This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Wallington from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Windhoek- Caprivi - Livingstone

Namibia and 2 other countries between 4 Apr 2018 and 18 Apr 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"I bought this trip for my wife's 60th birthday and it was an inspired choice. We usually back-pack so this was exceptionally easy - especially the transfer at the Botswana - Zambia border. Note that the driver told me that I couldn't get a KAZA visa at this border crossing, mentioned in the very good Bradt guide you provided. This was not correct and we were issued one when I enquired. Great choice of lodgings and really loved Okajima, River Dance and Garden Lodge.

Josh clearly explained to me the type of trip we were booked on, particularly that we were not including some of the major game parks, so we were very clear on what we would be experiencing and he sent me a new map free of charge when we found a minor mistake on the first one.

I'm impressed with the service by both Expert Africa and your local agents. Your instructions/information are excellent.

Minor points are raised where applicable in the accommodation reviews, but they in no way spoilt our trip.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Other than the points raised above, no."

Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Pleasant"

1 night Arrived 5 Apr 2018
"Clean, helpful, decent breakfast. Bed and breakfast only.

A good stop for our first night in Namibia. Plunge pool very welcome.

No adverse comments."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great game drives and room."

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2018
"We found everybody extremely helpful for a commercial operation like this. They were also very good in forwarding a bikini my wife had left behind.
Standard room had fantastic view of the bush.

I'm sure you know all about the place - but a special mention of our guide on the game drives - Daniel. Great knowledge and friendly."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Beautiful location"

1 night Arrived 8 Apr 2018
"A very friendly welcome. I've forgotten the name of the manager, but a lovely man.

We liked the option of Namibian food at breakfast.

Unfortunately it rained heavily during our one night stay so we were unable to walk the bush trails that we had been looking forward to."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
River Dance Lodge

River Dance Lodge

"Beautiful location"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2018
"The rooms are beautifully positioned above the Okavango. About half an hour drive to the local game reserve, with an abundance of animals.

Owners very friendly and enjoy constructing original (very tasty) menus.

Although I enjoyed the sunset river cruise, there really wasn't a lot to see compared to the Chobe a few nights later - a couple of hippos and a crocodile.

However, it is a wonderful place to spend a couple of nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

"Great location but slightly unsatisfying"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2018
"Funny one this. The location is delightful and the tented rooms are fine. However, the staff seem somewhat undertrained and seem to be going through the motions, needing reminders on more than one occasion.

Guests should be aware that once they are on the island, they are pretty much there for the stay and that there is no-where to walk outside the property and not a lot to do - no pool.

The boat/truck game drive was enjoyable. and the guide was helpful but not exceptional.

* one big point - your directions to the property says that it is signposted from the road. It is not. As they are aware of this but have not rectified it, I'd speculate there may be some local difficulties. Please provide exact mileage from Kongola to assist people - there is a black and yellow sign to Samudumu Campsite at the turn-off."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Brilliant place"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2018
"Both game drive and boat cruises were excellent. The Guide, John, is eager to share his extensive knowledge of game and birds and the owner (Gabi, I think) and the manager were engaging.

We very much liked sharing a dinner table with them and the other guests.

A bonus to have hippos on the lawn at night.

A great stay, so action packed that we didn't even have time to walk into Kasane.

* Our booking stated that we had a thatched cottage, (I only noticed this after we left), but were put into a terraced room. I can't say it made any difference to our enjoyment, just thought I'd mention it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Prime location"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2018
"I would put average, but you go there for access to the falls, which it delivers. Good pool and grounds.

Food and staff not brilliant except for the concierge. She was very helpful with flight check-ins and boarding pass printing - at no charge.

To be fair, the breakfast was fine. For dinner, very little of the menu was available and the standard was variable."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team