close and the second day is very similar to the first I wonder why a one night trip is not available? We would have chosen two anyway but just a thought…..

The lodge itself was friendly, well appointed and comfortable. In spite of the remote location (and flying in was much appreciated) it was reasonably busy but not unpleasantly so. We took advantage of the fat bikes on arrival and that is a nice 2 hour activity to consider.

Ratings below refer to the lodge only. The camps were “excellent” in every respect given their role and function." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Alice
Dusseldorf

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2022
"Absolutely fantastic place. The lodge is located at the rim of the canyon with plenty of activities from biking to hiking around alone. We did the full day excursion to the canyon and was really great.

Guides are very professional and prepared as well as the staff super friendly.

We had 2 dinners and one package lunch. Both dinners were great. Special thank you to Alexander and Vilhem." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr J.
Makati

"Long, long way to get there"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2022
"It was a long, long drive for basically a massively expansive view of a monochrome brown canyon.

A couple of short, dry day hikes along the canyon." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 69
93%
69 reviews of Fish River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
16
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

Just 20km from Fish River Canyon, Canyon Lodge was the first lodge in the area, with individual chalets built amongst huge granite boulders.


89% (98 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


91% (13 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


73% (6 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa