This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge

Reviews of Fish River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

58 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Fish River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Fish River Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Zebra

54% success

Oryx

36% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 58
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Fish River Lodge right on edge of canyon"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"An amazing location on edge of canyon. Great room with exceptional view.

The welcome and service were very good. Food was outstanding. We had a sunset trip to east side of camp on arrival day with Bob who was very informative and gave us an understanding of geology and our bearings. Day trip to bottom of canyon again with Bob was like a white knuckle ride at times but great fun.

Lunch by rock pool was relaxing if a little too cold to swim." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Wendy
Melbourne

"Fish River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"Felt impersonal after the other places we had stayed in." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr J.
London

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2018
"The walk into and out of the canyon is quite strenuous.

Not for the unfit." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

4 sightings

A and A
Cossington

"It's a long drive but worth it!!"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2018
"A long drive south, but the canyon is amazing. Stunning views of the canyon from the lodge and all rooms.

The lodge do a drive into the canyon which was excellent, and there are two well marked walking trails along the rim east and west to get the best views of the canyon.

Visiting in early September we needed plenty of clothes to keep warm in the evening, both in our room and in the lodge itself!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Wakefield

"Amazing location"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2018
"Fabulous location on the rim of the Canyon and well worth the long and challenging drive.

The day trip down in to the Canyon with Engelbrecht was one of the outstanding highlights of the trip." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
TansySue
UK

"Awesome views"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2018
"Situated right on the edge of the canyon, the chalets and main building had the most incredible views of the canyon stretching out in front of us. Our chalet had a small terrace with chairs which enabled us to watch the light changing. In fact we did witness a tremendous thunderstorm which produced the most magnificent skies. Heavy rain overnight quickly soaked away into the sandy soil and didn't pose a problem when walking into breakfast next morning.

Facing the canyon did mean the wind came straight in at our chalet door which was not that close fitting (and was difficult to lock) - fortunately the heavy curtains did help. We had been given ear plugs to wear as the noise was certainly noticeable but we didn't feel the need to use them and did manage to get to sleep well in the very comfortable beds.

Our chalet had tea and coffee making facilities but no kettle, a thermos jug needed to be filled with hot water from the kitchen if one wanted refreshments. It would have been better to have a kettle so we could have enjoyed early morning cuppas.

The bathroom area was very large with an enormous mirror and great lighting, a safe and a small hanging space for clothes. Twin wash basins and separate WC but strangely no door on the WC. There was an outdoor shower but in May it was not warm enough to want to try it. The indoor shower worked well but one had to remember the hot water was solar heated and would cool off overnight. There was no running water between 11pm and 5am as the pumps were switched off for some reason. This could have been a big issue if one had needed to use the WC overnight with an upset stomach! We noticed on entering the bathroom the unpleasant smell of sewage - this seemed to disappear overnight - maybe because we had used the sinks and shower and flushed the system through or maybe because we had a lot of rain overnight.

In the evenings there was an open fire in the lounge/bar area and also in the restaurant - but we needed to wear jumpers to dinner as it was cold in the evenings. It was also cold in our chalet; there was no heating that we could see so this would not be an ideal place to stay in the middle of their winter. In our opinion the door and window fittings need to be replaced in both the chalet and main building. They looked like metal crittall windows and had not worn well - in fact a door handle broke off in Mr L's hand

It was not warm enough to use the pool which was beautifully located with views to the canyon.

We thoroughly enjoyed the drive into the Canyon which had been included in our holiday itinerary. The best off road driving we have ever experienced. " See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Peter & Helenka
UK

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2017
"Probably we had been spoilt at all the other excellent places but overall this was a little disappointing

It was the only place where ther was no water or facilities for making a drink in the rooms. The staff in the bar and restaurant were friendly but the management on arrival and on leaving were not as friendly as in other places. The rooms are odd design and functional rather than comfortable

The trip to the canyon was a great experience and the guide was entertaining and informative as well as being a very good driver
" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
D & P
Lavenham

"Dramatic "

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2017
"Just a wonderful place!

Amazing scenery. Great trip into the canyon. What we weren’t told though, was that walks into the canyon had stopped the previous week - it was too hot, Amazing swim in what remains of Fish River.

No sun beds, limited activities.

Good birdwatching (and Dessie watching) from deck - they provided a small pool.

Only criticism - no sunbeds! " See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Excellent lodge in great location"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2017
"Wonderfully perched on the edge of the canyon with great views across the canyon lower levels. You get a great perspective of how the canyon winds through the countryside.

There are fantastic views from each room and from the main lodge building housing the bar and restaurant. Food was very good although the choice was limited. Service was excellent.

We were taken right down to the canyon floor by 4x4 - a great experience, see separate review. Sundowner trip trip was fun." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Napier

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2017
"Long drive to the canyon , didnt really live up to our expectations when we got there. Did have a nice walk along the rim.

Really only needed to have stayed 1 night.

Having to get hot water for tea and coffee from the restaurant was incnvenient." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 11-20 of 58
93%
58 reviews of Fish River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
43
11
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

Just 20km from Fish River Canyon, Canyon Lodge was the first lodge in the area, with individual chalets built amongst huge granite boulders.


89% (96 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa