This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Newbridge

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

As amazing as expected and more

Namibia between 15 Jul 2013 and 4 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had excellent service from the outset. The help and information provided were excellent. Chris McIntyre's book never let us down.

We cannot recommend Expert Africa highly enough.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Afraid not! Everything was so well planned for us
We appreciated the first night visit from local rep who supplied some local advice

Cannot thank you enough"

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Excellent welcome after long flight"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2013
"The accommodation is easily accessible from the airport. Very welcoming and helpful. Quiet oasis in Windhoek"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Good stopover on way to Fish River Canyon"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2013
"We stopped here on the way to Fish River Canyon

We arrived quite late having visited quiver tree forest and watching the cheetah feeding just north of lodge

Rooms quite basic but more than adequate"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Upgrade to canon lodge"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2013
"We were lucky enough to be upgraded to Canon Lodge

Our lodge was one of the ones at the edge of the resort and had uninterrupted views of the desert. The setting is very peaceful, accommodation quite unique with the showers built into the rocks

Food was probably the most varied of our trip and the singing of the staff ended a wonderful stay. From here the canyon is very accessible despite the road works

Lovely views for watching sunset"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Comfortable rooms with lovely views over sea"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2013
"The accommodation is what would be expected from a hotel of this standard

The rooms were very comfortable and the views were lovely after days in the desert

The journey from the canyon to Luderitz was very varied with stops to see wild horses and the desert sand blowing across the road for the last 20 km

Luderitz has probably seen better days but we were fortunate to have sunny and not too windy weather so enjoyed a very interesting trip to Kolmanshoop and a trip around the peninsula seeing flamingoes penguins etc

The food in the restaurant was however not good

Staff welcoming."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Welcoming stay"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2013
"Found the farm easily and enjoyed afternoon tea in the open air

Walk to the mine which we managed to miss but this was more than made up for by watching the sun go down at the same time that the moon was rising.

Lovely home made food in the excellent company of the owner - we learned so much about Namibia"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Lovely lodge in a beautiful location"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2013
"We arrived tired and dusty to the warmest of welcomes. Staff could not have been more helpful

Accommodation - best tent I have ever stayed in! Nights were cold but climbing into a very comfortable bed where staff had placed hot water bottles was wonderful.

The views from the veranda are amazing and so peaceful

Special mention for our guide Ambrose who took us to the dunes at sunrise. Lovely, friendly and knowledgable man who made our trip"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Lovely location with excellent restaurant"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2013
"The road from Sossusvlei to Swapokmund was by far the worst we travelled on in Namibia which resulted in us arriving at Beach Lodge just as the sun was setting. Glorious view from the front of the hotel. Enjoyed watching the surfers as the sun set.

The restaurant was busy and you could understand why when you tasted the food. Breakfast taken enjoying the views from the restaurant"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2013
"Our favourite lodge.

The accommodation is excellent with spacious rooms sliding doors giving uninterrupted views to the mountains beyond. Staff were so helpful and their evening singing and dancing very enjoyable

The lodge affords easy access to other local attractions but the highlight was the safari to search for desert adapted elephants

Michael shared his knowledge and enthusiasm with us , successfully tracking the elephants to the local village and then moving the jeep to various locations to watch these amazing animals. Had the priveledge of watching 20 elephants including a 7 day old one in their natural environment.

It was the only lodge that we could not use hair dryers in the rooms but considering everything else that Dora Nawas has to offer this did not affect our stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2013
"Having read a variety of reviews we were not sure what to expect. However we were pleasantly surprised

Our accommodation was good, service was fine although not comparable to the private lodges. However the location and accessibility to the park more than makes up for that. We saw so many Incredible things - the waterhole was constantly changing and we were rarely troubled by noise. Even at lunchtime you could find 20 elephants enjoying a drink.

We had no hassle with service having been forewarned by expertafrica about things such as key deposit. Would not hesitate to visit again"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Another good place within park"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2013
"Another amazing water hole - more intimate but no less populated by a variety of animals.

Accommodation and services good. Location location location - so close to many waterholes . We always thought that having seen something unbelievable at 1 waterhole that it could not get better - and then it did

Had the misfortune of a driver reversing into us at speed in the park and having "limped"back to camp staff could not have been more helpful in providing temp repairs to the vehicle."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Final night"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2013
"Arrived in time for afternoon tea. After a slightly stressful journey as our car had been damaged in Etosha it was lovely to arrive to the relaxed hospitality of Okinjima. We were the first residents in 1 of the new view chalets. Amazing acoomodation with panoramic windows. Enjoyed afternoon watching oryx and warthogs

Dinner was very good and enjoyed the company of others during the meal. Went on the after dinner drive in search of cheetah - no luck but did see a pangolin

Exceptionally comfortable night's sleep"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team