This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Lake Manyara Tree Lodge


3°40’7.2"S 35°44’46.5"E

Reviews of Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

16 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lake Manyara Tree Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lake Manyara Tree Lodge.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Eland

50% success

Giraffe

50% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Zebra

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 16
Duration
Arrival date
Miss P & Mr L
Surrey

"Beautiful room"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2018
"This place has to be seen to be believed. The rooms are amazing, I don't think we will ever stay anywhere better. We even had elephants walk past us as we sat on the balcony.
Our guide Abdalla was very experienced and knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

two professors
Albany

"Lake Manyara Tree Lodge Review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2018
"It was such a good choice. On the ride from the airport to the Lodge our superb driver showed us lions (actually two climbing a tree!), buffalo, elephants, hippos, baboons, warthogs, monkeys, flamingos, etc.
The food at the camp was superb. Being greeted at the entrance with a frozen vodka cocktail certainly helped.
We had our only night drive at Manyara, which we thoroughly enjoyed. At night all of the hippos were out to be seen.
As we drove away from the Lodge for the airport we encountered a huge group or two of elephants (our guide theorized 100!). As they were emerging from the thick woods on all sides of us, it was remarkable.
They carefully accommodated my wife's CPAP during the night, so that was never a worry." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Striped Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Herts

"Amazing 'jungle' experience"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2017
"This was our favourite lodge on holiday. Although the animal experience is not as dramatic as the Serengeti, the location and landscape around the lodge easily make up for this. A two night stay is a must! One night is total waste of time. Lake Manyara is a very special place and those people passing through in one day have no time to fully appreciate it.
The accommodation was stunning and immaculately presented. The restaurant is beautiful and serves very sophisticated food in a glorious romantic setting. All the staff were totally charming and went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Cumbria

"Lake Manyara Tree Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2016
"We planned our stay here especially for the birds and it didn't disappoint us. Our guide, Peter, was very knowledgeable on his birds and very obliging and patient with our constant requests to stop.

The camp is in a great location and the individual tree lodges are well furnished and maintained. The open mesh windows in the lodges make nighttime very atmospheric. Staff are very friendly and the food is excellent. Dining around the boma in the evening under a starlit sky is a fantastic experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The P family
Norfolk

"Lake Manyara Tree Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2016
"Made to feel so welcome. The room was amazing and the personal care just the best. The game drives were so different from normal savannah with sunrises over the lake. A profusion of birdlife and a good variety of mammals. No tree climbing lions though. We were joined by 2 large bull elephants whilst having lunch at the pool.

Food was good too and in particular we enjoyed our dinners surrounded by night lights and being joined by a greater galago.

Two days not enough" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Australia

"Lake Manyara Tree Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2014
"Our guide Stephen was excellent. Well educated, good mannerd and fun to be with. Two nights in this small but beautifull park are sufficient to explore the area.

We would visit again." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Madison

"Lake Manyara Tree Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2014
"Unique camp in a wooded setting. Cabins were roomy and conformable.

A surprising and diverse animal and bird viewing at Manyra." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr MW & Mr M
France

"Luxury in the bush"

3 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2014
"This tries to be high-end luxury and succeeds. Very personalised service - your own butler - the accommodation was lovely and comfortable and, once again, the staff have to be praised.

The food was all you expected it to be with unusual ingredients, all fresh and sourced locally.

All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable experience." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Abu Dhabi

"Elephants galore"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"Being in our room was like living in the jungle - surrounded by thick undergrowth and tall trees, filled with monkeys and bush babies. There were quite a few exciting moments here!

We met a large bull elephant on the path as we were going for breakfast the first morning so we backtracked up to steps to safety and they monkeys obviously thought Lawrence needed to diet since one stole his breakfast right off his plate!!

The same day Patrice, our wonderful butler set up our lunch at the poolside, next to the wallow hole. He later warned us that an elephant was on its way to the hole and was using the footpath, advising us to put the swimming pool between us and the elephant. This did happen and after studying us for what seemed like an age, it progressed to the water hole. A second less friendly elephant arrived later and was less pleased to see us. After a lot of ear flapping, trumpeting and mock charges, we decided that discretion was the better part of valour and gave our dessert a miss, leaving him in peace ! The staff did keep a careful watch on how things were going so we didn't feel as if we had been abandoned ! It was a reminder though that these are wild animals and not peaceful and benevolent giants. We saw many family groups of elephants during safaris in Manyara and it was a treat to see how carefully they guarded their young and how sociable they are.

Another treat here were the enormous troops of baboons, who held evening meetings on the road !!

Sundowners at the beautiful shore of Lake Manyara. Malley our guide was always very keen to ensure we saw everything, always trying to put in the extra effort to ensure we had a holiday of a lifetime.

On the final day, we were a little late arriving at the airstrip and were just handed a packed up breakfast as we left the car to go to the plane, when a cup of coffee would have been very welcome indeed, especially as it had been a cold drive. We felt very jealous of the new arrivals who had time for a leisurely coffee before beginning the next leg of their trip.
" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mss L & Mss W
NY

"Tree House!"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2013
"First, the hotel is really beautiful. It was a perfect blend of modern luxury with being in a jungle. I loved it.

The only downside was the excessive presence of bugs and bats in our room. At night, we had no fewer than four bats flying around our heads, which was a little frightening for my friend. That said, the rooms were beautiful and I loved the outdoor shower.

Also, the main section of the lodge is just so Out Of Africa-style that I'd want to live there." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 16
99%
16 reviews of Lake Manyara Tree Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lake Manyara National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Kirurumu Manyara

With spectacular views over Lake Manyara, Kirurumu is one of the simplest camps we offer in northern Tanzania.


87% (18 reviews)
Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge

Lake Manyara Serena

Lake Manyara Serena is a large, reasonably priced hotel perched on the lip of the Great Rift Valley with spectacular views of Lake Manyara.


90% (10 reviews)
Escarpment Luxury Lodge

Escarpment Lux Lodge

Escarpment Luxury Lodge offers stylish, modern accommodation and stunning views of Lake Manyara National Park.


80% (1 review)
Lake Manyara Green Camp

Manyara Green Camp

With comfortable tents and an adventurous atmosphere, Lake Manyara Green Camp is one of two camps located inside the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa