This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nest Hotel
Nest Hotel
Nest Hotel

Reviews of Nest Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nest Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Flying Dutchmen
NL

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2024
"The Nest Hotel is an outdated hotel (inside and outside) with a beautiful location and view and with a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are nothing special. The restaurant has a nice menu with enough choice and with one amazing dish (my guilty pleasure): crêpes Suzette, which are flambéed at your table. Nom nom nom!!

The days were very hot but the pool looked closed." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
JD
Harrogate

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2023
"We realise that there are not many accommodation options in Luderitz and hoped that the poor reviews we had seen about The Nest Hotel would not apply to our stay. Unfortunately we were very disappointed with everything about this hotel.

When we arrived the reception staff were reluctant to even get up and attend to us. When someone did come to the desk we were told our room was not yet ready and told to go away for about half an hour. When we returned the receptionist was slightly more helpful and he recommended we would need to book to get a table in the restaurant which we did.

The Penguin Restaurant gets very good reviews so we were looking forward to a lovely evening. The waiting staff were rude and made us feel very uncomfortable throughout our meal. It also was very busy so no need to book.

For our second night we chose to eat on the quay side at Essenzeit which was so much better and we wished we had eaten there both nights. Our whole experience at the Nest was disappointing to say the least." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Explorer
Dan Brownlee

"Nest Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2023
"Great location for a visit to Luderitz and the Atlantic Ocean. Easy to walk around. Good location to visit the CDM "ghost town"." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Wallington
UK

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2023
"Standard hotel room with pleasant sea view.
Breakfast was fine, but we didn't eat any other hotel meals.
The swimming pool had not been cleaned for some time and was unusable." See all these reviews: 30n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs C
Barbados

"Nest Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jul 2022
"We stayed in luderitz to visit the kolmanskop at sunset.

Town is not up to much however hotel whilst a little dated and lacking in charm has excellent facilities. The suite was large with fabulous views of the sea….. all the usual in room extras you would expect, fridge, hairdryer etc with a brand new shower and copious hot water. A great respite from the lodge scene for a night.

Dinner (despite the restaurant having little atmosphere) had excellent food with charming staff and our take away breakfast was as requested and ready and waiting for us at reception." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Greg's group
Regina

"Great Location!! "

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2019
"Our stay here was fine, and we enjoyed the view and fresh air from our oceanside room.

The twin beds were small, short for my 6'4 husband, but comfortable. Both breakfast and dinner in the hotel were good, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We explored the area and had two fantastic visits to Kolmannskuppe.

The perfect location for our agenda." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr CB & Dr MB
Tring

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"The hotel is right by the sea but pretty boring and in a pretty boring town.

The room was fine and clean and the food in the restaurant good. The pool was closed all the time we were there for no apparent reason." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr A.
Hertford

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2019
"A good location but hotel needs to improve its attention to detail" See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr A & Mrs K
Wilts

"Nice room with sea view."

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"Very different to the other accommodation we stayed in, being a 73 room hotel and we were just another anonymous pair of guests. That said it was fine for what we wanted.

If we did the trip again we would probably not bother with Lüderitz. A long way to drive (there and back) for not a lot of benefit." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Dr J.
London

"Nest Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"I wish we had eaten our evening meal outside the hotel.

The food in the hotel was disappointing." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 62
79%
62 reviews of Nest Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
30
14
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

The rustic chalets at Eagle's Nest on the Klein-Aus Vista reserve make a scenic base for hiking in the mountains, or just to enjoy the solitude.


96% (85 reviews)
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

On the edge of the Namib Desert, the Desert Horse Inn makes a comfortable base for hiking, visiting Lüderitz, or seeking out the area's feral horses.


89% (49 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa