This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr & Mrs M from Newcastle

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

October 2013 trip to Namibia- fabulous

Namibia between 3 Oct 2013 and 21 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thank you Maruska for organising this trip for us. We had planned to join an organised bus tour but the one we wanted was full. Thank goodness it was. You told us that driving ourselves was ok and you were right. We would have been very frustrated on a bus tour. We like to do our own thing and sit and watch the scenery and chat to the locals.

We did not lose our baggage at Johannesburg airport. We booked it all the way through. Very pleased to see it arrive with us in Windhoek and Newcastle.

We met many people who had not gone to Fish River or Luderitz. We were really glad to have gone there. Not many people at Fish River and we enjoyed Luderitz very much. You warned us in the book about driving to Luderitz- the sand and wind- but we found it much worse appropaching Walvis Bay- I suppose it depends on the weather on the day.

We did not feel we had time to arrange a trip to the ghost town of Kolmanskop so we dropped in there on the way east to have a look from the gates. We had been told we needed to book in advance in Luderitz but the man on the gate sold us a ticket so we went in. So it's worth trying that, or maybe they have changed the rules. We did not join a group but wandered around ourselves.

We were pleased to have a 4WD. We attempted more because of that eg tracks down to the coves on the Luderitz peninsula and certainly we would not have got up back up one of them withpout it! I did worry about having a puncture in the middle of nowhere but we did not have any. But drivers seem very helpful- we stopped when we saw someone else at the side of the road and hopefully we would also have had offers of help.

We went up the Cape Cross to see the seals after leaving Swakopmund. That was certainly worhwhile.

We would thoroughly recommend the trip to see the Desert Elephants in Damaraland. We visited the other places there by ourselves. We also visited Sossusvlei ourselves from Kalala. The drive up the entrance was not too bad and the road was empty. We spent all day out and visited the Sesriem Canyon on the way out.

All the hotels/ guest houses were excellent. We thought the standard of service was superb.

Thank you again for your help and advice. I will certainly recommend Expert Africa to my friends. We would love to go back to Namibia; it is such a big country and we felt we just scratched the surface. We want to go to Botswana too so I suspect we will be back to talk to you!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Can't think of anything.

Being open at 10 pm UK time ( in NZ) was very useful to us!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Elegant Guest House - excellent"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"Lovely place to stay on our first night. Very comfortable . friendly, helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge very comfortable"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2013
"Nice room, lovely surroundings with an area to sit outside. Food excellent too as was the service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge- superb"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"What a lovely place. Service was superb.

We joined the walk up the rocks in the evening to watch the sunset. Swimming pool was good.

We were booked in here by accident - we should have been at Canon Roadhouse. I think it was better to be here, nearer the canyon, But we dropped off at the Roadhouse on the way in and out and were fascinated by the cars. Cannot comment on the accomodation there but the staff were very helpful and the shop was good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nest Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2013
"Lovely room overlooking the setiing sun over the South Atlantic. Helpful staff. They booked an early boat trip for us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Sinclair Guest House"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2013
"We enjoyed this very much. The owner was very welcoming and it was interesting to hear her history and views on Namibia.

She advised us to go for a walk to the old copper mine after afternoon tea. The other guests were German so we practised our language skills! It was good to all sit around the table together at dinner and breakfast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2013
"Such a lovely place, again superb service. Cannot fault it.

We did not use their tours but drove ourselves everywhere which was fine.

Lovely pool."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

"Sandfields Guest House"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2013
"Very helpful in booking a table at a restaurant the 1st night. Good food and lots of information available.

Comfortable room and large bathroom."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2013
"What a lovely place again. Very helpful and we enjoyed exchanging tales with other guests.

We went on the trip to find the desert elephants- we were very pleased we had done this. We saw lots and would thoroughly recommend to others.

We visited the other local sites by car ourselves which was very easy to do."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2013
"Comfortable accomodation with large bedroom and kitchen/ living room. Enjoyed watching the wildlife at the water hole although there was not much there. Very good location for trips out into the park.

We went out for the whole day to the east and saw lots of animals."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2013
"Accomodation itself was very good.

We were glad that we had gone to Halail first- we saw lots of animals in the eastern part of the park and then returned west to Okaukuejo. We went out to the west of the camp but saw very little wildlife. If we had gone here first , I think we would have been disappointed."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House"

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2013
"We stayed here the last night in Namibia. Easy to find on the map , very welcoming. Lovely room. Our insurance did not allow us to drive after sunset so we were pleased that Galton House offered us a meal in the evening. I think this is very important- we had driven all day and did not want to go out again.

If I had the choice, I would want to stay here at the beginning as well or at least somewhere which offered an evening meal.

Unfortunately I did not find the swimming pool until we were about to leave - my fault!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team