This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nest Hotel
Nest Hotel
Nest Hotel

Reviews of Nest Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

57 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nest Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 57
Duration
Arrival date
Greg's group
Regina

"Great Location!! "

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2019
"Our stay here was fine, and we enjoyed the view and fresh air from our oceanside room.

The twin beds were small, short for my 6'4 husband, but comfortable. Both breakfast and dinner in the hotel were good, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We explored the area and had two fantastic visits to Kolmannskuppe.

The perfect location for our agenda." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr CB & Dr MB
Tring

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"The hotel is right by the sea but pretty boring and in a pretty boring town.

The room was fine and clean and the food in the restaurant good. The pool was closed all the time we were there for no apparent reason." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr A.
Hertford

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2019
"A good location but hotel needs to improve its attention to detail" See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr A & Mrs K
Wilts

"Nice room with sea view."

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"Very different to the other accommodation we stayed in, being a 73 room hotel and we were just another anonymous pair of guests. That said it was fine for what we wanted.

If we did the trip again we would probably not bother with Lüderitz. A long way to drive (there and back) for not a lot of benefit." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Dr J.
London

"Nest Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"I wish we had eaten our evening meal outside the hotel.

The food in the hotel was disappointing." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Linda & Paul
UK

"Top hotel in great location"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2018
"An extremely well run hotel with very helpful staff - location and food excellent.

The sea view and sound of the waves right underneath our window were memorable." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Linda & Paul
UK

"Wonderful location and facilities"

3 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2018
"A very efficiently run and friendly hotel and the meals were excellent.

The location was wonderful with sea views from the bedroom windows along with the continuous sound of the waves below the window.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay here." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Farnham

"Comfortable & a little more formal than most "

2 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2018
"The clientelle clearly expect a more formal stay at this hotel, which is in a perfect situation on the water's edge. However, we chose to eat out in the evenings, as the restaurant required no shorts etc." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Hook

"Typical modern hotel right by the sea"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2017
"Overall a good modern style hotel with usual facilities.

Food plenty of choice, although restaurant was very busy on our second night due to some outside tour groups using it for the food only. Although we had booked a table as had others staying at hotel, it was extremely chaotic with some staff becoming quite agitated.

They had over booked and had to make alternative arrangements for some." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Comfortable business style hotel"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"Large hotel, slightly lacking in character but in an excellent location on the edge of town perched right above the rocks on the shore of the bay.

Rooms were comfortable although not large and we were disturbed at 4 am by a security alarm in a nearby room which could apparently not be turned off without intervention from Windhoek - not available until breakfast time. There was no mention of the alarm when we checked out and no apology volunteered.

We really enjoyed going to Kolmanskop, a deserted mining town 9km away. Eerie empty buildings gradually filling with sand blown in from the surrounding dunes." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 57
80%
57 reviews of Nest Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
28
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

The rustic chalets at Eagle's Nest on the Klein-Aus Vista reserve make a scenic base for hiking in the mountains, or just to enjoy the solitude.


95% (79 reviews)
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

On the edge of the Namib Desert, the Desert Horse Inn makes a comfortable base for hiking, visiting Lüderitz, or seeking out the area's feral horses.


89% (43 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa