This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kanga Bush Camp
Kanga Bush Camp
Kanga Bush Camp
Kanga Bush Camp
Kanga Bush Camp
Kanga Bush Camp

Reviews of Kanga Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kanga Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
Dr G & Dr E
UK

"Peace and quiet in Mana pools"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2017
"From the hustle and bustle of the main part of the park, it was nice to end the trip in a concession to avoid all of the other traffic.

Game viewing is entirely depend upon the time of year and for us the game drives were quiet, but plenty of game came to drink at the pan, including a leopard every night. Lots of birds in and around the area.

A relaxing end to the trip, made extra special by being given the honeymoon tent, which was fabulous, including an outdoor bath!" See all these reviews: 14n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Essex

"Where the wilderness comes to you"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2014
"Our favourite lodge of this trip with very comfortable accommodation with a view across the camp's pan. The camp is a long way from the river and a long day's adventure away, if you are staying on the river later on in your trip then we recommend not to leave Kanaga, simply sit in one of their comfortable chairs, enjoy the warm hospitality and wonder at the array of wildlife that comes to the waterhole. Perfect. We had a really excellent guide, Reggie.

We were very disappointed in not seeing any painted dogs, the Kanga pack were suspected to be denning in the neighbouring hunting zone and had not been seen for weeks. We did however have the privilege of meeting Greg Rasmusenn, the painted dog research man himself. Actually we bumped into him no less than five times during our stay in Mana Pools!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Hampshire

"Kanga Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2014
"There is nothing wrong with the camp, the staff were all good and welcoming. What we felt while we were there was that we were pushed to do sofa safaris and not leave the camp. Morning activities did not start until 7am, as photographers this meant we missed the best light of the morning. The activity was short and we got back into the camp earlier than our other camps, this was both true of walking and driving.

The main activity happened around the pan in the afternoon when there were no staff or guides around to identify birds etc. We must admit the camp was empty when we arrived and our first evening game drive we saw a leopard, and a small pride of lions with 3 young cubs, never to be seen again.

The camp is based on the pan, it is more for the first time traveller rather than an experienced traveller. We feel that 2 nights would be enough time there not the 3 that we did." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms TG
London

"They call it"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2014
"This was the most luxurious camp of my trip. I loved the spacious, very comfortable tents and the common areas. Food was fabulous.

I also loved that the vast majority of the camp staff, management very much included, were black Zimbabweans. Their welcome was fantastic. The guides were excellent.
The camp faces a large waterhole, which provides an opportunity for what the staff calls "an armchair safari," ie, just sit and let the game come to you. They did, in reasonable numbers, if not great variety.

Game in game drives, though, was very scarce.

My problem with this camp is that I think it's sited far too close to a hunting concession, which probably makes game viewing more difficult as animals are skittish. One morning we heard three rifle shots - not such a pleasant experience if, like me, you're not a fan of hunting." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Shropshire

"Kanga, where you gamewatch from your bathroom"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2013
"At first sight I felt that this lodge looked a little scruffy, but that soon changed as we went into the lounge area and deck above the pan, and also when we were shown our tent. It was very roomy, even having a dressing room area in addition to an enormous open air bathroom and toilet. Washing looking out over the pan was amazing and although there was no electricity apart from solar powered lights in the tent, a lot of thought had gone into making sure that there were other alternatives. We did find having our own torch useful for toilet visits in the night though rather than using the large lantern.

The food was excellent and we ate as a group with the staff who often had to interrupt the meal to spotlight the game appearing at the water hole, and we certainly saw a lot of game there. In fact the amount of game visiting the pan throughout the day almost made it unnecessary to go on a game drive! Also the game, particularly the elephants came within feet of the decking with apparently no awareness of our presence. This was an excellent experience.

The game drives and guides here were excellent and had a high level of knowledge of both animals and birds.

The only thing to be aware of here is that this camp is in thorn scrub area in the main, but it makes an excellent combination with a waterfront camp by the river.

One other thing to be aware of is that they allow young children here. On our visit there was an 8 year old and 3 year old. The former being no problem, but the 3 year old disrupted the night game viewing and we were glad we had had our first night in peace to see the leopards etc as the constant use of the spotlight by the 3 year old, plus his enthusiastic voice were not conducive to peaceful game watching in the evening. I have taken young children on safari myself and agree it is a very valuable experience for them but when it affects other guests, as it did here, I feel clients should be made aware that this could happen. Most other places I have been have a lowest age limit of 8 years." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs P
Agde, France

"Fabulous at Kanga et Zambezi Lifestyle"

4 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2013
"A beautiful camp, and always many animals at the waterhole during the dinner: leopard, lions, porcupine, civette... The drive at Kanga was quite quiet, but it is a lovely camp to stay and to rest for a few day.
It will be good to know that if you want to have some walk (you first drive and then have some short walks) you must book them before coming at the camp. We haven't do walks in Mana Pools when we were at Kanga, I regret, but the guide was with other guests and it seems wonderful." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"A treasure trove in Mana Pools"

4 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2012
"We really enjoyed our four nights at Kanga - and could easily have spent the whole time just sitting on the deck watching the constant stream of mammals and birds coming to what has to be one of the best waterholes for game-viewing in the region. However, we did get out and about, walking under the expert guidance of Rob Shattock who is a brilliant guide with a wonderful portfolio of anecdotes reaching right back into the early days of Mana Pools. It was also a real pleasure to do a couple of outings with Reggie whom we knew already from Somalisa: his undoubted enthusiasm and expertise has only burgeoned since we first met him.

The camp itself is very comfortable and we were very impressed with the lengths which Lizzie, temporarily managing on a day-to-day basis, went to to make us feel welcome and to provide any assistance we required.

As for the wildlife - leopards, painted dogs, lions, hyaena, buffalo and (of course) elephants all graced the waterhole during our stay, among many others; and we identified over 70 species of birds without even leaving the concession." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Bucks

"Kanga Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2011
"Kanga is without doubt one of the best camps we have visited in our many trips around southern Africa. As the camp is effectively less than a year old, everything is impressively clean and sparkling, yet it manages to feel like a well-established little camp that sits perfectly in its forest clearing around the pan.

Our hosts Richard and Gilly manage a perfect balance of warmth, professionalism and relaxed style in the way the camp operates and we came away - reluctanctly, having enjoyed our stay so much - feeling that we had spent a happy few days with old friends. The beauty of Kanga is that one can spend a day relaxing in camp and still see great wildlife right in front of you. With no need to move on, it is possible to watch fascinating behaviours that one would not see from a vehicle or possibly even on foot.

We saw, for first time, a beautiful male bushbuck hesitantly make his way to the water, alert to every sight and sound and easily spooked even by the baboons who spent their days at the pan.

The most unforgettable experience was seeing a leopard family - a mother and three large cubs - come down to drink one night as we sat on deck, whilst other nights saw the visits of lions and hyenas." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Northwood

"Kwality Kanga Kamp"

5 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2011
"Richard and Gilly were exceptional hosts. As our guide Fisher was excellent and all the staff were very efficient and friendly. The whole atmosphere within Kanga is what one would hope for in a luxury tented camp. The siting, with it's waterhole, was a delight and we appreciated the opportunity for nightime viewing with the infra red searchlight.

However, Claire, as you well know the animals within the small concession were very skittish as the camp is adjacent to a hunting area. We saw hardly any game whilst on game drives within the concession. Consequently we did two full days at Mana Pools. There we had an exciting viewing of hippo and some gentle safari walks to view waterbuck, elephant eating water hyacinth and a flock of carmine bee eaters.

We realise from past experience that game viewing on safari can be hit and miss but we really felt that Kanga was more miss than hit. Kanga is a camp to stay a maximum of three nights. A great camp in the wrong place.

In our responses to the three places we stayed we are unsure what is meant by Activities and Facilities, thus the no comment." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Wokingham

"Kanga Bush Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2011
"We loved Kanga. Our hosts Gilly & Richard were great fun and looked after us very well. Unfortunately, the camp is surrounded by very dense vegetation so it was difficult to see much game, however, the waterhole at Kanga was a very relaxing place to sit and we watched elephant, impala, bushbuck, baboons, banded mongoose and many birds. At night, we had visits from four leopard at the same time, lion, wild dogs, hyena and a porcupine. On one day, a couple of us didn't bother going for a local drive so sat overlooking the waterhole with books and a cold beer. Beautiful.

Fisher, our wonderful guide, took us to the Zambezi at Mana Pools a couple of days for a change of location and the chance to see more game out in the open. We had a few lovely walks to get up close to waterbuck, elephants and a fish eagle. He was heavily armed in case of trouble, but kept us very safe and at no time did we feel threatened.

Kanga had the most beautiful bathrooms in the whole of Zimbabwe. Completely uncovered, a great shower and handbasin with a view to die for!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 14
93%
14 reviews of Kanga Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mana Pools National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

Overlooking the Zambezi River in Mana Pools National Park, Vundu Camp is a small, comfortable bushcamp offering top-notch guiding.


96% (40 reviews)
Ruckomechi Camp

Ruckomechi Camp

In a very scenic spot beside the Zambezi, Ruckomechi is a smart camp offering excellent walking, river safaris, night and day 4WD game drives.


93% (14 reviews)
Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

Stretch Ferreira Safaris

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp is a small, owner-run camp on the banks of the Zambezi River in Mana Pools National Park, with the emphasis on great guiding.


94% (14 reviews)
Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions is a simple, semi-permanent camp along the Zambezi River that offers excellent guiding and standards of service.


96% (10 reviews)
Mana Pools Canoe Trail

Mana Canoe Trail

The Canoe Trail is a multi-day trip, along the Zambezi with some of the best guides in Africa. Each night you'll camp on the banks of the river.


100% (4 reviews)
John's Camp

John's Camp

John's Camp is a semi-mobile tented camp offering walking safaris, game drives, and fishing in Zimbabwe's Mana Pools National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Camp

Nyamatusi Camp

Overlooking the Zambezi River, the luxury Nyamatusi Camp occupies a pristine wilderness environment.


90% (2 reviews)
Little Vundu

Little Vundu

Closely associated with Vundu Camp, Little Vundu has the same great location and quality of guides, and is occasionally used for private group bookings.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Mana Pools National Park.


100% (1 review)
Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp is an exciting new riverside camp in a true African wilderness.


No reviews yet
Chikwenya Camp

Chikwenya Camp

One of the original properties in Mana Pools area we are excited to be featuring Chikwenya Camp again.


No reviews yet
Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp offer the chance to feel closer to the bush than almost any other camp in the Mana Pools Area.


No reviews yet
Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp is due to open in May and will be located in a remote area in the north of the Mana Pools National Park


No reviews yet
Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga is a comfortable tented camp tucked away in a less-visited area of Mana Pools National Park with surprisingly good wildlife and an excellent hide.


No reviews yet
Little Ruckomechi

Little Ruckomechi

In a shady spot beside the Zambezi, Little Ruckomechi is a small but luxurious camp offering a reange of activities including walking and canoe trips.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa