This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse

Reviews of Canyon Roadhouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Canyon Roadhouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Canyon Roadhouse.
Leopard

0% success

Oryx

67% success

Zebra

33% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr DB
BC Canada

"Surprising decor with old vehicles"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"Pleasant check in. Quirky restaurant with old automobiles throughout. Dinner was a la carte from a simple menu. Nothing special.

There was oryx around the property eating the grass in the courtyard.

The hill behind the property was good for a hike to the top to take in the expanded view of the desert around.

It was too windy to use the pool.

The quaint petrol station added another quirkiness to the place.

Nice proximity to the Fish River Canyon and the interesting Quiver tree forest." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Dr CB & Dr MB
Tring

"Canyon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2019
"A really quirky place to stay. Relatively small and basic rooms but quite adequate and with air conditioning that worked well.

A relatively simple and small choice of meals but well cooked. I would go again." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr A.
Hertford

"Canyon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Good time at Canyon Roadhouse"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2018
"Great lodge to visit with small children. They were constantly looking at all the old cars.

The rooms were very nice. There is the possibility of doing a short walk up a hill, which is nice with sunset.

It is also very close to Fish River Canyon." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs C
Shrewsbury

"Different"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2018
"Whereas we had good accommodation, it was a bit too whacky for us oldies.

The dining area was messy, the staff slow & not very professional & the food only average - I wonder what the place would be like when it is busy." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr D
Farnham

"Quirky and a fun place to stay!"

2 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2017
"Just look foward to being here. It will make you smile!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr J
Birmingham

"Quirky"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2017
"As expected, this was a very quirky place with plenty of old cars and farm implements scattered around the grounds.

The bathroom was bigger than most with both a bath (when there's water shortage!) and shower.

There are old German number plates on the walls of the bathroom and other car pictures on the bedroom wall." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms L
Heathfield

"Quirky place to stay- good fun!"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"Canyon Roadhouse is very unusual, with old cars dotted around both inside and out. I completely missed the reception desk because it is in an old lorry! Inside the place has been designed like a garage with signs, workbenches etc. It is quirky and fun.

Our room was comfortable and followed the 'roadhouse' theme, with a really lovely bathroom (best shower of any on our trip!)
It was situated around a communal courtyard, but we had no problems with noise from other guests. There is also a small swimming pool on site with loungers and tables around it which we enjoyed.

The food in the restaurant is very good value and the staff are attentive and helpful.

Canyon Roadhouse is only 15-20 minutes from Fish River Canyon along a good gravel road. We left before dawn (the staff offered us a packed breakfast, which was very good) and arrived at the canyon before sunrise. The sun actually rises behind you as you look at the canyon, so it takes a while for the canyon to light up, but it is worth seeing the soft orange glow spread over the rocks. This is supposed to be a good time for photos - we certainly got better pictures in the morning than in the afternoon. It is worth walking from the main viewing area along the rim of the canyon - also better done in the cool early morning." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Staffs

"Canyon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2016
"This is a marvellous place to visit and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Its location near to Fish River Canyon makes it a superb stopover.

The staff were marvellous and I would recommend this site to anyone." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Phil
London

"Canyon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2016
"Very interesting stay-worth it. Average on facilities-lack of external sitting area and pool not inviting.

Reasonable distance to Fish river canyon." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 34
88%
34 reviews of Canyon Roadhouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
19
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

Just 20km from Fish River Canyon, Canyon Lodge was the first lodge in the area, with individual chalets built amongst huge granite boulders.


89% (96 reviews)
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

Perched on the lip of Fish River Canyon, Fish River Lodge has some of the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


93% (59 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa