This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Hampshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

7

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

0

First trip to Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe and 1 other country between 28 Aug 2014 and 9 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our objective for this trip being our sixth safari was to get closer and more interactive with the animals for the purpose of photography. This was achieved with many good photographs taken, the camps we stayed at were all different and all had their positive points.

We are starting to plan our next trip and Zimbabwe is at the forefront. The only point for Expert Africa is if they are routing people from Zimbabwe to Zambia by road at the bridge please take time out to see the Victoria Falls from the Zimbabwe side, especially at this time of year, we didn't and this was a slight disappointment."

Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

"Vundu Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2014
"On this safari we wanted to get closer to the animals than we had on previous trips, so we booked 4 nights at Vundu with Nick as a private guide. We didn't realise just how close to the animals we would get! on foot. We were 5 meters away from bull elephants, 10 meters away from lions and painted dogs. We were leaving the vehicle to run into the bush having seen flashing tails and hearing the dogs barking to be confronted by the dogs and a lion was to be an experience never to be forgotten.

During our stay there Nick got us to run and to climb trees albeit so he could take a photo of us at that point. All the staff were friendly, could not do enough to ensure our stay met our requirements. We loved the homely feel with simple facilities provided, please do not try to change to meet the luxury expectations of some customers, we love outside bathrooms."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kanga Bush Camp

Kanga Bush Camp

"Kanga Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2014
"There is nothing wrong with the camp, the staff were all good and welcoming. What we felt while we were there was that we were pushed to do sofa safaris and not leave the camp. Morning activities did not start until 7am, as photographers this meant we missed the best light of the morning. The activity was short and we got back into the camp earlier than our other camps, this was both true of walking and driving.

The main activity happened around the pan in the afternoon when there were no staff or guides around to identify birds etc. We must admit the camp was empty when we arrived and our first evening game drive we saw a leopard, and a small pride of lions with 3 young cubs, never to be seen again.

The camp is based on the pan, it is more for the first time traveller rather than an experienced traveller. We feel that 2 nights would be enough time there not the 3 that we did."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Camp Hwange review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"A great camp! Again this camp met our expectations and requirements, Dharmish our guide was so enthusiastic and passionate about the area and the animals that you couldn't help but be carried along with him. Anything sited we were out of the vehicle and tracking on foot, we got very close to elephants, tried to sneak up on a leopard with its kill and then track lions for 2 hours. This enthusiasm was experienced throughout the camp from all the staff, the camp was well managed and the food was wonderful.

The two other guides at the time George and Washington (yes really!) were always available to answer questions, between them they knew every bird, mammal, reptile, insect in Africa including the flat spiders in our room. This is a camp that we would go back to given the opportunity."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"Walking back through the reception to our room we both said why haven't we been back here before now, the changes made since our last visit six and half years ago enhance the facilities.

A relaxing end to our holiday, food was excellent, the staff very attentive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2011 trip

Tanzania and 3 other countries between 3 Sep 2011 and 18 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"A great holiday, well organised, we were met at every point, our driver/guide in Rwanda, Sam was very good. The holiday met our requirements and are looking forward to next year.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Please really emphasis the damp and coldness of the mountains when going to Rwanda to see the gorillas, it is not so much as to what to wear when climbing but how to keep warm in the rooms as everything feels damp, also take a torch as the rooms can get dark as the generators are only on for certain times, can make reading difficult."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Palacina

Palacina

"Palacina - The Residence and The Suites review"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2011
"A good hotel, very nice room with good facilities, restaurant was good but found the hotel too far from the airport when time was short."
Good
Location
Poor
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2011
"This is a mountain lodge and the service provided are good but erratic, one day your fire was lit, the next not, each room was supposed to have a telephone to reception but ours didn't.

You will feel cold and damp due to the region whether it is the dry season or not, so go prepared, having said that, seeing the gorillas makes up for any short comings and beyond. A little more attention to detail could make the difference."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

"Royal Palm Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2011
"We only stayed in this hotel for 5 hours due to flights so could not enjoy facilities to the full but was a good hotel to recover from the damp and cold of previous lodge.

Was provided with a very early continental breakfast which was very much appreciated."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"Barbara and her team does a fantastic job in the running of this camp, from the moment we arrived to when we left, every aspect of our requirements were met and Dennis our driver/guide was really good, had a great knowledge of birds and had the eyes of a hawk at spotting animals in the most obscure places.

We had stayed in camps in Botswana and Zambia, this camp rates as one of the best, we felt very relaxed but sad to leave at the end. Thank you everyone at Selous Impala for making our stay so enjoyable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Breezes Beach Club

Breezes Beach Club

"Breezes Beach Club review"

5 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2011
"Prior to our trip we had read some negative comments regarding Breezes so were a bit apprehensive. This was not justified, we had booked a suite, the room was very large, well equipment with a dressing room and very nice bathroom with an excellent balcony with sunbeds, sofa, chairs, table for when you wanted to be on your own.

The food was good, although sometimes the service in the restaurants was slow.

It satisfied what we wanted for the end of our holiday, from a cold and damp mountain, to early mornings on safari, this gave us the relaxation that we needed for our five night stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Two Golden Leopards

Zambia between 10 Sep 2009 and 22 Sep 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"An excellent trip overall, there were certain goals which included a photograph of a leopard in day light up a tree, this was the only thing not achieved, we did however find two golden leopards (lions) up a tree.

We thought last years trip to Botswana would be hard to beat but our trip this year to Zambia has exceeded all our expectations and we haven't stopped smiling since. We met some great people and everyone connected with all the camps were very helpful, knowledgeable and always smiling. Can't wait to go back.

Suggestions for improvements:

Only negative comment to make would be the pick up on the morning of our return flight to UK, having paid for B&B could not take part in breakfast as restaurant opens at 5.30am at Taj Hotel and the company used to transfer us to the airport also picked us up at this time, whereas we could had made use of the shuttle bus service of the hotel, therefore allowing us time to enjoy a breakfast before the flight home."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Hides at Kaingo Camp"

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2009
"A very friendly and relaxed atmosphere to the start of our holiday. The hides were fantastic getting close to the hippos made it possible both to film and photograph them at close quarters but to also observe them in a safe position.

The Carmine Bee Eaters were brilliant in colour, sound and activity, and not an experience that will be forgotten easily. Thank you to Derek and Jules and all the staff for the food, the service and the administration.

The game drives and guides were exceptional, each day provided more and more spectacular events ending with four lions confronting a hippo over the use of a tiny pool, (why lions would want to drink hippos bath water we've no idea)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Heaven with flies"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"Mwamba means heaven and this place was certainly that, Josh the Manager had moved from Kaingo the day before we did and did a splendid job during our stay at the camp, the setting is so peaceful with lots of sightings in and around the camp.

Maen was our guide for the majority of the trips out from the camp and did a fantastic job, one morning drive started with elephants and zebras, moved onto eight lions hunting two buffalo which they failed to bring down (buffalos can really run when they need to) then morning tea at the elephant crossing, all seen in perfect light which gave opportunity of fantastic photos."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Leopards at Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2009
"Owned by John and Carol who were involved and available throughout our stay. Brian managed the game drives and people traffic and again was available when needed.

The game drives we went on were guided by either Brian or Alex and were superb, Brians twenty plus years of experience of guiding plus his knowledge of photography were certainly enhanced our game drives, that is not to take it away from Alex who also gave great drives.

In the last two days we saw 22 different lions and five different leopards on numerous occasions. The food was fantastic, service was excellent as was the administration, the camp that we look forward going back to in the future. The micro-light flight was one highlight in many during our stay at this camp.

The only thing missing was the leopard in the tree in day light, we did however have three in the tree at night, need to go back to get the day light shot."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"Glad we had the one night at the hotel at the end of our safari to have air conditioning. It was a good standard of an international hotel."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Best Holiday Ever

Botswana and 1 other country between 8 May 2008 and 21 May 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Having been on our first safari in Kenya 18 months ago, we had a better idea of what we wanted from this holiday. We had very high expectations of what this holiday should be, everyone of these expectations was exceeded and not just by a small amount.

Our only problem now is how to follow this. It was a holiday of a lifetime and we are already trying to work out how to go back and challenge Expert Africa to find something better but we don't think they will."

Feedback response

This is a nice problem to have and it’s one that we’re pleased to face quite often: How to better a really amazing trip?

The answers different for every person, but we’d usually suggest that you resist the temptation to visit the same lodges again, whichever ones they are.

Then talk to us in detail about what you want, keep an open mind when listening to our suggestions, and try to book well ahead of time (11 months before you travel is ideal!).

Our aim will be to surpass your last trip – and we are pleased that we can often succeed!

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

"Great start to holiday at Selinda Camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2008
"A good first camp, we were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. On being picked up from the airstrip we were given a game drive by our guide Bebe which included sightings of wild dog, elephant, giraffe and many more, our guide was very informative to all the different species of birds and animals that we encountered.

The food was plentiful and well prepared, house keeping was also good and facilities well maintained. The game drives continued at a high level only lions weren't seen during the three day period.

When the time came to leave we were really sad, Ella made sure everyone new was introduced to all other guests which made you feel very welcome and sitting around the camp fire helped getting to know everyone and talking about their drives that day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Overall best Safari at Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2008
"Although the facilities are not as posh as the previous camp Selinda this turned out to be our favorite camp of the whole trip.

Issac the manager was also our guide with Bede our tracker, the atmosphere of the camp was exceptional, no request was too much trouble.

The game drives were tailored to our requirements including an extra long game drive to see elephants in the south concession we also walked, fished and had an evening boat ride, the camp was regularly visited by baboons and after one game drive elephant tracks were seen on the path to our tent, this was confirmed the following day when the elephant turned up whilst we were there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Lions at Kwara Camp"

3 nights Arrived 14 May 2008
"Game drives by our guide Donald and tracker TJ were excellent, a huge variety of animals were seen including a night hunt with lions. Other actiivies included fishing and Mokoro however due to long grass a walking was unavailable. The food, the friendlyness of staff were excellent.

There were too many sorries due to housekeeping errors, unfilled water, promise of water bottles but not put in, room being prepared for new visitors when we were not leaving therefore the room not being available whilst it was being put back to original state, laundry then being returned wet due to error of room being vacated, being told that room would be put back to original state and that laundry would be dried but when told room okay to go back to, bed had not been returned to original state and laundry still there wet.

This did not retract from our stay we still loved the camp, it just reduced our opinion from excellent to good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Relax at Tongabezi"

4 nights Arrived 17 May 2008
"Not a lot to say, everything except for lunch was excellent, lunch was exceptional.

Our whole stay from beginning to end was exactly what we were after and that was total relaxation.

Did not want to leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team