Reviews of Nest Hotel
They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.
Well located right, on the sea.
The hotel is very well located and the rooms are good enough, but nothing else.
We had a terrible service in the restaurant, with a very low quality food.
Expert Africa comments
Ulf Grunewald, The Nests general manager, came back to us very swiftly on this feedback. He wrote
On behalf of management and staff, I want to express my sincere apologies for the poor service this traveller experienced in our restaurant. This is not the usual level of service and gastronomic quality that we normally deliver and is unacceptable. It is our pro-active approach to act upon such feedback and to take corrective action
Our restaurant caters to many local, regional and international visitors, including government dignitaries, and the overwhelming majority speak highly of our hotel, our excellent menus and our hospitable staff. Clearly on this occasion, we failed these travellers.
Once again, please extend our sincere apologies.
Lovely room overlooking the setiing sun over the South Atlantic. Helpful staff. They booked an early boat trip for us.Read more about the whole trip
A modern hotel right on the edge of the bay with its own small beach. On the outside edge of town where you have to pass between an old power station having asbestos removed, not very welcoming!
The rooms were nice and comfortable but for some reason after we had settled into our room we were asked to re pack and move to another room, as there was a problem with the one we had been booked into. We were not told what the problem was. We had three nights here so that we could explore Luderitz and the surrounding area. The food at the hotel was excellent and plenty of it as it was a buffet style restaurant and of a very high standard.
The only problem was it was a large hotel, often with several tour coaches staying as well, so at times when they all descended on the restaurant at the same time it did get quite difficult to get to the buffet. The hotel were also not at all helpful with the request that had been made for our dietary requirements. It came across as a very much that they couldn't be bothered attitude, which was very different from everywhere else we had stayed, some of which were very remote and who had gone to great lengths for us. It wasn't until we had finally managed to speak to the boss, that it all started to get sorted, but that was at the end of our stay.
Not a good example of Namibian hospitality - a place we wouldn't be particularly keen to stay in again.
Comfortable rooms with lovely views over sea
The accommodation is what would be expected from a hotel of this standard
The rooms were very comfortable and the views were lovely after days in the desert
The journey from the canyon to Luderitz was very varied with stops to see wild horses and the desert sand blowing across the road for the last 20 km
Luderitz has probably seen better days but we were fortunate to have sunny and not too windy weather so enjoyed a very interesting trip to Kolmanshoop and a trip around the peninsula seeing flamingoes penguins etc
The food in the restaurant was however not good
Nest Hotel Review
It was quite a surprise to discover the really quite smart 'Nest Hotel' jutting out into the sea but hiding at the end of an unpaved road surrounded by buildings under construction. Quite a contradiction!
We were given a warm welcome and the porter kindly came with brush and duster for our luggage (much needed!) and we were shown to our truly delightful room looking out to sea with the waves crashing beneath us. Wonderful!!
The hotel had a lovely palm fringed pool & the food in the restaurant was very good.
Nest Hotel review
There with two quite large tour groups which made the restaurant experience less pleasant
it is always a contrast to stay here right by the sea as part of our trips to Namibia. As usual we found the staff a mixture of pleasant and disinterested if not sometimes rude but we had a particularly enjoyable seafood dinner served by an enthusiastic waitress full of personality.
She loved showing us how to make crepes suzette! As there were no groups staying that night and therefore no buffet it was a very relaxed personal experience . The rooms have all you need although bottled water was not provided this time.
Nest Hotel review
Good base to explore Luderitz fromRead more about the whole trip
Nest Hotel in Luderitz
Although the hotel itself was a fairly standard international-style design, the location of our room - on the ground floor and just a few metres from the waves and ocean bird life - was stunning. Breakfast was excellent although service was a little patchy.
We were told that Franzels restaurant in the town (recommended by Expert Africa) had closed 'some years ago'.
Nest Hotel, Luderitz
Large hotel but in a wonderful position on the coast. Good breakfast and evening meal.
We were able to visit Kolmanskop before sunrise and return for breakfast!