This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club

Reviews of Breezes Beach Club

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Breezes Beach Club and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
Muz
Colchester

"Wonderful beach experience"

7 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2020
"incredibly well run. The lush undergrowth and palm trees make you really feel you are on the equator.

There are so many different areas to relax it never feels busy.

The staff were all exceptionally friendly and overall we enjoyed our stay enormously." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya; 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
KS
Currie

"Excellent venue!"

12 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2019
"Very well managed and maintained.

Great location and we have nothing but positive things to say about our 12 night stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Zanzibar; 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
H family
Surrey

"A good beach resort in a beautiful location"

6 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2019
"Breezes is a very nice resort hotel. It has a good beach, very nice grounds and pool. The food was good - generally some sort of themed buffet in the evening. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

We did not venture to Stonetown - as it was about an hour away so we were mostly at the hotel.

We did some kite surfing - this is less good than down the coast at Paje as the tides often meant that we had water in the morning but no wind then wind in the afternoon but no water. If someone is really focused on learning to kite surf they would be better to do a course at Paje rather than Breezes - you could stay at Breezes ( we took a taxi down one afternoon - not far (15 minutes) but quite expensive)" See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
EBL
Brookline

"On the beach - Breezes"

3 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2017
"We chose to stay in the larger, less personal Breezes Beach Club, rather than one of the more intimate properties. We figured that the beach is the same, no matter where you are and this was pretty much true.

We had a large ocean view room with excellent A/C which we needed because Zanzibar was just about the hottest place I have ever experienced. The property was large, beautifully landscaped, with everything you'd expect in a resort - beach bar and restaurant, elegant evening dining, large beach with thatched lanais, nice pool. Very pleasant and perfect for three days.

The beach throughout the east coast of Zanzibar has huge tidal swings - up to 1km at low tide - which prevents the ocean breeze from cooling you off on the beach and makes it impossible to swim for most of the day. The reef walk at low tide is fascinating and you must have water shoes. As the tide comes in, so does the seaweed, and the water remains bathtub hot all the time. While it is a stunning light blue, the combination of heat, water temp, seaweed and low tide was just not appealing. This has nothing to do with the resort - it's an island feature.

Otherwise, resort dinners were excellent with great service, and the staff in general was very friendly and pleasant. The grounds were spotless and constantly swept. And the spa was delightful - clean, intimate, local character. " See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Shropshire

"Breezes Beach Club review"

7 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2013
"The set menu was limited for evening meals and it would have been nice to have had a choice of starters and more choices of main courses available - whilst appreciating the difficulties of catering for so many people even if the lunch time menu was offered in the evening it would have been a good alternative thus giving more choice. The theme nights menus were good with a good selection of starters, salads and main courses. Overall the standard of food and service was good.

Pool was lovely and warm enough to get straight in to.
" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The B family
Swindon

"Lovely Beach location for relaxation"

4 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2013
"This is a very nice hotel, the staff are really friendly and the food is great. It is well organised with beach front service to your sun lounger. There are also activities during the day and evening to join in. Perfect sun, sand and sea. It can live up to it's name as it its breezy there at times" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mr D
Esher

"Relaxing chill-out at Breezes"

3 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2013
"Excellent room but again, insufficient light for reading in the bedroom. I had to use my head torch here as well. No TV. Bathroom was a little tired and not the standard I would expect in this category room. Lighting poor again in bathroom. Air con was incredibly noisy and kept me awake at night. Lovely balcony but unfortunately the better rooms have no view of the beach or sea although the gardens are pleasant. Difficult to navigate back to our room at night as rooms not very well signed and very dark!

Gym could do with refurbishment as one machine moved across the room while you were walking on it and another had broken controls. No light barbells.

Internet is charged which is a pity as it should be free. Only available right in the centre of the hotel and a little patchy.

Food excellent and service good especially Catherine. Dining room dark and sometimes too warm if you couldn't sit outside - and we never could!

Mostly German and French guests and everyone went to bed very early so entertainments played to very few guests although we enjoyed them. Absolutely dead in this resort after 10pm and most people disappeared after dinner.

Massive beach at low tide. Sea urchins here so protective shoes needed if you try to walk out to the reef. These shoes and a walking stick can be hired from water sports." See all these reviews: 4n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The C family
S London

"A perfect place to relax"

6 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2012
"Places like Breezes are always difficult to critique fairly because after the excitements of safari your needs are very different and expectations lower. We have tried several 'post safari' places like this in Mozambique, Malawi and most disastrously in Mauritius, but I think for all of us Breezes has come out as our best. The staff were, without exception, delightful. Our room was vast and extremely comfortable. The food was overwhelming in choice and quantity at times but of such high standard. Best curry ever!

Lovely pool, empty beach. We played tennis every day on a good quality court but if I had one slight niggle I would moan about the quality of the fencing around it - just a low wall on one side and some ill fitting wire on the other - which meant you felt beholden to the very obliging man to constantly retrieve your balls.

Should also mention Fishermen Tours here who were always punctual and efficient. We arranged a Jozani Forest trip to see the colobus (had no idea quite how close they would be) which I'm very pleased we did but they charged 50 dollars each for what amounted to a half hour taxi there and back. By the time you tipped the guide it was an expensive few hours.
" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Cobham

"Luxury relaxation at Breezes beach Club"

7 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2011
"Our standard room was spacious and comfortable and we appreciated the tea & coffee making facility. The standard rooms are a bit of a walk from the dining room and pool but we didn't mind the exercise after the big meals!

Staff were very welcoming and the service was good. You didn't even need to move from your lounger as the bar staff would come & take your order.

We liked the alternation between theme buffet nights and served set dinners and the way the waiting staff's outfits and tablecloths/seat backs changed to the theme of the evening - it just made it a little more special. The food was varied, hot and well presented. We also tried the al la carte restaurant and lunch restaurant by the beach and enjoyed both.

There was entertainment on most nights - sometimes just a group playing music but also some exciting dancers, a bigger band and acrobatic group - and this started at a reasonable time of the evening. (We've been to other resort hotels where the entertainment doesn't start until 10 pm and half the guests have gone to bed.)

We would definitely recommend the spa - lovely surroundings and very well trained practioners of the various treatments available.

The lounges, reception etc. were beautifully decorated in particular Arab & African styles." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Hampshire

"Breezes Beach Club review"

5 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2011
"Prior to our trip we had read some negative comments regarding Breezes so were a bit apprehensive. This was not justified, we had booked a suite, the room was very large, well equipment with a dressing room and very nice bathroom with an excellent balcony with sunbeds, sofa, chairs, table for when you wanted to be on your own.

The food was good, although sometimes the service in the restaurants was slow.

It satisfied what we wanted for the end of our holiday, from a cold and damp mountain, to early mornings on safari, this gave us the relaxation that we needed for our five night stay." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 35
90%
35 reviews of Breezes Beach Club by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
10
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Michamvi Peninsula

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Baraza Resort & Spa

Baraza Resort & Spa

Baraza is a high-quality resort, with a buzzing atmosphere and a range of activities that appeal both to families and lively honeymooners.


97% (13 reviews)
Qambani

Qambani

Qambani is a luxury property on the tip of the Michamvi Peninsula, set on a low cliff above a white, sandy beach, with stunning ocean views.


91% (7 reviews)
Sultan Palace

Sultan Palace

Romantic Sultan Palace is a luxurious sea-view lodge that is deal for honeymooners and couples, with fantastic food and a secluded beach.


95% (4 reviews)
The Palms

The Palms

The Palms is an exclusive and luxurious beach getaway - though the main areas are small – next to Breezes and sharing Breezes' facilities.


100% (4 reviews)
Kono Kono Beach Villas

Kono Kono

Kono Kono is a contemporary beach resort on a quiet stretch of west-facing beach on the Michamvi peninsula.


73% (3 reviews)
Anna of Zanzibar

Anna of Zanzibar

Anna of Zanzibar’s warm atmosphere and five spacious and inviting villas make it a great place for a relaxed stay on a lovely stretch of beach.


90% (2 reviews)
White Sand Villas

White Sand Villas

Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa is a stylish, small resort lodge located near the town of Paje.


100% (2 reviews)
Zawadi Hotel

Zawadi

Set on a pretty cove on Zanzibar’s Michamvi Peninsula, Zawadi is a modern boutique hotel offering lots of space and privacy.


100% (1 review)
Xanadu Villas

Xanadu Villas

Situated on a picturesque beach on the Michamvi Peninsula, Xanadu Villas is a sophisticated boutique hotel with six luxurious private villas.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa