This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J. from Makati

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

0

Our extended southern Africa trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 22 Apr 2022 and 29 May 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"Ultimately Expert Africa was helpful with two rebookings over the pandemic but they really made the first one troublesome, first telling me to pay balance and I would get a refund if I couldn't make it and then refusing to give me the refund!!!"

Feedback response

Starting from the Philippines, originally partially travelling with companions from China, this trip to Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe was complicated by the pandemic. Despite 2020’s fast-changing situation, as the world grappled with Covid and rules around travel changed constantly, we were pleased to be able to delay this trip several times to 2022, when at least two of these travellers were able to get to Africa. We’re sorry that his partial 2020 refund was delayed for a few weeks.

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"Acceptable lodging"

1 night Arrived 4 May 2022
"Acceptable accommodation.

Too far out of town to enjoy Maun for the evening."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Poor
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

"Kalahari Arms Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 May 2022
"Good stop on the way from Maun to Namibia."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona Kalahari

"An unexpected surprise!"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2022
"This was a real surprise, especially coming from the Gobabis/Botswana direction.

We followed Google Maps down an increasingly undeveloped dirt road for several hours before finding it.

The few villas and central lodge were gorgeous. The service was superb. Outstanding wildlife for a private reserve."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2022
"Too commercial and impersonal. Few animals off in distance only.

Pet, trained rhino seemed sad. Cheetah "show" also sad. Nice scenery only."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Isolated cottage in a rock. "

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2022
"Long distance from lodge and any facilities makes it very remote.

Lovely cabin but we did not spend much time there due to remoteness."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Long, long way to get there"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2022
"It was a long, long drive for basically a massively expansive view of a monochrome brown canyon.

A couple of short, dry day hikes along the canyon."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Interesting area to hike in a canyon"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2022
"One of the better meals we had. Farm to table and fresh game. Excellent hosts.

Best wifi of our extended trip around Namibia.

Hiking was a nice break to our otherwise car-bound trip."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

"Hotel Thule review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2022
"Very helpful reception. Difficult to get a taxi during rush hour. Convenient stop.

Needs another coffee machine as there was a 15 minute line for morning coffee!!"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Image alt

Wild About Africa - Small Group Trip

"Wild About Africa - Small Group Trip review"

10 nights Arrived 17 May 2022
"Guide, Lourens, was excellent. Car was unacceptable.

Old, rattling, not working seatbelts (unacceptable!!!!!!), rotten fish smell every time the refrigerator was opened.

Hansa hotel in Swapkopmund was excellent."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2022
"Nice room. Very helpful staff.

Only place we stayed without mosquito netting over bed and we both got bit at night.

Great restaurant and patio."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Our extended southern Africa adventure

Botswana and 1 other country between 21 Apr 2022 and 29 May 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2022
"Mediocre rooms in a dated hotel for a very high price. View and grounds were fantastic.

Formal dining room was beautiful but food was cooked poorly. Patio dining was very nice."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

"Interesting introduction being in a tent"

2 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2022
"Camp staff and guide were great. Lots and lots of animals to see in park.

Pangolin boat tour with camera lesson was a great way to start a long photography-centric adventure!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

"Savute Under Canvas review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2022
"Less animals than Chobe under Canvas."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

"Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2022
"Very helpful staff.

Good animal sitings including wild dogs, honey badger, leopard!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2022
"Helpful staff and chef when my wife had stomach problems. Lovely villa with plunge pool!

Shame that there were no animals to be seen from villa or expansive veranda."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team