This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nest Hotel
Nest Hotel
Nest Hotel

Reviews of Nest Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

57 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nest Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 57
Duration
Arrival date
Mr F & Ms E
USA

"The place to stay in Luderitz"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2015
"Nest hotel is not only the best known hotel in Luderitz, it's a local landmark and hangout, so it's a pretty bustling place in an otherwise sleepy town.

Situated at the very tip of a peninsula over the water of the bay, it has fantastic views on the ocean and the city from almost every room. The pool area looked very inviting, but we didn't check it out, it was too cold during our stay. The restaurant has an outdoor patio which is perfect during the day for lunch or a drink, and dinner was delicious; lots of options and very attentive service. They did lose our reservation the first night, but accommodated us anyway.

Reservations are definitely recommended, as they seem to be sticklers about having a reservation for dinner. Nest's location also makes it an easy starting point for exploring Luderitz on foot, or starting a drive of the area. The concierge was happy to spend the time to explain all our tour options to us, and make suggestions for things to see." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Newport

"GREAT LOCATION"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr W & Mrs N
Cumbria

"A good base for Luderitz"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2015
"Served as a good base.

We were in Luderitz during high winds and sand storms, so we were bunkered down to some extent here. We would have liked to dine at other places in town but the weather prevented us on Saturday and The Nest seems to be the only restaurant open on Sunday.

Generally the hotel was of a good international standard." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Bristol

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2014
"This was a very modern and well appointed hotel with an excellent Wi-Fi system which we could access in our room. There was some confusion on the first night and we were told we had to have the set menu. On the second night we were denied access to the set menu and told we had to have al la carte as we were only booked for b&b. Strange as our meal on the second night was cheaper than on the first night! Service in the restaurant was very slow and staff not as friendly as those on reception." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr D & Ms E
Herts

"Buffet on Saturday night"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2014
"We were there on a Saturday night and surrounded by tour groups, the buffet dinner was not very good.

Sunday night was a la carte and much improved." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Miss K & Mr G
London

"Nest Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2014
"This is a dated large business hotel that feels quite impersonal. The bathroom is ok, the beds are comfortable and the sea view is nice. The air conditioning in our room didn't work properly - it just pumped out hot air.

The restaurant is expensive by Namibian standards and the service is incredibly slow. The food was quite nice though. Breakfast buffet was good. Wifi was free and reasonable.

I would recommend having dinner in the Bay View Hotel instead, although they don't take walk ins so you need to reserve a table in advance (the service here was also very slow but the food was better and the prices were much lower)" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"A pleasant hotel in an attractive location"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2014
"This was the only actual hotel we stayed in rather than a safari lodge. It is clean and well-appointed on a headland to the south of the interesting, still very Germanic town of Luederitz. There is a good restaurant in the hotel although other places can be reached quite easily in town.

Although this was quite different from the much smaller places we used for the rest of our trip - the restaurant one night had a busload of guests which was almost a culture shock for us - the staff were friendly and helpful upholding the high standards we had already come to expect in Namibia.

We gave the room a rating of "good" as it was genuinely good, but not excellent if compared with some of the other safari lodge accommodation we had experienced." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Glasgow

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2014
"Charming little oasis set aside from the town. Very helpful and friendly staff. Safe parking. Loved my flaming crepe suzettes done at the table. Good breakfast buffet.

No malt whisky in the bar !" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Mrs L
Norfolk

"Surprisingly Good"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2013
"On the face of it a standard, local 4 star hotel but while we can't put our finger on why, it exceeded expectations and was very comfortable.

We specifically asked in advance for a room on the top floor with full sea view and balcony and I'm sure that added to our enjoyment. Waking up to the sound of the waves was very pleasant after days in the desert and the view splendid. Breakfast was very good and dinner at the a la carte Penguin restaurant was probably as good as anything in town.

The manager was notable in being visible at each mealtime and taking the trouble to speak to everyone - always a good sign. Free wi-fi. Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Hampshire

"Nest Hotel Luderitz"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2013
"Reception staff very friendly and helpful,chasted up our early passes for kolmanskop." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 57
80%
57 reviews of Nest Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
28
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

The rustic chalets at Eagle's Nest on the Klein-Aus Vista reserve make a scenic base for hiking in the mountains, or just to enjoy the solitude.


95% (79 reviews)
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

On the edge of the Namib Desert, the Desert Horse Inn makes a comfortable base for hiking, visiting Lüderitz, or seeking out the area's feral horses.


89% (43 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa