This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Halifax Island boat trip

Halifax Island boat trip

Reviews: Halifax Island boat trip

Below are independent comments from 9 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-9 of 9
Date
Ms Q & Mr B
USA

"Great way to see penguins and flamigoes"

Based at Nest Hotel on 8 Oct 2016
"The outing is must do adventure while in Luderitz, where else can you see penguins and flamingoes at the same time? The catamaran is pretty basic, with eveyrone sitting on sinmple benches in very windy cold conditions, but it would be hard to do this more upscale and still get the experience of seeing all the birds, and seals as well as you do form this vessel.

The guide on the boat was knowledgable and looked after our comfort by providing blankets and even rain gear to the less prepared and also serving us all warm drinks. The seas were quite rough the day we went but the catamaran itself and the skill of the captain in handlling the boat resulted in a much gentler ride then we expected.

We appreciated the guides style in telling us about what we were seeing. He had a nice sense of humor but avoided cheesy commentary that can be so common on cruises in the rest of the world." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr H
Michigan

"well run and informative"

Based at Nest Hotel on 8 Oct 2016
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Glasgow

"Super trip just for the two of us"

Based at Nest Hotel on 14 Jan 2014
"Because there were only two of us on the trip it was very personal. Knowledgeable owner.

Saw lots of penguins, dolphins and seals and got a lot of interesting history as well. Definitely recommend this tour" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Sedina - a fantastic trip"

Based at Nest Hotel on 16 Sep 2013
"Sedina boat cruise - We had a wonderful trip out to Halifax Island with Renee on the Sedina. We were very lucky and had very good sightings of the Heavy side Dolphins playing alongside the boat on the way out, and on the way back. We also saw the penguins.

It was an exhilarating experience, partly due to the large rollers of the South Atlantic! And was one of our highlights, and we very much enjoyed our trip with Renee. The mug of hot chocolate went down well too." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Dr F & Mrs A
UK

"Not for me!"

5 Feb 2013
"My fault entirely. The day was cold and very windy, the sea rough. We did not realise how far out to sea was necessary and are not good sailors, so as soon as it got rough we asked to return.

The skipper and his helper were very kind about it and did not show any exasperation which would have been understandable." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Terrible
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Sedina Boat trip"

Based at Nest Hotel on 31 May 2011
"Rough seas off Luderitz were interesting but we made it there and back safely. It was good fun and the only way to see the penguins. We'd recommend it." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms F
Essex

"Sedina boat trip"

Based at Eagle's Nest on 10 May 2010
"I would highly recommend this trip - the gentleman in charge knew so much and it was small, so he had time to chat to everyone. He also made sure we all saw the wildlife within the limits of safety and you felt he was in awe of the wildlife as much as we were even though he must have seen it so many times before. We both loved it!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"UNEXPECTED BONUS"

Based at Eagle's Nest on 8 May 2010
"A great trip. The skipper was fun, very knowledgeable and informative. We saw doplhins and penguins on our trip out and then a hump-back whale breached in front of our boat on the return journey- a truly magical experience and one we never expected from our Namibian trip.

It was fascinating to learn so much about the fishing industry and tides of Namibia too. Well worth it- even without the whale sighting- although that was the icing on the cake!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Cold Front and Sandy Back"

Based at Eagle's Nest on 5 May 2008
"Do not arrange trips (with Wilderness) on a bank holiday. The boat trip is fantastic and the captain fun and knowledgeable. The only down side for me was the phone call from Wilderness asking me where i was as i had missed the trip, apart from that the seals are great the bird life good, dolphins stunning and the hot chocolate fantastic. Would definitely do this again, remember to take your jumper.

Kolmanskop - well it was a bank holiday and we did turn up an hour after the tour (on tame every other day of the year), having said that the guy on the gate did let us in and we did have the place pretty much to ourselves after all the tour people had left. Great place especially when the wind blows and all you can here is silence and history." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-9 of 9
91%
9 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
8
0
0
0
1
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team