This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms F from Essex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

2

Namibia 2010

Namibia between 5 May 2010 and 23 May 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was more than we expected - beautiful small lodges with such wonderful staff.

We saw the diferent landscapes of the country, loved the scenery and felt it was so easy to drive and explore the country.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I thought it was all very good!"

Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 5 May 2010
"Very helpful staff who helped us book our table at a local restaurant. Small guest house with lovely rooms."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 May 2010
"Beautiful lodge - we went on one of the early morning drives which was well worth the experience. The staff were excellent and the food was a set menu but of a very high standard."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Canon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2010
"Very close to the canyon and very helpful staff. Enjoyed the quirky layout with cars in the reception area.

Limited choice for vegetarians on the menu but great standard and good choice for those who eat full range. My partner said the steaks were one of the best!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2010
"Due to a mix up at the accomodation end we spent one night in desert horse inn and one in Eagle's Nest. The owner could not have been more apologetic and made up for it with free meals and wine. On balance I preferred the inn as although the Eagle's Nest was beautiful and remote, it was also visited by field mice who could smell our food from our BBQ which was not ideal for a phobic like myself! It may be an idea to warn people booking in advance.

Trip to Ludderitz and boat trip was out of this world - saw penguins, dolphins, and a whale!

Klein Aus Vista works with local community mentoring locals in business and hospitality so would highly recommend."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Halifax Island boat trip

Halifax Island boat trip

"Sedina boat trip"

10 May 2010 • Morning excursion

I would highly recommend this trip - the gentleman in charge knew so much and it was small, so he had time to chat to everyone. He also made sure we all saw the wildlife within the limits of safety and you felt he was in awe of the wildlife as much as we were even though he must have seen it so many times before. We both loved it!
Excellent
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Sinclair Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 11 May 2010
"This was so different as it was so small, but clean, basic and you ate with the hostess, Christine who was charming.

We learnt a lot about the local area from her and ate traditional Namibian country food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2010
"This was one of my favourite lodges.

Everything was top of the range including the view from our own bungalow of the dunes, the doors fully opened onto a veranda and they are positioned so you see no one else. The staff were excellent and happy to tell you about the local customs in terms of dress, language and culture.

My partner did the balloon trip and felt it was worth the money, as it as unforgettable. The lodge works hard to offer responsible tourism i.e. cold water is available all day to avoid buying bottled water."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 14 May 2010
"This was very different to what we had experienced as there was a TV, and the guesthouse was a short walk from the beach so after all the desert landscapes it was anice change.

The staff booked all our restaurants fo us and were extremely helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Balloon trip"

14 May 2010 • Morning excursion

This was well worth the money. Safety was paramount and the company ensured that they had no effect on the environment to the extent of brushing the area to remove tracks in the spot where we had landed for a very lavish breakfast.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2010
"The bungalows were huge and like Kulala the doors could be opened very wide to allow you to move the beds outside.

The staff were extremely helpful, and although offered their own tours reminded us that as we were self drive we could do the excursions easily ourselves.

I particularly liked the culture of responsible tourism and how the community own part of the lodge. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2010
"I think we had been spoilt with our previous accomodation as this was very large and impersonal. However in terms of position there is a great waterhole where we saw 7 rhino one night, and the room was fantastic as it was a full chalet with two bedrooms and bathrooms, with kitchen and sitting area to ourselves.

Saw lots of exotic birds and of course you are already based in the park which is ideal."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2010
"This was very personal and luxurious, and we spent some of one day just sitting on our verandah relaxing it was so quiet.

The food was very good as was the service, and the wildlife often wander into the area - warthogs join residents by the pool and a small deer was found gazing into my bathroom window one day!

We went on one of the drives with Imelda one of their guides. She found us more wildlife and taught us more about Etosha in all the time we had driven through the park.

The drives are good value - cheaper than those in Etosha and include your entrance fee."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2010
"It was a shame to spend only one night here as there is so much to do.

We went on a leopard drive, a night watch from a hide where we saw porcupines, and a cheetah drive where we saw the rehab area. Very good staff obviously committed to the wildlife and excellent accomodation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team