This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs L from Battersea

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

2

Terrific trip to Botswana

Botswana between 10 Jun 2013 and 27 Jun 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Everywhere we stayed was good . Nothing went wrong and we saw almost all the animals we had hoped to.

Botswana like every where else in Africa is getting busier . Wilderness safaris certainly provides all that one would expect for the money spent and the community out reach programme is admirable, but we felt they are becoming so big a company now that the lose of intimate Africa is noticeable.

Go to Botswana , but try to include some smaller independent camps as well."

Arranged By Megan Green


Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

"Lovely camp in the delta"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2013
"Good all round camp, the Mokoro rides were particularly good. Such an unobtrusive way of seeing and understanding the Delta.
It was so quiet and all that could be heard were the Red Lewche running through the water, terrific!

We saw lots of elephants of all ages.

Particular highlights were a female hyena with her small cub who was running and jumping all over her and rolling over on the ground and lying between her front paws being washed.

Saw leopard very close.
All staff very helpful"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Wild Dogs at Lagoon Camp"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2013
"Our highlight was seeing the wild dog which we came across whilst watching a very large heard of buffalo. We were able to be with them and follow them for a long time. The interaction of them was terrific to see.

Guides were very good following tracks and finding predators.lots of leopards also, plus lions.

It was good to have a written explanation about seeing and staying with the wild dogs, this took the pressure off the guides as they had rules to follow. Staff were very good ,helpful and very cheerful on the cold early mornings.,The camp worked well and every thing ran to time.
Highly recommend the camp"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

"Terrific time at Motswiri Camp"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2013
"We have travelled to Africa many times and it was lovely to come to a camp that was small, intimate and a reminder of how Africa was for us, before it became so busy and corporate!

My husband was the horse rider and he was spoilt as he was the only rider in the camp. He had six amazing rides with Johnno Carmen and the excellent Botswana groomsmen.. The horses were very well looked after and easy to ride, he highly recommends the whole experience. I was very well looked after also and could choose whether to go on a walk boat, Mokoro or game drive.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Visit this camp even if you do not ride you will not be sorry!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Excellent stay at Little Vumbura"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2013
"As Expert Africa says this is a very special camp set in beautiful scenery and very good game viewing. This was the camp that showed what it was like to be reliant on the yearly flood and we spent a lot of the time being driven through water and mud.the skill of the drivers in some situations was outstanding.

Highlights were seeing a pride of lions getting ready for hunting , wild dog and sable antelope.
The bird life was particularly good in this area.

Our best animal encounter was a leopard with a three month old cub eating an antelope which had not long been killed.

Sitting quietly in the jeep whilst elephants with tiny babies were so close to us and a group of kudu passed in front of us, magic!
Staff were all very good and helpful ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My May 2011 trip

Zimbabwe between 25 May 2011 and 8 Jun 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Trip as a whole lived up to expectations.

We had been a little worried about potential problems with the political situation.

At no time did we receive any thing but helpfulness and courtsey with our dealings with officials

Go now to Zimbabwe before it gets too busy! You will not regret it

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I cannot think of anything at the moment"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Ruckomechi Camp

Ruckomechi Camp

"Ruckomechi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2011
"Beautiful setting by the Zambezi. We arrived at camp via an hours boat ride from the Churundi crossing. No better way to leave your busy world behind and settle into your holiday.

Accommodation and food up to a good standard.
Staff were very helpful, professional and with good senses of humour.

We saw 3 wild dogs a number of times. Elephant plentiful and relaxed,close up of eland, lots of birds and the mixture of different enviroments made it most enjoyable for the 3 nights we stayed"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kanga Bush Camp

Kanga Bush Camp

"Kanga Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 May 2011
"Lovely setting by the Kanga Pan in the Mana Pools area
What ever time of the day you sat watching from the deck there was always something going on.

We had the place to ourselves so were very fortunate in having such close attention.
Fisher our guide was very knowledgeable about the animals and the bush in general.
Camp staff very helpful and the cooks were very good.

We went on the inaugral night run following a bottle of champagne given by Richard and Gilly ( camp Managers). Saw herd of buffalo ,civet, scrub hare genet. Altogether a lovely place to spend 3 nights"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

"Little Makalolo Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2011
"We had been waiting many years to visit Hwange NP, it certainly lived up to expectations. Beautiful wild area very few other people around and lots of game.

We saw the most relaxed elephants we have ever seen, even with very young babies they were not really worried about us.
We had been wanting to see sable antelope for many years and we did here, lovely group of nine with young.
Eleven lions with various ages of cubs .Plenty of giraffes ( they do not occur in the Zambezi Valley)
AND FOUR WHITE RHINOS !! Male, 2 adult females and 1 young

We were fortunate to have Lewis as our guide for the 5 nights we were there (he has now left to take a job with the Trans Frontier NPs).
His scientific knowledge was excellent, he knew about the latest research that was being done and results.
All the staff at the camp were helpful, interested and again had great senses of humour, we could not have asked for more.

Watch out Zambia you now have a great rival !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2011
"Lovely place to finish our holiday .

The Victoria Fallls were magnificent.

Although there were ' Tourist Police ' to escort you to the Falls and back and around town we found they were not available on our walk back and were badly harrassed by one young man all the way back to the hotel."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Feedback on Namibia Trip

Namibia between 22 Jul 2009 and 4 Aug 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"As a whole it was terrific as it offered so many differnt experiences. The staff at all camps were helpful, I would certainlyrecommend it to people."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Good desert experience at Kulala Wilderness C"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2009
"Despite some problems with the weather (an east windblowing up sand storms!) we had a good 2 nights here. The trip to the dunes was really good and not too busy. We also had a guide to ourselves for a game drive in the evening so we were able to do what we wanted which was good"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

"Hansa Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2009
"Typical 4 star hotel with all amenities and staff were very friendly and helpful

Ed: Whilst here, we organised two day-trips for these travellers. They commented about the trip to Sandwich Harbour:

"This was so good,and Ernest our guide excellant. Weather intervened again here and he rang early morning to say cause of the really bad winds we could not go till lunch time. He picked us up plus 2 others and we had a wonderful trip along the coast, his knowledge of everything was good. We had a good lunch did some bird watching and walking and some riding up and down on the dunes in the landrover, digging for water , watching jackels. And because we had missed the morning he continued on until it was dark and then looked for Brown Hyenas, cause we had mentioned we would like to see them, we didn't, but none the less he really put himself out

Again you could promote this more."

... and about the Harbour Cruise:

"Again the bad weather prevented us going out for very long, this time it was the fog in Walvis Bay.
It was perhaps very touristy but none the less we saw the Benguela Dolphin but did not stay all that long at the seal colony cause of weather""
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Sandwich Harbour Tour"

26 Jul 2009 • All-day excursion

This was so good,and Ernest our guide excellant. Weather intervened again here and he rang early morning to say cause of the really bad winds we could not go till lunch time. He picked us up plus 2 others and we had a wonderful trip along the coast, his knowledge of everything was good. We had a good lunch did some bird watching and walking and some riding up and down on the dunes in the landrover, digging for water , watching jackels. And because we had missed the morning he continued on until it was dark and then looked for Brown Hyenas, cause we had mentioned we would like to see them, we didn't, but none the less he really put himself out

Again you could promote this more.
Excellent
Dolphin and seal cruise

Dolphin and seal cruise

"Harbour cruise"

27 Jul 2009 • All-day excursion

Again the bad weather prevented us going out for very long, this time it was the fog in Walvis Bay.
It was perhaps very touristy but none the less we saw the Benguela Dolphin but did not stay all that long at the seal colony cause of weather
Average
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2009
"The camp and staff were good. We stayed 3 nights ,which you have to do to see the desert adapted black rhinos. This was a terrific trip,you should perhaps promote it more.

Raymond our guide set out with us about 5.30am on a very cold morning, for about an hour and a halfs drive to the higher slopes of Damaraland. The scenery was different from the camp site, nobody else around, Raymond said he had not been there for weeks and he found us the rhinos 5 altogether, one mother and calf .

We got really close to them on foot a magic moment! We also saw alarge group of elephants and to my husbands delight hundreds of Welwitcha planst in flower!

The elephant tracking from the camp was also very good The evening meal at the boma was good as well"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2009
"This was a very different experience for us. We have been many times to Africa but have never stayed at a game reserve that had bought all its animals in and is very managed and of course is fenced. The animals were plentiful and we spent some time with our guide Rio looking and walking for rhinos, which was successful, although we did not see Black ones there ( thank goodness we had done Damaraland) Plenty of lions.

We were again lucky to have Rio too ourselves almost the whole time. The one disapointment is that they do not have elephants on the reserve, because of the potential enviromental problems of destroyed trees etc. ( This perhaps needs to be told to clients in advance)

We did 2 trips also to Etosha which were excellent although we should perhaps have done a visit to the east side of the park where you can see the salt pan much better and where all the elephants were.! But we had super views of all sorts of game at the waterholes.

The staff at Ongava were particularly helpful articulate and shared ideas and views This might have been because the manager Paul was very much visable with the guests and was always happy to talk as were the rest of the staff.

Only one negative point and that wasthat hot water was only available at night, and in the very, very cold mornings at 6am it would have been nice to have washed with hot water or had some hot tea or coffee bought to our tents."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team