This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kwetsani Camp
Kwetsani Camp
Kwetsani Camp
Kwetsani Camp
Kwetsani Camp
Kwetsani Camp
Kwetsani Camp
Kwetsani Camp

Reviews of Kwetsani Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwetsani Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
Mr d
Penrith

"Wonderful experience"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2016
"We felt the management had a more relaxed approach to clients. The staff were not so interactive and more in the background.

Our guide Moyo was excellent although we would have preferred slower trips in the powered boat although we realise time was a constraint.

Extremely interesting to see the flood arriving and be able to go out in the mokoros

I (Sandra) was really pleased to see the ladies doing their basketry and for us to be able to purchase something.

We realise that we were very fortunate that Machaba, Chitabe Ledibe and Kwetsani camps were not at maximum capacity which enabled us to have an even better experience than expected." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Kwetsani Visit 6"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"As witnessed by the number of times we have visited, we love Kwetsani. The rooms, the management and the staff combine to make this small camp one of the very best in the Delta. The resident pride of lions were centre stage of the game viewing but our guide Ras realised very quickly that we were interested in seeing all that was on offer and we had a mass of big, small and avian sightings that filled our 3 night stay.

The relief mangers Hank and Marelize were a joy. Always there but never pushy they run a wonderful camp that the resident managers Dan and Charmagne Myburg will feel has been in safe hands during their leave. We hope Hank and Marelize will still be at Jacana, their next appointment, when we next visit. It is sad to think that the wonderful thatched roofs of the rooms may be replaced by more durable material but doubt any such change would seriously affect the wonder of Kwestani.

Advice to Wilderness - TLC but don't change it!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
South Aust

"James's at Kwetsani Camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2014
"From the welcome onwards the time we had at Kwetsani was magnificent. if we had a complaint it would be that the time was too short.

The guides were all generous with their extensive knowledge which was passed on with enthusiasm and wit. The site is beautiful, the food was very very good and the general atmosphere could not have been better.

We saw every animal we had wished to see." See all these reviews: 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family G
Toronto

"Kwetsani Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2014
"We very much enjoyed our family visit to Kwetsani. The hostess went out of her way to make us comfortable and our guide (Moya) was excellent. We saw a good amount and variety of game.

We enjoyed the motorboat rides to/from the islands for game viewing as we were keen to be on the water, not just on land, but a real water-based camp with leisurely water-based activities is not really feasible when tourists are rushing in and rushing out after two or three days. We had a brief mokoro ride one morning, but this was no more than a trailer to a movie.

One downside to the time of year we were there is the need to get back to camp via the boat before dark, which is a disadvantage compared to land-based camps." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Z
USA

"Kwetsani"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2014
"At Lebala and Lagoon other travelers told us that Kwetsani was a highly regarded camp of the African Safari group. Our assigned guide, Moyo, greeted us at the airport & trackers were not used at Lebala. We had a 45-minute boat ride to camp through walls of papyrus and bulrushes. We had chosen Kwetsani because the tents were in the trees & the tents were gorgeous and high above the ground.

When we arrived there was a group of ladies singing a greeting song and the South African couple, the relief managers, running the camp met us. We walked into the main area and it was indeed upscale compared to Lebala and Lagoon. During high tea a couple of ladies had laid out woven baskets and were weaving. The singing and the basket weavers gave me the initial impression that this was going to be a more 'staged' experience. The afternoon was spent on a boat ride around the camp looking for hippos. We 'found' a family of hippos just in time for our sundowner. For dinner the featured dish was leg of lamb that turned out to be very tough and most were left on the plate.

The next morning Moyo took us for the boat ride to Hunda Island for an 'all day' safari. The boat motor had its problems and quit several times when full throttle was applied & we limped to the island at low speed. We loaded onto the jeep and when our guide attempted to start it the starter would not turn over the motor. Moyo, with his trusty leatherman was able to jiggle the terminals and succeeded in starting the motor. The drive was interesting, fording a lot of creeks with the water level up to the running boards. We saw elephants, zebras, and the ever-present impalas. The guide handed us a map of the island showing the trails, each of one with a name like "elephant trail". We stayed on the trails and at lunchtime we joined another group and had a nice lunch on a raised platform overlooking the flooded plain. We did another hour of riding the trails of Hunda Island seeing some more birds, giraffes, zebras, and elephants. We returned on a different boat whose motor operated normally.

Upon arrival at our tent I noticed that they had not lifted the evening wind curtains as in Lebala and Lagoon and the tent was very hot & 95F on my thermometer. I went outside and lifted two smaller wind curtains & the two larger ones were too much form one person to handle. I turned on the fan and was able to ventilate the tent. I then decided to take a shower on the outdoor shower to cool down & it was a double outdoor shower. When I turned on one of the showers water gushed from a coupling on the pipe & I shut it off and transferred to the other shower. Dinner was grilled meat and was taken outside & the steak was excellent and the wines good.

When we returned to our tent we were greeted by a surprise & they had a bottle of chilled South African bubbly wine on the outside small table with a note congratulating us on our 45th anniversary & they also had sprinkled paper hearts around the table. We sat outside and sipped the bubbly looking out on the flooded plain. We went into our tent and I noted that the evening turndown had not lowered the wind shades so I went out and lowered them & a good measure since the wind blew strong late that night.

The next morning we slept in since we were scheduled for a mokoro ride. This ride turned out to be a 45-minute ride in front of the camp - sufficient to get the mokoro experience. We embarked on a boat that took us to the airport area where we transferred to a jeep. Our guide parked us under a shaded enclosure to wait for the plane. The plane landed and when the guide tried to start the jeep it would not start. All of us broke out in laughter when Moyo motioned to another jeep to come over and linked us to the other jeep with a towrope! Fortunately the guide was able to jump start the engine after we got towed and we arrived at the waiting plane shortly thereafter.

Although Kwetsani had a more staged feel and we had some equipment issues the staff was always pleasant and accommodating." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Surrey

"Peaceful, tranquil camp with perfect views."

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2014
"Kwetsani is a shift in gear from the big game of Little Vumbura, but nevertheless allows the pace to be slowed down a little to appreciate the wetlands with superb bird life.

Moyo our guide was a quiet but knowledgeable guide who had a fine appreciation of the flora and fauna who was happy to share his knowledge and love of Botswana. The camp design and setting up on stilts gave an all round view of the area and the stand in managers of Henk and Marielise were a delightful couple with a passion for their camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Battersea

"Lovely camp in the delta"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2013
"Good all round camp, the Mokoro rides were particularly good. Such an unobtrusive way of seeing and understanding the Delta.
It was so quiet and all that could be heard were the Red Lewche running through the water, terrific!

We saw lots of elephants of all ages.

Particular highlights were a female hyena with her small cub who was running and jumping all over her and rolling over on the ground and lying between her front paws being washed.

Saw leopard very close.
All staff very helpful" See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr E & Ms P
Spain

"Another Great Guide: MT"

3 nights Arrived 30 May 2013
"The food was great, specially coming from Chitabe.

Management was warm, efficient and always accessible.

Rooms were great. Service and hospitality fantastic.

Game drives and boat drives great.

Laundry was first class.

Amenities in the room were much better that in Chitabe." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LS
Hampshire

"Peaceful/Warm environment Eco Mixture lure"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2013
"The main lure of the Camp is the diverse eco system which requires both water and land drives. This mixture is most appealing, including the immersion into the environment. Location is tops as were the staff. Again the regular Manager was not on duty but Theresa and Bryan were forever present and interactive both in your needs and being informative. Felt like home and the guest all seemed to mix well as a result.

Again a different eco system with the mixture of water relate and savannah wildlife. The guide G+T was good, however our few exposures to Flo suggested she was better suited to the needs of the clients. Food was good as were the accomadations. The overall facilities seemed to have been recently refurbished and were tops.

The highlite was probably the silent ride in the am in the Mekoro, when the thunderous sound, as if we were approaching rapids, became almost deafening. A herd of up to 200 thundering Red Lechwe were driving across the edge of the wetlands. To experience the small wildlife around your tent under the walkways was always a delight. Our first Leopard, thanks to the skill of G+T was also most spectacular.

We could have spent more time there, primarily due to the variety of the opportunities and the warm hospitality by all the team." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The C party
Berkshire

"Kwetsani Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 May 2013
"As usual ALL the staff were delightful and made us feel, not only welcome, but special." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 22
95%
22 reviews of Kwetsani Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa