This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge

Reviews of Fish River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

64 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Fish River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Fish River Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Zebra

50% success

Oryx

35% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 64
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs J.
Newton Abbot

"Fish River Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2022
"Amazing location on edge of canyon." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Barbados

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2022
"If you wish to see Fish river Canyon this is the only place to see it !! The views are just unbeatable!!

The staff are all superb and work extremely hard to make your stay enjoyable - I have a wheat allergy and chef prepared gluten free bread and desserts for me daily !

Unfortunately only lodge where management presence amongst guests was non existent which is a missed opportunity! In fact female manager when seen looked sullen to point of being rude!

Rooms are sadly concrete boxes that never get warm - we had glorious sunny days and it was colder in the rooms than outside. Concrete floors with not sufficient rugs! At night the rooms and sheets felt damp …. We subsequently stayed in many different equally remote lodges (eg: shipwreck lodge) and they have all found ways to make rooms warm and comfortable for the winter.

All that said the staff gave us a fabulous stay and would we return …… of course !! For the view !!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
P and V
UK

"Fish River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2022
"A wonderful experience including two nights out in the field at the luxurious camps that form part of the lodge offer. Obviously the grading of the 2 and a half days trekking down around and out of the canyon is subjective and relative to habits and experience. For serous and keen trekkers it was a nice challenge and just right at about 6 hours activity per day. Our guide Willem was first class and very knowledgeable without ever overdoing it. He and his assistant who staffed the camps did so discretely and made sure we ate extremely well and enjoyed considerable comfort.

The options from the lodge include half day and day hikes to the rock pools or two full nights out at the camps. As the camps are quite close and the second day is very similar to the first I wonder why a one night trip is not available? We would have chosen two anyway but just a thought…..

The lodge itself was friendly, well appointed and comfortable. In spite of the remote location (and flying in was much appreciated) it was reasonably busy but not unpleasantly so. We took advantage of the fat bikes on arrival and that is a nice 2 hour activity to consider.

Ratings below refer to the lodge only. The camps were “excellent” in every respect given their role and function." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Alice
Dusseldorf

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2022
"Absolutely fantastic place. The lodge is located at the rim of the canyon with plenty of activities from biking to hiking around alone. We did the full day excursion to the canyon and was really great.

Guides are very professional and prepared as well as the staff super friendly.

We had 2 dinners and one package lunch. Both dinners were great. Special thank you to Alexander and Vilhem." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr J.
Makati

"Long, long way to get there"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2022
"It was a long, long drive for basically a massively expansive view of a monochrome brown canyon.

A couple of short, dry day hikes along the canyon." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Reading

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2021
"Unbelievable location with the edge of your patio only three metres from the Fish River Canyon’s edge with a single wire barrier 50 cms high between you and the edge.

Well worth the 20 kms drive along a bumpy track to get there. Rooms very comfortable and food excellent.

Sundowner drive and Canyon rim walks enjoyable." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr K
Geneva

"Impressive view from the lobby "

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"excellent location on the edge of the canyon.

Truely special. Modern room and nice service.

The drive down to the canyon is a memorable experience." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Amazing location on the brink of the Canyon"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2019
"A unique location with wonderful views over the canyon; their slogan “on the edge of eternity” is very apt!

The day trip into the canyon is a must; a scary road at times but excellent vehicle and guide. The rim walks are also great and imagine trekking down and staying overnight in the canyon would be fantastic, if you have the time. Beware we had some strong winds so warm clothing is essential outside the summer months. Ear plugs are provided in the rooms, due to the roaring wind!

There is a surprising amount of wildlife in the area." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs T
Twickenham

"Fish River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2019
"Our view: 9/10. Amazing location and view over the canyon from our vantage point on the edge of the escarpment. Rooms are good size, functionality laid out with ‘basic’ luxury to them. No a/c due to Eco label. A tricky place to get to! Took us 2 hours to travel 100 klm over wide gravel road which became a single track challenge!
Good breakfast and food, nice staff, pool to cool off in. Poor WiFi and only at reception." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Stunning View"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2018
"This lodge is all about the view, being perched on the canyon edge. Its very modern with large, comfortable contemporary rooms. The service was good and staff friendly.

We experienced the famous Fish River Canyon hot gale force wind one night, and now know why ear plugs were issued on check-in!

We did the sundowner drive and a self-guided sunrise walk, both of which were excellent.

Unless walking in the canyon (not an option at the time of year we were there), a full day is an appropriate stay." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 64
93%
64 reviews of Fish River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
47
13
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

Just 20km from Fish River Canyon, Canyon Lodge was the first lodge in the area, with individual chalets built amongst huge granite boulders.


89% (97 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


73% (6 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa