This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nest Hotel
Nest Hotel
Nest Hotel

Reviews of Nest Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

57 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nest Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 57
Duration
Arrival date
Ms G & Mr M
Spain

"Well located right, on the sea."

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2013
"The hotel is very well located and the rooms are good enough, but nothing else.

We had a terrible service in the restaurant, with a very low quality food." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Dr & Mrs M
Newcastle

"Nest Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2013
"Lovely room overlooking the setiing sun over the South Atlantic. Helpful staff. They booked an early boat trip for us." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Nest Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2013
"A modern hotel right on the edge of the bay with its own small beach. On the outside edge of town where you have to pass between an old power station having asbestos removed, not very welcoming!

The rooms were nice and comfortable but for some reason after we had settled into our room we were asked to re pack and move to another room, as there was a problem with the one we had been booked into. We were not told what the problem was. We had three nights here so that we could explore Luderitz and the surrounding area. The food at the hotel was excellent and plenty of it as it was a buffet style restaurant and of a very high standard.

The only problem was it was a large hotel, often with several tour coaches staying as well, so at times when they all descended on the restaurant at the same time it did get quite difficult to get to the buffet. The hotel were also not at all helpful with the request that had been made for our dietary requirements. It came across as a very much that they couldn't be bothered attitude, which was very different from everywhere else we had stayed, some of which were very remote and who had gone to great lengths for us. It wasn't until we had finally managed to speak to the boss, that it all started to get sorted, but that was at the end of our stay.

Not a good example of Namibian hospitality - a place we wouldn't be particularly keen to stay in again." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Newbridge

"Comfortable rooms with lovely views over sea"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2013
"The accommodation is what would be expected from a hotel of this standard

The rooms were very comfortable and the views were lovely after days in the desert

The journey from the canyon to Luderitz was very varied with stops to see wild horses and the desert sand blowing across the road for the last 20 km

Luderitz has probably seen better days but we were fortunate to have sunny and not too windy weather so enjoyed a very interesting trip to Kolmanshoop and a trip around the peninsula seeing flamingoes penguins etc

The food in the restaurant was however not good

Staff welcoming." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
JBB
Surrey

"Nest Hotel Review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2013
"It was quite a surprise to discover the really quite smart 'Nest Hotel' jutting out into the sea but hiding at the end of an unpaved road surrounded by buildings under construction. Quite a contradiction!

We were given a warm welcome and the porter kindly came with brush and duster for our luggage (much needed!) and we were shown to our truly delightful room looking out to sea with the waves crashing beneath us. Wonderful!!

The hotel had a lovely palm fringed pool & the food in the restaurant was very good." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Cheltenham

"Nest Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 23 May 2013
"There with two quite large tour groups which made the restaurant experience less pleasant" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr B
Suffolk

"Good Contrast"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2012
"it is always a contrast to stay here right by the sea as part of our trips to Namibia. As usual we found the staff a mixture of pleasant and disinterested if not sometimes rude but we had a particularly enjoyable seafood dinner served by an enthusiastic waitress full of personality.

She loved showing us how to make crepes suzette! As there were no groups staying that night and therefore no buffet it was a very relaxed personal experience . The rooms have all you need although bottled water was not provided this time." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Wilts

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2012
"Good base to explore Luderitz from" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Mrs M
UK

"Nest Hotel in Luderitz"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2012
"Although the hotel itself was a fairly standard international-style design, the location of our room - on the ground floor and just a few metres from the waves and ocean bird life - was stunning. Breakfast was excellent although service was a little patchy.

We were told that Franzels restaurant in the town (recommended by Expert Africa) had closed 'some years ago'." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & friends
UK

"Nest Hotel, Luderitz"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2012
"Large hotel but in a wonderful position on the coast. Good breakfast and evening meal.

We were able to visit Kolmanskop before sunrise and return for breakfast!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 57
80%
57 reviews of Nest Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
28
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

The rustic chalets at Eagle's Nest on the Klein-Aus Vista reserve make a scenic base for hiking in the mountains, or just to enjoy the solitude.


95% (79 reviews)
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

On the edge of the Namib Desert, the Desert Horse Inn makes a comfortable base for hiking, visiting Lüderitz, or seeking out the area's feral horses.


89% (43 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa