This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge


19°27’11.0"S 23°18’8.0"E

Reviews of Sandibe Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

70 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sandibe Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sandibe Safari Lodge.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

75% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 70
Duration
Arrival date
Family A
Scarborough

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"Fab and groovy. Cannot fault it.

Our guide, KK was brilliant. Our drives along the border with Moremi were magical with animal life at every distance from near to far.

Wonderful braai in the middle of a salt pan. Murray, the Exec Chef was great and the food excellent.

Saw two honey badgers, porcupine and civet. And leopard!

The camp has a really good atmosphere. Very laid back but really comfortable." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr & Mrs
Carshalton

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"Wonderful camp, amazing structure of your room and restaurant/lounge area.
Made to feel an individual and spoilt rotten.
Food of very high quality and lots of it.
Great to have a tracker as well as a guide and once again we were extremely lucky to have th ejeep to ourselves as we were able to learn a lot from our tracker and guide, this made so muchof a difference to our stay having one to one time with our guide/tracker and got to know them very well.
Nice little touches when we had sun downers in different parts of the park in fantastic locations.
Also, Nice to have different experience to be out when it is dark .
Definitely recommend staying here." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Miss B
Marple

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"This lodge is outstanding in every way, but with a price tag to match.

Game viewing is incredible and a significant step up on the other two lodges we stayed at (Xaranna and Savute under Canvas) with larger herds and many more elephants -- and hence predators to match.

Breakfast and lunch were excellent, but sometimes the dinner was over fancy without the culinary skills to pull it off." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ian & Vivienne
UK

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 May 2018
"Perfect lodge with modern amenities.

the new design is impressive and the accommodation units are spaced well apart for privacy. the rooms were smaller than at Mombo or Vumbura but were well furnished and the decor was very in keeping with local designs and styles.

there is a good walk to the rooms placed furthest from the reception area and you can only walk this alone in the daylight. Baboons and elephants do frequent the camp area and walkways." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs U
Guildford

"Little underwhelming "

3 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2018
"This was the only camp that failed to fulfill our expectations. The architecture and layout of this place was fabulous, with the boma and eating areas designed to use the beautiful backdrop of the location. However on our visit we found the standard of food better at other camps and although the staff were attentive, a few were a little inexperienced and some requests took several attempts to correct. The Management however, were highly trained and very personable.

For us, however, it was the game drives that were disappointing. We spent most of the time racing from one location to another looking for the big cats - quite often without success and became a bit boring, but perhaps this is what most guests want? On the first drive we hardly slowed down let alone stopped to look at anything else and trying to spot birds in the trees or bushes was a non starter. Asked guides the following day to slow down and stop more, which in fairness they did and we saw more game, including Leopard!

The afternoon drives ended with approximately 45 mins night viewing but we didn't see much. This got us back to the lodge late most nights so didn't have time to change or freshen up before dinner and getting up early the following morning didn't make for leisurely evenings. Most guests okay with set up but it wasn't for us, all felt a bit rushed. This was the only camp where our guide didn't join us for meals and discuss what we might like to see and do for the day if possible.

A guide from another camp told us 'if you go too fast you might leave the good things behind'. Couldn't have said it better." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Brydon
UK

"A truly African experience"

3 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2018
"I don't know quite where to start..... having been on a number of private Game Park safaris(all fenced) in South Africa, this experience was streaks ahead in quality of lodge; service, activities and sheer abundance of Game viewing and overall African experience.

I cannot fault this Safari Lodge at all...... to see 7 different Leopard sightings in 2 days is extraordinary let alone the herds of Elephant; a pair of male Lions roaring at each other ; rare Wild Dogs and Cheetah....

By far and away, our Ranger and Tracker were the most charming, informative pair I have encountered on 4 different Safaris.

Despite the remote location everything planned by Expert Africa went seamlessly...." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr S
Cambrai

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2017
"The camp is very well located. Food was excellent.

The manager was not a good one, probably to many people in the camp but he paid very few attention to us. I don't think he is good for the job.

Wildlife was very good but 6 people in a car is crowded.

We asked for a private car or a car with 4 people (extra payment of course): declined

Not a high standard camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Nick & Kate
London

"The most awesome safari experience"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2017
"From the moment we arrived and were prevented from reaching our room by a bull elephant on the pathway, it was clear that this was going to be a special place. The design of the main area of the camp - like being inside a giant whale - is stunning, and the rooms are like a luxury hotel, while clearly enhancing the sense of being in the bush.

Every room has a large private pool to cool down in - we saw a passing hyena on our first dip, and an elephant on our next. The service is faultless, the food is fantastic and they have thought of every conceivable way of adding that extra touch - for example, there is nice freshly brewed coffee on the morning drive, not instant coffee.

Add to this the spectacular wildlife - wild dog hunting, plenty of leopard, one with fresh kill, another with a small cub, a cheetah with tiny cub, lion, rhino, elephant, wattled cranes, bat eared foxes, and so on - and this really does represent one of the truly memorable safari experiences. Our guides were outstanding - Jonas and Trust." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof J
Salt Lake City

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2017
"Excellent in every respect. The guides and the staff were all great.

We would return in a heartbeat. We loved it." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
Weybridge

"We saw everything we could imagine!"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2016
"Having had such a personal experience at Little Vumbura we found the size and set up at Sandibe a little impersonal. Stunning buildings so cleverly designed. However the organisation seemed to push the guest apart rather than together e.g. separate tables at each meal as norm.

The wildlife was extraordinary! We saw lions, leopards, wild dogs, hippos, elephants, zebra and giraffe - all with lots of young. Hyena, Jackal, Hippo, various antelope including Sable.

The concentration of animals was totally beyond all expectations. Wildlife stories that we could follow in episodes through morning and night drives. Wild dogs with 14 puppies, also hunting as a pack. Mother leopard hunting and hiding her kill. Loosing one of her 2 cubs only to be reunited with it a day later. Our guide was SK - really professional and knowledgeable." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 70
94%
70 reviews of Sandibe Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
55
11
3
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa