This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club

Reviews of Breezes Beach Club

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Breezes Beach Club and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
The H family
Baldock

"Breezes Beach Club review"

5 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2010
"If you are going to suggest that your clients go on to Breezes after Beho Beho and Selous, you should warn them that they will be disappointed. Also it will be a huge disappointment to anyone who has spent time in luxury resorts in the Far East or elsewhere in the Indian Ocean. It just does not compare to what is on offer in the Seychelles, Mauritius or Maldives, or Thailand etc.

We had suites but you could not hear the ocean let alone see it, such was their distance from the beach. The rooms are very basic and not what we expected for the price we paid. The hotel staff were very unfriendly on arrival but got better as the holiday progressed. Its a package hotel - catering en masse. It was impossible to have dinner outside the hotel - nowhere to go.

We ate in the a la carte restaurant twice. The food was good but little atmosphere and we had to order out food from a menu in reception several hours before we ate. It took us the whole of the first morning to arrange this. Likewise we wanted to order drinks on our balcony. This took several hours to organise but was very good when it arrived. The lunches were very good. The buffet food was good if you like that sort of thing but it was very mass produced and not special. The breakfast was very disappointing and again mass produced. I just felt we were herded!

The beach is nice but again nothing special if you have travelled elsewhere in the Indian Ocean. The Spa was nothing special either to look at but the service was very good. Good massage and facial from Thai, Malay and Indian beauticians. There is nothing to see around the hotel and Stone Town is one hour away and you have to negotiate the endless police roadblocks - 12 in total on the journey to and from Stone Town for a morning's visit. The gym is not worth mentioning.

All in all it was a real anticlimax to what was otherwise a wonderful holiday. We would definitely not go back." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Ms MP
Belgium

"Breezes Beach Club review"

7 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2010
"Very nice hotel for a family to relax in.

Great beach and pool, good food, friendly service.

Has a qualified and equipped nurse on site who was very useful to several of the guests we spoke to." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms T
Dublin

"Breezes Beach Club review"

5 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2010
"We were backpacking in Zanzibar in 1999 and ended up having a drink in Breezes and really liked the look of the place. We decided that if we ever got back this would be the place for us. It certainly lived up to our expectations and we are glad we made the trip.

The room was excellent and was exactly what we needed at that stage of the trip. The food was also very good and while not generally a fan of buffets, the variety and quality of food meant they weren't the chore they can sometimes be. They also tended to serve starter and/or dessert so it wasn't all queuing. The restaurant staff were very friendly and chatty.

Overall facilities were very good and the beach was really nice and it also has an excellent dive centre attached. There were also nice touches like a present of a Christmas decoration on arrival and a Breezes shopping bag on leaving. We also dined in the Sultan's Table restaurant which was a lovely treat." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 2n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Miss S
London

"Total relaxation in paradise"

7 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"No request was too small at Breezes and all the staff were hugely friendly and falling over each other to help - this could have been because the resort was only half full, but I don't believe this was the case.

The location is perfect for total relaxation, although there are a number of activities available should you wish to move temporarily from your sun lounger! The rooms (in my case a Deluxe room) and other facilities are very good, although the equipment in the gym was very limited. The therapists in the spa (all from Thailand or Bali) were excellent and there was a good range of treatments at reasonable prices. The food was faultless - wide choice available at breakfast and a number of themed buffet evenings which meant that you could choose whatever you fancied.

As a single, female traveller, this was a perfect resort. It could have been the time of year, but there were no children in sight which is great when you're looking for a peaceful and relaxing break!

If I had to try and search for something negative to say about Breezes, it would be that my room wasn't ready when I arrived. Nevertheless, I only had to wait 90 minutes, so could have been worse. However it would have been nice to have known this in advance, after travelling for 13/14 hours, so that I could have expected the wait." See all these reviews: 11n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
M family
West Sussex

"Breezes Beach Club review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2009
"Good hotel but not much to do unless you like diving or sunbathing.

A trip into Stone Town is well worth it but not using the hotel provided service ( we used the people who did our transfer and it cost about 25% of the hotel price). Food is good but buffets 50% of the time.

Plenty of room for guests on the beach and around the pool." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Leics

"Breezes Beach Club review"

6 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2009
"You would have to have a serious problem to complain about this hotel.It lived up to all expectations.We looked at a number of other hotels and we had chosen the right one.Food choice and service was of thge highest order." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Wiltshire

"Beach holiday at Breezes Beach Club"

6 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2009
"Our one hour journey to Breezes after a hot and sticky tour of Stone Town was improved by the close up view of ten or more of the rare Red Columbus Monkeys as we drove through their reserve. No upgrade at Breezes for us this time, but we discovered that our standard room had exactly the same specification as a superior room, was only single storey - so no one above us, was one of a pair as opposed to a row of four, was no further from the beach and reception areas than the superior room to which we had been upgraded on our earlier visit, and was quieter with better garden views. We would have been very disappointed had we paid extra for some of the superior rooms.

We enjoyed our six day stay at Breezes. Our room was excellent, as was the maid service. The absence of a hospitality tray to make a cup of tea was missed, but that was apparently to be provided shortly. The weather was excellent. The food was excellent. The service was excellent. The pool was excellent. The sea was warm – almost bath-hot when the tide came in over the hot sand. There were plenty of bed-chairs under umbrellas.

On the minus side, my attempt to provide a special birthday treat for my wife by arranging 'Private beachfront dining for two with impeccable personalised service and excellent cuisine in The Tides' was an error of judgement, and not just because it was extremely expensive! A bit naff and over the top comes to mind. We (and other people) were badly bitten during the day without being able to identify what was causing the problem. Research at home identified sand flies as the likely culprits and, had we realised they were a threat, could have taken steps to avoid their attention. The cost of things like snorkelling trips and afternoon tea (both of which in many hotels are free) seemed to us extortionate." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr S-S
West London

"Breezes Beach Club review"

5 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2009
"Staff were very friendly and I met some interesting and fun people at Breezes (both staff and guests), as alway happen when one travels alone. The facilities I used (swimming pool, gym, spa) were excellent.

Breezes is not cheap and it is therefore a shame that the hotel feels the need to charge excessively for some services, e.g. Tsh7,000 for half an hour's internet use (this compares with Tsh1,000 for half an hour at the Shangani internet café in Stone Town). Also, the yoga classes were more expensive than in London. I would have liked to have practised yoga in a class but did not do so as it was impossible to pin the yogi down.

Incidentally, Mchanga charged US$5 for 20 minutes' internet use, which also seems unnecessary. Noone goes to Zanzibar to spend time on the internet but there is need to check-in for flights or deal with the occasional email and, providing internet usage is minimal, there really should be no charge." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Wiltshire

"2 night stop-over at Breezes Beach Club"

2 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2009
"Good and bad news when we arrived at Breezes at about 12.15 for our initial two-night stay. The good news - our standard room had been upgraded to a superior room - the bad news - it wouldn't be ready until 1pm – which stretched to nearer 1.45pm.

The decision to stay at Breezes for two nights before our safari was a good one. We fully recovered from the overnight flight and were able to leave luggage not required on safari – and were in good order when we got up at 5am for our trek to Selous, complete with packed breakfast provided by the hotel." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Edgeware

"pampered paradise at beautiful breezes beach"

7 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2009
"what a welcome, we felt like royalty, with so many white robed beturbanned young men greeting and welcoming us. The entrance to the club is stunning just like the pictures in the brobhure. I ,loved the the oriental /arab style with the decadent day beds and huge coushions, in vibrant jewel like colours of purple and gold and hot pinks and reds,and that was the lobby, all open sided with magical views of the palms and frangipani trees with the aqua sea sparkling in the background. I just wanted to stay and stop and do nothing.

However our lovely sweet smiling white robed welcome host proceeded to give a very long (far too long) detail by detail description etc of the club. it was all too much althiough we did have our lovely cool drinks and towels. I suggest that you ask them to shorten the welcome so the the exhausted dusty guests can get to their rooms and refresh etc. the explanatons can be saved for another time or in a letter or short welcome brochure.

The chef again came out to greet us a mr. Safari ! and and was at great pains to let us know that that he would make anything we wanted, he had our e. mailed food list in his hand. I have to say the food was fantastic especially the breakfasts and the Buffet suppers. and that was on our limited requirements. Am now trying to lose the extra pounds... gained

Our room was perfectly placed on the sea front, I found the room kind of dark and heavy, the decor is not as I anticipated, and this was a comment i heard from another few people, that for the rating and price of the hotel the rooms need updating to something lighter fresher and cooler in appearnce. The bed was huge the sheets snowy smooth and the mattress perfect so sleep was not a problem.

The A>C. was a bit noisy, but we got used to it. we felt that we would have liked a telephone so we could call for whatever we needed rather having to dress and go in search of a person. This was a comment reiterated by few guests. However the service was excellent and the staff really wanted you to rest and relax as that was what we were there for. The restaurant themed itself almost everynight,according to the nationality and origin of the food, and the decor, tablecloths, chair covers and general atmosphere was themed to match. most nights there was interesting entertainment if a little on the amateurish side, but it was lovely just the same, amd some better than others.

The whole situation of the club is Eden like and tropical,and the fact that the hotel accomodation is divided up in to pretty houses or blocks with I think 4 suites in each gave it a much more individual and luxury feel. also one did not feel the size of the place. the hotel was only half full so for us that was a plus of course. it was never busy anywhere including the fantastic pool.

the weather was very humid and hot and it did take us a few days to become acclimatised.

The fisherman tours representative called Sylvia was there every day and was most helpful. We did one tour, snorkelling and dhow and beach barbecue leaving from Fumba. That was great the staff were friendly and good fun and nothing seemed too much for them, it was well organised lots of drink and fresh coconut and again our chef was consulted on the food for us on the barbeque, and we had tuna and barraqcuda which was DELICIOUS. We really were so thrilled, to be take part in the barb.que. we also enjoyed our precious few hours on the tiny white sanded aqua sea surrounded island, where we imagined that we had walked into that picture perfect place... and to have the picture to remind us.." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 35
90%
35 reviews of Breezes Beach Club by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
10
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Michamvi Peninsula

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Baraza Resort & Spa

Baraza Resort & Spa

Baraza is a high-quality resort, with a buzzing atmosphere and a range of activities that appeal both to families and lively honeymooners.


97% (13 reviews)
Qambani

Qambani

Qambani is a luxury property on the tip of the Michamvi Peninsula, set on a low cliff above a white, sandy beach, with stunning ocean views.


91% (7 reviews)
The Palms

The Palms

The Palms is an exclusive and luxurious beach getaway - though the main areas are small – next to Breezes and sharing Breezes' facilities.


100% (4 reviews)
Sultan Palace

Sultan Palace

Romantic Sultan Palace is a luxurious sea-view lodge that is deal for honeymooners and couples, with fantastic food and a secluded beach.


95% (4 reviews)
Kono Kono Beach Villas

Kono Kono

Kono Kono is a contemporary beach resort on a quiet stretch of west-facing beach on the Michamvi peninsula.


73% (3 reviews)
Anna of Zanzibar

Anna of Zanzibar

Anna of Zanzibar’s warm atmosphere and five spacious and inviting villas make it a great place for a relaxed stay on a lovely stretch of beach.


90% (2 reviews)
White Sand Villas

White Sand Villas

Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa is a stylish, small resort lodge located near the town of Paje.


100% (2 reviews)
Zawadi Hotel

Zawadi

Set on a pretty cove on Zanzibar’s Michamvi Peninsula, Zawadi is a modern boutique hotel offering lots of space and privacy.


100% (1 review)
Xanadu Villas

Xanadu Villas

Situated on a picturesque beach on the Michamvi Peninsula, Xanadu Villas is a sophisticated boutique hotel with six luxurious private villas.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa