This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kalahari Arms Hotel
Kalahari Arms Hotel
Kalahari Arms Hotel

Reviews of Kalahari Arms Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kalahari Arms Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2022, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kalahari Arms Hotel.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Eland

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J.
Makati

"Kalahari Arms Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 May 2022
"Good stop on the way from Maun to Namibia." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Kalahari Arms Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 29 Mar 2022
"We only stayed here for one night on our journey from Windhoek to Maun. For any travellers planning to drive this distance (approximately 800 km) this is one obvious place to break the journey down in to two stages.

Other than serving as a gateway to the Central Kalahari GR, I cannot speak to whether or not this location is suitable to engage in any safari activities." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C
Shrewsbury

"Ideal stopover"

1 night Arrived 29 Dec 2017
"As we drove into Ghanzi we were quite worried about what type of accommodation we were going to find, it was a busy, noisy, bustling town & we wondered about our safety!

What a surprise when we reached the Hotel, it was a perfect stopover, clean, safe, with a nice pool area & attractive grounds & well maintained. Large dining room that served perfectly adequate food though not anything special.

Definitely recommend this for a break from long drives." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Piotr & Glen
London

"OK stop-over en-route to Okavango Panhandle"

1 night Arrived 26 Nov 2017
"As otherwise in Ghanzi there are not many options to stay overnight, the Kalahari Arms Hotel was fine for a 1 night stop over.

The dinner was really good, especially the piri-piri chicken livers for the starter! The cottage itself was fine. Although it cannot be helped, the bathroom had a big ant invasion however this wasn't too bothersome.

I would recommend staying here for no more than 1 night, but it is definitely worth having this option if you are doing a long drive towards Maun or Okavango Panhandle (which is where we were heading)." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
raedrian
Canada

"Good location and value"

1 night Arrived 27 Apr 2017
"We stayed here on a drive from Windhoek to Maun and it proved to be a good location for our stopover.

The hotel was easy to find, had plenty secure parking and an interesting mix of rooms and the sprawling grounds.

The only negative was a lack of hot water resulting in lukewarm showers. This was mentioned to management who were aware of it and advised there was a fix in work." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
raedrian
Canada

"Kalahari Arms Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 21 Apr 2017
"This hotel was a good stop-over location for our drive to Maun. It was easy to find and had plenty of secure parking. The grounds were well kept and interesting, filled with a mix of room types.

Only complaint was lack of hot water, only got lukewarm water for our showers." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Overnight in Ghanzi"

1 night Arrived 5 Dec 2016
"We were not expecting too much from this overnight stop at Ghanzi in the middle of the Kalahari highway, but we were most pleasantly surprised.

The room was a chalet on a lawn adjacent to a really good swimming pool and it was nicely appointed with all the trappings that would be found in a modern motel type room. Everything was very clean and comfortable. There was also a lot of secure parking.

The food in the hotel was really good - we had a late snack lunch in a pleasant courtyard space, and an evening meal in the restaurant where the Botswanan beef steak was beautiful. Breakfast the next morning was also very good. All the restaurant staff did a great job and were friendly and attentive.

All in all this was a lovely surprise package" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"good for quick stop"

1 night Arrived 5 Jun 2015
"Well looked afer by a young man who was put in charge of us." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs W
Lanarkshir

"Kalahari Arms Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2014
"Pool was very welcome after a day's drive." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"Convenient stop-over in Kalahari"

1 night Arrived 31 Dec 2013
"This is a travellers hotel rather than a safari camp so it does not really pretend to be anything very special other than being the most likely place to stay in this area.

It was a convenient place to use en-route to more interesting places!" See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 22
75%
22 reviews of Kalahari Arms Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
4
9
9
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

The comfortable Tau Pan camp inside the Central Kalahari Game Reserve offers some of Botswana's best summer game viewing and birdwatching.


96% (84 reviews)
Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp, situated in the Central Kalahari Game Reserve, is a traditional tented camp offering some of Botswana's best summer (Dec–Mar) game viewing, and an introduction to authentic Bushman culture.


91% (16 reviews)
Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp is a small camp with only four spacious tents overlooking a permanent waterhole. Surrounded by 20,000 hectares of private game conservancy you can expect to see white rhino, springbok, oryx and eland here.


93% (8 reviews)
Deception Valley Lodge

Deception Valley Lodge

A private reserve on the border of the CKGR, Deception Valley Lodge offers more flexible activities than within the reserve and a particularly good Bushman experience.


96% (5 reviews)
Dinaka

Dinaka

The newest addition to Ker and Downey Botswana’s portfolio, Dinaka is based on a private game reserve on the northern boundary of the CKGR.


100% (2 reviews)
Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge

Haina Kalahari Lodge is one of a number of lodges located on the northern boundary of the CKGR, offering a year-round Kalahari experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa