This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs P from Glasgow

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

3

Trip to Namibia in January 2014

Namibia between 7 Jan 2014 and 22 Jan 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fabulous country - brilliant scenery, good accommodation, lovely food, friendly people

Couple of minor hiccups sorted out.

Only disappointment was lack of air con and ice at Desert Homestead which was otherwise a great place to stay.

Book on Namibia was very helpful. We read ahead before each change of location. It was helpful to know the best places to stop on the long car journeys

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

January is so hot - should always recommend air-con.

But we were very satisfied overall and are happy to recommend Expert Africa to anyone considering a holiday to Namibia,"

Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2014
"Very friendly staff, lovely big room, excellent breakfasts. Parking was safe.

Short walk into the centre of Windhoek."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jan 2014
"Fantastic location. Charming chalet and very helpful staff.

Enjoyed dinner but recommend using insect repellent when eating outside in the evening."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2014
"interesting location and unusual accommodation. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would have liked a mini bar in the room. Their "minibar" which was a large fridge next to the distant swim pool was not ideal.

Buffet meals in the evening were excellent and lovely breakfasts too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2014
"Charming little oasis set aside from the town. Very helpful and friendly staff. Safe parking. Loved my flaming crepe suzettes done at the table. Good breakfast buffet.

No malt whisky in the bar !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Halifax Island boat trip

Halifax Island boat trip

"Super trip just for the two of us"

14 Jan 2014 • Morning excursion

Because there were only two of us on the trip it was very personal. Knowledgeable owner.

Saw lots of penguins, dolphins and seals and got a lot of interesting history as well. Definitely recommend this tour
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Great trip to dunes but too hot at night"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2014
"Charming accommodation spoiled by no air conditioning in the room, an absolute necessity in January. Also bar could only make 3 ice cubes per 30 minutes in the ineffective machine. Need a better solution. New owners seem enthusiastic but need to fix these problems.

Food was very good. Best was the trip to the dunes. Marco was good fun and very knowledgeable."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"Nice place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2014
"Unusual accommodation was very comfortable with lovely views to the sea and of the various seabirds. Quiet location. Safe parking. Lovely breakfast with friendly staff.

Office receptionist was very helpful and friendly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Great day out to the dunes"

18 Jan 2014 • All-day excursion

Super day our with Ernest. Very knowledgeable. Good at spotting birds, animals, bugs etc. Lovely lunch on top of the dunes.

Scary drive over the dunes but we were in safe hands. Definitely recommend.
Excellent
Dolphin and seal cruise

Dolphin and seal cruise

"Super marine cruise"

19 Jan 2014 • All-day excursion

Only problem was that we had not been told which company we were sailing with as there are quite a few leaving from the same location! However once sorted out all went well.

Gentle sail on the catamaran with surprise guests - seal, pelicans, jelly fish. Lots of noisy seals and a few penguins. Good commentary. Lunch was super - too much to eat and beautifully presented and managed.

A recommended trip
Excellent
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Lovely last night at Elegant Farmstead"

1 night Arrived 20 Jan 2014
"Very friendly staff and because it was quiet they had plenty of time to speak with us. Cooking was lovely.

Room spacious and comfortable. Charming place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team