This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs C from Shrewsbury

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

18

Excursions taken

0

Excellent trip altogether

Namibia and 1 other country between 16 Dec 2017 and 13 Jan 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a very well planned & well thought out trip, Sarah was so helpful in explaining what would work & what wouldn't, she explained she thought some of the drives would be too long in one day, which were the best places to spend more than one night etc. She certainly knew her stuff!

Our mistake perhaps was trying to do so much in 28 days, we could have done with a couple of 3 day breaks as we got very tired with so much chopping & changing.

Also when trying to stipulate & stick to our budget we ended up with a lot of the venues with only B&B & not half board which meant that overall we ended up spending a lot more than we had planned."

Galton House

Galton House

"Perfect stopover on route to or from Namibia"

1 night Arrived 16 Dec 2017
"What a brilliant start & end to our holiday in Namibia.

We couldn't fault them, they were all so helpful, friendly & willing to go the extra mile.

Thoroughly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

"Beautiful lodge in a stunning setting"

1 night Arrived 17 Dec 2017
"After a long bumpy drive this was a welcome sight.

The service was good, the staff cheerful & keen to serve us, good food in a lovely room overlooking stunning scenery.

The staff took great delight in showing us our first scorpion!!

But we couldn't fault it - the place not the scorpion."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Spectacular setting."

2 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2017
"Again not an easy drive to get here but it was so worth it.

We were glad we stayed for 2 nights as we had time to do a trip & relax by the pool. A truly beautiful place. it was so lovely sitting on our private balcony having a sundowner with the most amazing vista in front of us.

Thoroughly recommend the trips here especially the sundowner perched right on top of the plateau."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2017
"We had good accommodation & it was good to be able to partly self cater even though there was no cutlery or crockery, we had to hire them from the kitchen.

The shop was poorly stocked.The breakfast was only average, the camp was very busy & I think the staff couldn't keep up.

We would thoroughly recommend getting a room with a BBQ, it may not be by the waterhole but it was more private & great to cook our own food.

The lions roaring at night was truly magical. It was wonderful to be so near to the wildlife, we didn't have to drive far before encountering a pride of lions."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Average camp site"

2 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2017
"Whereas it was great to be in Etosha with such close proximity to the game, we felt the camp itself was poorly run, looked as though it needed updating,the shop was inadequately stocked, the food in the restaurant average, the pool looked murky, & there was no lighting at the waterhole.

But we had a very nice room, perhaps not our favourite place on this trip."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Safari Lodge

"Stunning location"

1 night Arrived 24 Dec 2017
"We were here for Christmas day, perhaps more could have been made of it as we were all far from our families but that aside it was a beautiful setting, we loved the boat moored below the lodge for a sundowner.

The staff were friendly & helpful. We felt quite safe in very substantial tents & the view & deck was spectacular.

The meals were fine but only enough was cooked for the guests present - we were told we could have one chop each for example! No seconds!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Stunning setting"

2 nights Arrived 25 Dec 2017
"This was my favourite place of all.

A beautiful large open reception/seating area with gorgeous views of the river & sunsets, fantastic thatched rooms with lovely balconies frequented by birds & monkeys.

Our host Michael was exceptional, very knowledgable, clearly passionate about his role & always had time to talk & find bird names that we didn't know.

The staff were so cheerful & friendly & gave excellent service. We had lovely afternoon tea & really good meals. So glad we stayed here for 2 nights.

Only downer was the river trip where our driver kept falling asleep when we parked up to watch wildlife, his boat handling skills were poor. I spotted more birds than him."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
River Dance Lodge

River Dance Lodge

"Lives up to its name"

2 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2017
"What a beautiful place set in spectacular scenery, we loved everything about this place.

The design of the rooms & bathroom was amazing. The staff were really friendly, our host welcomed us very warmly & we felt they really wanted to share their home, including their lovely 8 year old daughter.

Wonderful setting for the dining area, lovely sofas to lounge in for a sundowner."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

"Ideal stopover"

1 night Arrived 29 Dec 2017
"As we drove into Ghanzi we were quite worried about what type of accommodation we were going to find, it was a busy, noisy, bustling town & we wondered about our safety!

What a surprise when we reached the Hotel, it was a perfect stopover, clean, safe, with a nice pool area & attractive grounds & well maintained. Large dining room that served perfectly adequate food though not anything special.

Definitely recommend this for a break from long drives."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

"Lovely homely feel"

1 night Arrived 30 Dec 2017
"Although the owner was away, our host made us most welcome, was friendly & eager to please.

We had a beautifully designed room with a lovely verandah where we could sit & watch the game very close by & enjoy a sundowner.

The grounds were attractively maintained with lovely flowers & water features - a very pretty place.

The reception & open plan dining area with lovely wood tables was a delight to sit in."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Wow factor"

2 nights Arrived 31 Dec 2017
"This was an amazing place to stay for New Year.

Everything about it was superb right down to the goats drinking from the pool & the donkey nuzzling up to the guests around the pool side & the pet springbok!

Superb views & stunning sunsets from our very private Dune chalet. We had excellent trips from knowledgable guides, it was a shame that the 'bushmen' had to resort to telling us what their lives used to be like but not any more.

Wonderful outdoor dining area with great freshly cooked food, all the staff were great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Different"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2018
"Whereas we had good accommodation, it was a bit too whacky for us oldies.

The dining area was messy, the staff slow & not very professional & the food only average - I wonder what the place would be like when it is busy."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Great place"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2018
"Once again wonderful setting with excellent accommodation in very Moroccon style lodges/chalets.

Lovely outdoor dining area on a balcony around the main building. Food was very good, service friendly, eager to please & welcoming.

The wild horses were worth a visit but sad to see them in such a poor state & learn how man is interfering with nature."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

"Disappointing"

1 night Arrived 6 Jan 2018
"This hotel was poorly run, staff didn't look like they wanted to do any work, it was all bit of an effort, when we arrived we may have been the only guests, until a car broke down & it was Sunday so no one was available to do any repairs, so we had some company but we can't have given them a lot of work!

The room was so hot with a noisy fan that we had to try to reach a plug in order for it to be effective.

The windows were poorly fitting & it would have been easy for anyone to break in or creepy crawlies to come in.

The food was a poor & I wouldn't recommend this as a stopover."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

"Another favourite"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jan 2018
"What clever designs of these open plan self catering chalets.

Excellent rooms & lay out & we loved the kitchen area where now you see it & now you don't with its zip up & down.

Wonderful sunsets, BBQ facilities perfect, great pack of utensils etc & good quality food delivered which we had pre-ordered, but be warned we ordered far too much meat!

Lovely relaxing place & a great swimming pool."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Beautiful setting"

1 night Arrived 9 Jan 2018
"We really felt welcome & invited to join in the family evening meal, it was really home from home.

The drive there was a long way off the 'main' highway, we found the driving around this area quite tiring though in beautiful scenery.

A beautiful house with very cleverly designed, hidden rooms tucked under the dunes in their grounds. The gardens & birds were wonderful.

The hosts & staff were really friendly & welcoming & gave us really lovely home cooked food."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Excellent position in a quiet residential are"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2018
"A lovely house with all the rooms having their own private patio area.

Gorgeous well maintained pretty gardens. The owners were away but the 2 ladies who ran the place were really friendly, welcoming & helpful as were the staff.

Great dining room with an excellent breakfast served both mornings.Great to be able to put the car safely away & to be near enough to town to sample a good choice of restaurants on foot!

Thoroughly recommend this B&B"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Galton House

Galton House

"Back to the beginning"

1 night Arrived 12 Jan 2018
"A great place to start & finish your holiday in Namibia"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team