This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The P family from Norfolk

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

16

Excursions taken

0

Northern Tanzania

Tanzania between 3 Sep 2016 and 15 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our 3rd trip to Africa wirh Expert Africa that lived up to and beyond our expectations. The choice of camps and itinerary were excellent.

Would not have changed anything except a few days longer at a couple of camps if we had time"

Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2016
"A great overnight stop. Friendly staff and comfortable rooms. A longer stay would be welcome"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Little Oliver's Camp

Little Oliver's Camp

"Little Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"Amazing camp. Fabulous location and brilliant staff

The rooms were comfortable, a shower watching the stars is something everyone should do. Elephants outside the room in the middle of the night too.

Food stunning, thanks for our anniversary cake

Nothing but praise for this camp. I would have no hesitation in recommending"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

"Lake Manyara Tree Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2016
"Made to feel so welcome. The room was amazing and the personal care just the best. The game drives were so different from normal savannah with sunrises over the lake. A profusion of birdlife and a good variety of mammals. No tree climbing lions though. We were joined by 2 large bull elephants whilst having lunch at the pool.

Food was good too and in particular we enjoyed our dinners surrounded by night lights and being joined by a greater galago.

Two days not enough"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2016
"This isolated camp was special. Only saw one other vehicle from another camp. Come here for big cats, we saw plenty of cheetah and lion and even a leopard. Most other mammals to be expected.

The location was amazing looking out over a marsh. Lions very close by and even came through the camp one night. The hospitality at the camp was second to none.

Only downside was severe wind at night, shaking the tent. Kept us awake more than the wildlife.

Again 2 nights was only just enough and another would have been perfect."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

"Kimondo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2016
"As we drove to this camp we passed mile after mile of wildebeest moving down to the Mara to cross. This area was amazing for wildlife including hunting cheetah, feeding lions, rhino and young as well as the usual suspects. But come here at this time for river crossings which are both fascinating and awful at the same time.

The camp was of the usual high standard with great service. Particularly enjoyed the bucket showers"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Ruaha to Zanzibar via Selous

Tanzania and 1 other country between 22 Jul 2010 and 6 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We thought this was a fantastic trip and it confirmed our love of Africa. The people were wonderful and we were helped whenever we needed it - puncture on Zanzibar, getting lost in Stone Town etc. We never had any concerns for our safety and felt that the Tanzanians must be the gentlest people we have encountered.

Go to Ruaha - the game is a s good as Chobe in Botswana. Selous is a good alternative and has the advantage of water activities and walking safaris. Game is harder to find though.

Breezes is great if you have children, its facilities are good, it is safe and the perfect spot to unwind.

I would avoid the Zanzibar Coffee House except for cake and coffee. There are better alternatives - we were moved to Grand Palace Hotel which is brand new (and has a few teething problems) and the Swahili House looked good as well. We had an excellent Italian meal at the Spice House.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really. This is our second trip with you and third with Sunvil group in 4 years. Thinking about next year already."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2010
"This camp and Ruaha far exceeded our expectations. We were made to feel very welcome. They had modified a tent for the four of us which worked well. The tents were comfortable, well furnished with flush toilets and a solar powered shower. We did have a problem with bees coming to drink at the shower and the water in the morning was warm rather than hot.

We loved the open nature of the camp. We were visited by an elephant in the early hours 2 nights and to watch him feed on a bush less than a metre from our bed was amazing. Food was good and we really enjoyed having communal drinks around a fire and eating with all being watched by buffalo and impala. We had 3 full day safaris and saw more of the park than many other visitors. Our bush lunches were out of this world.

The wildlife was fantastic - lions and leopard and even a cheetah, elephants and giraffe everywhere, antelope, 3 species of mongoose, 100 species of birds and even a puff adder. Our guides were amazing.

We loved the experience, but others who had come from more luxurious camps were less than impressed and found the rustic nature not to their taste."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Siwandu

Siwandu

"Selous Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2010
"After Mdonya we were unsure what to expect. We were not disappointed and everything about this camp was of the highest quality As a family we did feel a little out of place with honeymooning couples but we were made to feel very welcome by Lana and her team. Nothing was too much trouble.

The accommodation was outstanding, comfortable bandas which are probably larger than our cottage at home. Food was out of this world. We tended to eat at our table but particularly enjoyed a dinner at a communal table after having been entertained by the Masai guards.

The game was harder to find than at Mdonya. We heard lions only once and saw them twice. No leopard or cheetah but of course we saw African Dogs. The trips on the lake were fantastic, but the highlight had to be the walking safari with an armed guard. Didn't know that you can use hyena poo for chalk or that Civets eat everything and how smelly their scat is. The close encounter with an elephant and the bush breakfast were the high spots.

Activities were morning and evening so we had time for a swim in the pool and more unwind time.

Suggestions: we enjoyed having dinner with others on the same table. It mixed us up and to share news and information over a meal felt very comfortable to us. It might not suite everyone but its worth doing every second or third day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Breezes Beach Club

Breezes Beach Club

"Breezes Beach Club review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2010
"Just what we needed after a week or more of early morning starts. Only let down by the weather with rain one afternoon and the next day. Having a gym and tennis court was great for the kids and this was perfect for unwinding.

The shop had limited opening hours, some fabulous crafts but they were expensive compared to Stone Town.

The food was fantastic, the service excellent and everyone was friendly and courteous. Would thoroughly recommend this for everyone who needs to unwind in great surroundings."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2010
"I liked the quirkiness of this place but the rest of the family didn't. I guess having a school outside your window starting before 7 and a view of a man having a p in the alley below you are not to everyone's cup of tea.

The real problem was that after our first night of 2 we were told to settle our bill as we were leaving. There had been a mix up in the booking (African end) because of a change in flight times not being passed on to the hotel. When we arrived they didn't ask us why we were a day late nor tell the local agent when we hadn't appeared.

This meant that we had to pack and wait for new accommodation which the local agents sorted out extremely well. They acknowledged their error but couldn't understand why they had not been informed by the hotel when we hadn't appeared on our first night. This rather soured our opinion.

Don't stay here if you like quiet rooms, comforts or luxury. The photos in their brochure do give a rather grand view."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Average
Facilities
Poor

The best ever trip

Botswana and 2 other countries between 1 Aug 2007 and 22 Aug 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Superb holiday - simply the best.

The hotels/lodges/transport etc all worked like clockwork. The combination of accomodations suited us well - teenager friendly, good quality, good food etc. People incredibly helpful and friendly.

Would change little in retrospect - probably only a direct flight from Cape Town to Maun."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Image alt

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

"multicentre trip southern africa - V and A"

5 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2007
"Wonderful hotel. Superb helpful staff and great location.

Very comfortable rooms only let down by deteriorating windows which don't fit well and have started to rot. Not a problem with curtains pulled otherwise a bit noisy and draughty.

Good and good value restaurant"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

"Camp Moremi first experience of Botswana"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2007
"Wonderful first camp. Made to feel very welcome - almost like being in someones home. Staff friendly and helpful. Super guides.
Rooms comfortable, showers excellent

Pool very cold
Diverse habitats and great variety of wildlife seen.
Loved the viewing platform. Had good trip on river as well as game drives

Would recommend this to anyones trip to Botswana - no canoe trips but the variety more than compensated"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

"Savute Safari - location 2"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2007
"Again made to feel very welcome. Extremely comfortable. Views from wonderful rooms amazing.

Staff again fantastic as were guides. Loved the change from Moremi. Found some excellent wildlife and birds apart from elephants at waterholes."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2007
"Very different to Moremi and Savute safari. Much less remote (mains power and water, Tarmac road most of the way.

No longer owner managed (may have changed its feel) but wonderfully comfortable, good staff and great views. Food good.

Takes about 30min to reach game drives (although some animals within grounds such as zebra. Night drive limited but bushbaby seen. Some went on a walking safari but we didn't have time.

River trip and return safari amazing. Would strongly recommend to those only taking a 1 centre trip as scenes and wildlife amazing - big 4 plus everything else you could wish to see except cheetah. (No rhinos here).

Muchenje appears much more relaxed than Chobe safari lodge (although new lodge in Namibia looks wonderful.

Worth going for the vista from the rooms and sunsets alone.

In wet season guides (again first class) say that game is difficult to see. Also place where elephants are killed by lions - not for those who are squeamish - we saw 2 very young elephants killed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"On to Zambia - Zambezi Sun"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2007
"A much larger resort hotel - popuar with package tours allowing visits to Falls and mutiple activities - rafting, shooting, golf etc.
FAntastic location, very comfortable, helpful staff

Restaurant generally good although first lunch very poor service and 2 out of 3 itams not available ( a burger and a pizza).
Food pricey.

Great having activity centre on site enabling activities to be booked easily."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Southern Sun OR Tambo, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Stop over in Jo'burg"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2007
"A typical airport hotel. Rooms stank of cigarette smoke which was unpleasant.

Restaurant good. Very busy particularly in morning and we didn't get coffee or juice.

Good transfer to airport.

On arrival we were allocated a room that was occupied - very embarrasing"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Bazaruto Lodge

Bazaruto Lodge

"Bazaruto Lodge Mozambique"

5 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2007
"They have done really well to reopen after the cyclone. The communal rooms are excellent

Reception good and staff fine although more reserved than in Botswana.

Initially given a room some distance from the children. They had been given a 2 room lodge and so we all moved in there. Staff were concerned that we may make trouble as we had paid for 2 lodges.

Food a little repetetive although well cooked and presented.

Drinks not included in price (including water) so bill soon added up. No price list on view which would have been good.

Great selection of activities but all apart from kayak and pedalo have to be paid for (including snorkelling)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team