This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge

Reviews of Fish River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

58 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Fish River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Fish River Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Zebra

54% success

Oryx

36% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 58
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr K
Geneva

"Impressive view from the lobby "

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"excellent location on the edge of the canyon.

Truely special. Modern room and nice service.

The drive down to the canyon is a memorable experience. " See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Amazing location on the brink of the Canyon"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2019
"A unique location with wonderful views over the canyon; their slogan “on the edge of eternity” is very apt!

The day trip into the canyon is a must; a scary road at times but excellent vehicle and guide. The rim walks are also great and imagine trekking down and staying overnight in the canyon would be fantastic, if you have the time. Beware we had some strong winds so warm clothing is essential outside the summer months. Ear plugs are provided in the rooms, due to the roaring wind!

There is a surprising amount of wildlife in the area. " See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs T
Twickenham

"Fish River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2019
"Our view: 9/10. Amazing location and view over the canyon from our vantage point on the edge of the escarpment. Rooms are good size, functionality laid out with ‘basic’ luxury to them. No a/c due to Eco label. A tricky place to get to! Took us 2 hours to travel 100 klm over wide gravel road which became a single track challenge!
Good breakfast and food, nice staff, pool to cool off in. Poor WiFi and only at reception.
" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Stunning View"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2018
"This lodge is all about the view, being perched on the canyon edge. Its very modern with large, comfortable contemporary rooms. The service was good and staff friendly.

We experienced the famous Fish River Canyon hot gale force wind one night, and now know why ear plugs were issued on check-in!

We did the sundowner drive and a self-guided sunrise walk, both of which were excellent.

Unless walking in the canyon (not an option at the time of year we were there), a full day is an appropriate stay." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Pat
Robin Hoods Bay

"Another amazing plac"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2018
"We enjoyed the swim in the canyon pool and survived the 'terror pass'" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
K+R, J+P
Stirling

"Amazing location"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"Fish Liver Lodge is an amazing location. The staff were particularly friendly and relaxed, and we thoroughly enjoyed the enthusiastic singing after dinner.

The drive to the bottom of the canyon was spectacular and swimming in the river at the bottom was a highlight of our trip. The guide, Bob, was clearly very interested in the geology, plants and animals and gave really clear informative talks along the way. All the guides were helpful especially with an older walker using sticks, ensuring she was able to join the group in the walk right to the bottom of the canyon. We also enjoyed the sightings of kudu and the klipspringers perched on the top of the mountains.

It was very windy and noisy in the rooms, so the earplugs provided were appreciated!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Northum

"Fantastic views"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2018
"This was the third place we stayed on our trip and we stayed two nights. Of all the lodges this was the one I most wanted to stay in. We even rearrange the dates we went so we could get in here and I think it was well worth it. Make sure you stop off at Mariental Bakkery for savoury pies and pasties enroute. You can also fill up your petrol tank as there are a number of fuel stations there too.

The drive south of Mariental was a lot more challenging as we got our first taste of none paved roads. Even after reading about the difficult driveway to the lodge, I don’t think we were prepared for the length of time it would take us. Once there we received a friendly welcome and a drink. The panoramic view is spectacular from the main building as you enter from the car park. The lodge was bigger than our previous two lodges, so there were a lot more people around. However the individual cabins all feel private and everyone gets that same panoramic view of the canyon.

We did the walk to the lookout point to the right, which was not too far or difficult and got some good photos looking back at the lodge. The night sky was fantastic, we even saw the Milky Way! The sky was so clear.

The rooms are comfortable with single beds and an inside and outside shower, although we were unable to use the outside shower as the previous person had taken the key with them and there was no spare. There is even an outside yoga platform and you can borrow a mat from reception. Staff were all friendly and efficient and the manager was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and road conditions.

We did the organised drive to the bottom of the canyon where I swam in the water pool. We thought this trip was really good and well worth the cost and effort. We saw mountain Zebra and Gemsbok on our travels and you are also able to do some walking if you want to. I had read that not that many people go to Fish River Canyon but I would say it is a must and stay on this side of the canyon as you feel you have an exclusive experience as there are no other lodges on this side. This lodge is well worth the effort of getting there. Highly recommended. " See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Peter
Stockton

"Luxury on the edge"

5 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"Food, service and accommodation at the Fish River Lodge were impeccable.

Rooms are large and artfully decorated. Large porch overlooks the Fish River Canyon. The lodge itself has outstanding views of the canyon with a pool lots of room to sit outside. Be prepared for windy conditions, weather is variable, and we were provided with earplugs for nighttime use. We only needed them one night.

We also enjoyed the two day hiking package, which was outstanding. Our guide, Andy, was knowledgeable and tailored our daily hikes according to our preference for distance and difficulty. Camps were unique with roomy tents, comfortable cots with sheets and duvets. Bucket showers were welcome as was hot water in the morning to wash up.

Food was excellent, on a par with what we enjoyed at the Lodge. We were amazed that they were able to provide the same quality, but from a camp kitchen. Breakfast and dinner were prepared in camp and we carried our bag lunch and water with us each day." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs K
Wilts

"Fantastic view"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"Very welcoming. Food good. Chalet very comfortable. Gecko on ceiling.

The drive into the canyon was well worth doing." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr D.
Chelmsford

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 58
93%
58 reviews of Fish River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
43
11
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

Just 20km from Fish River Canyon, Canyon Lodge was the first lodge in the area, with individual chalets built amongst huge granite boulders.


89% (96 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa