This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs P from Hook

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Namibia experience

Namibia between 10 Oct 2017 and 28 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was everything and more we had hoped for, having spent many hours viewing the itinerary and guide books prior to our departure.

Many wonderful experiences, the highlights being the friendliness of the local people and the wildlife of Etosha, magical."

Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Good location"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2017
"Good location in centre of town. Accommodation clean and well presented.

Food options very good and enjoyed the separate cafe facility."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Beautiful location"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2017
"Location perfect for visiting Fish River Canyon.

Excellent facilities in a beautiful setting. Enjoyed the wildlife roaming free in the grounds.

Food options were good, well presented by friendly staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Typical modern hotel right by the sea"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2017
"Overall a good modern style hotel with usual facilities.

Food plenty of choice, although restaurant was very busy on our second night due to some outside tour groups using it for the food only. Although we had booked a table as had others staying at hotel, it was extremely chaotic with some staff becoming quite agitated.

They had over booked and had to make alternative arrangements for some."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

"The Faulty Towers of Namibia"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2017
"Fortunately we only spent one night here and that was one too many.

Staff were generally quite rude, the room was very basic, with a small very uncomfortable double bed. The food was poor with no choice. The pool area was quite dirty, the sun beds were stained and there was a dead rodent floating in the pool.

Generally a very unpleasant experience."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kuala Desert Lodge - perfect"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2017
"Spectacular location, attentive staff, excellent facilities, great food.

Very relaxing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Organic Square

Organic Square

"Lovely B&B"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2017
"Quiet location near to the centre of Swakopmund.

Very warm welcome from manager who provided lots of useful information on area.

Enjoyable stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Prefect lodge for viewing desert elephants"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2017
"This lodge was set on top of a rocky outcrop which gave for the prefect setting with beautiful sunsets. Staff could not be more friendly.

The game drives were extremely informative."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Excellent lodge for game viewing"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2017
"This lodge is government run and therefore the overall standards do not compare with the private lodges we had previously stayed in. Nevertheless we found it to be of a good standard overall.

However, the game viewing was exceptional. We did our own game viewing during the day, but the main attraction of this lodge, apart from location within Etosha, is the water hole. The two nights spent here, we saw numerous rhino and elephants and many other mammals. The water hole is very close to the camp so is easily accessible for all, with plenty of seating."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Good base for game viewing in East Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2017
"Very similar to the Okaukuejo camp in most respects.

However, the water hole was less accessible with a walk uphill on an uneven stone path, which some people found quite difficult in the dark. Also very little seating provision which meant standing for long periods of time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Africa- Cat plus Luxury lodge amazing"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2017
"This was by far the most luxurious of the lodges we stayed during our 3 week trip and certainly lived up to expectations.

The accommodation, staff and food were outstanding.

The Afri-Cat experience was incredible and our guide for the 2 days was interesting, informative and personable which made it very special."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team