Reviews of Nest Hotel
They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.
Buffet on Saturday night
We were there on a Saturday night and surrounded by tour groups, the buffet dinner was not very good.
Sunday night was a la carte and much improved.
Expert Africa comments
We have forwarded these travellers� feedback to Ulf Gr�newald (the General Manager at the L�deritz Nest Hotel) and he was very apologetic for the service standards that did not meet our travellers� expectations on their first night�s stay. However, Ulf was pleased that the travellers had a better dining experience on their second night, with the full � la carte menu available.
The L�deritz Nest Hotel assures us that they are committed to providing the best possible experience for all their guests and they take onboard all the feedback that they received.
This is a dated large business hotel that feels quite impersonal. The bathroom is ok, the beds are comfortable and the sea view is nice. The air conditioning in our room didn't work properly - it just pumped out hot air.
The restaurant is expensive by Namibian standards and the service is incredibly slow. The food was quite nice though. Breakfast buffet was good. Wifi was free and reasonable.
I would recommend having dinner in the Bay View Hotel instead, although they don't take walk ins so you need to reserve a table in advance (the service here was also very slow but the food was better and the prices were much lower)
A pleasant hotel in an attractive location
This was the only actual hotel we stayed in rather than a safari lodge. It is clean and well-appointed on a headland to the south of the interesting, still very Germanic town of Luederitz. There is a good restaurant in the hotel although other places can be reached quite easily in town.
Although this was quite different from the much smaller places we used for the rest of our trip - the restaurant one night had a busload of guests which was almost a culture shock for us - the staff were friendly and helpful upholding the high standards we had already come to expect in Namibia.
We gave the room a rating of "good" as it was genuinely good, but not excellent if compared with some of the other safari lodge accommodation we had experienced.
Nest Hotel review
Charming little oasis set aside from the town. Very helpful and friendly staff. Safe parking. Loved my flaming crepe suzettes done at the table. Good breakfast buffet.
No malt whisky in the bar !
On the face of it a standard, local 4 star hotel but while we can't put our finger on why, it exceeded expectations and was very comfortable.
We specifically asked in advance for a room on the top floor with full sea view and balcony and I'm sure that added to our enjoyment. Waking up to the sound of the waves was very pleasant after days in the desert and the view splendid. Breakfast was very good and dinner at the a la carte Penguin restaurant was probably as good as anything in town.
The manager was notable in being visible at each mealtime and taking the trouble to speak to everyone - always a good sign. Free wi-fi. Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending.
Nest Hotel Luderitz
Reception staff very friendly and helpful,chasted up our early passes for kolmanskop.Read more about the whole trip
Well located right, on the sea.
The hotel is very well located and the rooms are good enough, but nothing else.
We had a terrible service in the restaurant, with a very low quality food.
Expert Africa comments
Ulf Grunewald, The Nests general manager, came back to us very swiftly on this feedback. He wrote
On behalf of management and staff, I want to express my sincere apologies for the poor service this traveller experienced in our restaurant. This is not the usual level of service and gastronomic quality that we normally deliver and is unacceptable. It is our pro-active approach to act upon such feedback and to take corrective action
Our restaurant caters to many local, regional and international visitors, including government dignitaries, and the overwhelming majority speak highly of our hotel, our excellent menus and our hospitable staff. Clearly on this occasion, we failed these travellers.
Once again, please extend our sincere apologies.
Lovely room overlooking the setiing sun over the South Atlantic. Helpful staff. They booked an early boat trip for us.Read more about the whole trip
A modern hotel right on the edge of the bay with its own small beach. On the outside edge of town where you have to pass between an old power station having asbestos removed, not very welcoming!
The rooms were nice and comfortable but for some reason after we had settled into our room we were asked to re pack and move to another room, as there was a problem with the one we had been booked into. We were not told what the problem was. We had three nights here so that we could explore Luderitz and the surrounding area. The food at the hotel was excellent and plenty of it as it was a buffet style restaurant and of a very high standard.
The only problem was it was a large hotel, often with several tour coaches staying as well, so at times when they all descended on the restaurant at the same time it did get quite difficult to get to the buffet. The hotel were also not at all helpful with the request that had been made for our dietary requirements. It came across as a very much that they couldn't be bothered attitude, which was very different from everywhere else we had stayed, some of which were very remote and who had gone to great lengths for us. It wasn't until we had finally managed to speak to the boss, that it all started to get sorted, but that was at the end of our stay.
Not a good example of Namibian hospitality - a place we wouldn't be particularly keen to stay in again.
Comfortable rooms with lovely views over sea
The accommodation is what would be expected from a hotel of this standard
The rooms were very comfortable and the views were lovely after days in the desert
The journey from the canyon to Luderitz was very varied with stops to see wild horses and the desert sand blowing across the road for the last 20 km
Luderitz has probably seen better days but we were fortunate to have sunny and not too windy weather so enjoyed a very interesting trip to Kolmanshoop and a trip around the peninsula seeing flamingoes penguins etc
The food in the restaurant was however not good