This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nest Hotel
Nest Hotel
Nest Hotel

Reviews of Nest Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

57 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nest Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 57
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs S
Surrey

"Generic hotel"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2017
"Hotel has no character - you could be anywhere in the world - shame ! However the food was good, rooms fine & nice sea views.

We ate here one night & one night at Ritzi's - where we had huge seafood platter & plate of crayfish which were excellent (and a lot cheaper than elsewhere).

Lots to do in and around Luderitz - we could have stayed more than 2 nights. Interesting church , Goerke House to go round ; Kolmanskop is a MUST, don't bother with agate beach - but go onto the peninsula to Diaz point (and beyond if you have 4WD) - lots of birds to see & great sea views. We also did the boat trip to see the penguins plus dolphins & many sea-birds which was good.

" See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Ms Q & Mr B
USA

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2016
"This is a striking location for a hotel and makes for a very picturesque building.

However, the building itself suffers from being a product of its age, somewhat tatty around the edges and with loose windows that rattle in the breezy conditions characteristic of this location.

The staff is friendly and helpful and the bar and restaurant are comfortable scenic places to relax.

Whilst in Luderitz these travellers enjoyed a catamaran cruise around Halifax Island, here's what they said about it:
The outing is must do adventure while in Luderitz, where else can you see penguins and flamingoes at the same time? The catamaran is pretty basic, with eveyrone sitting on sinmple benches in very windy cold conditions, but it would be hard to do this more upscale and still get the experience of seeing all the birds, and seals as well as you do form this vessel.

The guide on the boat was knowledgable and looked after our comfort by providing blankets and even rain gear to the less prepared and also serving us all warm drinks. The seas were quite rough the day we went but the catamaran itself and the skill of the captain in handlling the boat resulted in a much gentler ride then we expected.

We appreciated the guides style in telling us about what we were seeing. He had a nice sense of humor but avoided cheesy commentary that can be so common on cruises in the rest of the world." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr H
Michigan

"Good location and views"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Better than expected hotel"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2016
"Probably the only choice in Luderitz.

Clean and confortable room, and nice seafood restaurant. The bar is small and pokey though and suffered froma few people eating in the area.

Was full of coach tour people and staff not very friendly.

We only stayed one night and in hindsight we probably could have travelled in from Aus. The town itself doesn't have a lot to offer. Kolmanskop, one of the main draws is only open from 8am to 1pm. We got to the site early to look around alone before the coach loads arrived for the 9.30 and 11.00 tours.

The sea trips (now on a catamaran not the old Schooner) only run in the morning so if you do the trip to Halifax island you can just rush to make the last tour at Kolmanskop on the same day. High winds and rough seas meant the boat trip wasn't running anyway. If we we had only intended to go to Kolmanskop and some driving around we could have stayed in Aus.

Luderitz is clearly struggling economically with not much to see after a few historical buildings but worth a trip out from the Fish River Canyon to see the surrounding area." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Cambs.

"Terrific view of the sea from room"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2016
"We asked for a sea-view room and certainly got it, it felt like we were walking out into the sea when we walked into the room! This is a big hotel compared to most outside Windhoek and service on the reception desk was a bit impersonal but the restaurant staff were friendly and overall it was a much pleasanter hotel than expected.

Lots of people we met travelling round Namibia missed out Luderitz. This is a shame because it has some interesting architecture (Goerke House in particular) and the experience of driving there through a sandstorm was one of the highlights of our journey! The boat trip to see the penguins is recommended, as is visiting the ghost town of Kolmanskop." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
NSW

"Great location"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2016
"Located right on the water with great views from the room.

Food nice as well." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Worsley

"Nest Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2016
"Good location, comfortable room, might have liked the option of a balcony if we had known they were available.

Breakfast was good, the best breakfast rolls in Namibia" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Staffs

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2016
"This hotel is superbly located on the sea shore and offers a level of luxury that we really appreciated after some difficult long driving.

The hotel has all the facilities you could wish for ,including some stunning sea views and some seals in the water as well.

Luderitz is worth a visit to look at the German architecture,and gain an impression of how life used to be years ago." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr A
Washington

"Nest Hotel"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2015
"A comfortable travel hotel at the end of the long drive to Luderitz from the Fish River Canyon, but not much more. Well located in town on a point overlooking water on three sides.

Attractive outdoor areas for enjoying fish-andf-chips in the brisk sea air. A disappointing restaurant with poor service (though the presence of an international windsurfing/kitesurfing festival probably contributed).

While Luderitz itself has relatively little in the way of tourist attractions, the drive between Luderitz and Aus is amazing, with the Namib-Nakluft Desert on full display in all its arid beauty," See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr C & Mrs L
UK

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2015
"Nothing exceptional but a quite adequate hotel with a good outlook over the sea and convenient for the town." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 57
80%
57 reviews of Nest Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
28
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

The rustic chalets at Eagle's Nest on the Klein-Aus Vista reserve make a scenic base for hiking in the mountains, or just to enjoy the solitude.


95% (79 reviews)
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

On the edge of the Namib Desert, the Desert Horse Inn makes a comfortable base for hiking, visiting Lüderitz, or seeking out the area's feral horses.


89% (43 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa